LUSH • Herbalism • Cleansers

rated 3.4(319 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 kuntea on 2/21/2015 10:43:00 AM more reviews by kuntea

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to like this product, but it really didn't do anything for me. It didn't help with my moderate acne and it also didn't break me out (thankfully). I have oily, acne prone skin that is slightly sensitive. I bought herbalism after reading many reviews about how good it was for acne and the sales associate told me how it worked for her acne and how gentle it was. Unfortunately it didn't do the same for me. I was using herbalism with lush's tea tree toner, vanishing cream, and mask of magnaminty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kyliechester on 2/16/2015 5:49:00 PM more reviews by kyliechester

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE Herbalism. My skin is super dry and sensitive, but I also suffer from really stubborn moderate to severe acne around my mouth, forehead, and jawline. As you can imagine, finding products that work is a struggle. I had been using Proactiv+ for a few months and I was just not impressed. I decided I wanted to check out some natural products, and naturally Lush came to mind. Herbalism has changed my skin. Literally within 3 days of using it my active acne had shrunk, I noticed fewer blackheads and enlarged pores, and it hadn't caused a rash or dryness. I use it with Tea Tree Water (as a spot treatment in the morning and then spritzed all over at night) and Skin Drink facial cream, and I think that I have finally found a regimen that works. Obsessed with Lush!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lushfairie on 2/10/2015 12:51:00 PM more reviews by lushfairie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I had recently sent my mom into Lush to buy me more Prince Charming because I wanted another bottle. She had came home with a sample of Herbalism. At first I was hesitant because I despised the smell. It has this earthy smell to it and I LOVE sweet scents that give a lot of people a headache. Lol. So, I tried this product and I could say I absolutely LOVED it. I have tried so many things from expensive to cheap for acne prone skin. I have hormonal acne, I get acne from eating chocolate and stress. I can say that this stuff really does work for me. It doesn't dry out my skin, it closed my pores and it doesn't leave my skin with an "oily" film. I also find it to be gentle and refreshing when I place it on my face. I was amazed, I've had acne on my T-Zone that I've been struggling with for MONTHS. And this product made them incredibly small I wanted to cry because I was so happy. I've finally found something that works for me. It's gentle enough for everyday use unlike some of the masks that Lush has. Before with other cleansers I felt as though I had to continue to place proactive on my skin but now I'm completely off of it. I just use a toner from Clinique that helps my face. I'm so happy to see the improvement of my skin so quickly with such a small sample. I will be buying the biggest size when I get the chance. I've never really cared about the "organic" side that Lush has but I can tell that their products DO work. I hate this saying but "it's my holy grail product."

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CraxFactor on 1/19/2015 4:31:00 PM more reviews by CraxFactor

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I like this stuff. I like the smell because I am an urban hippie cliche and make my own kombucha etc, so I'm pretty on top of vinegar... ETA I no longer believe that it is wise to use an exfoliator every day. And most Lush stuff is not reacting well with my face. It doesn't do much on my body. I do really want to like this stuff as a scrub in theory. Just not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 togechikku on 1/14/2015 9:26:00 PM more reviews by togechikku

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

It has taken me years to find but I have finally found something that works for my combination skin. I had previously been using a cleanser by Simple and while this was good, it tended to leave my skin very shiny, which wasn't ideal.

This product has reduced the oiliness of my skin and contains a light exfoliant (which I'm pretty sure is almond so I wouldn't recommend this to nut allergy sufferers) however it does not over-cleanse or over-exfoliate so does not dry out the dry bits of my face. I have not been using the product for long so there are still some stubborn bits of bad skin that're yet to 100% clear up, but I have noticed that my skin in general looks healthier and more glowing.

As the recipe contains vinegar this product does smell a little acidic, which I really like but I can understand how this really wouldn't be to everyone's taste. The fact that it is a solid cleanser may also be a little off-putting to some, though you apply it very similarly to a face mask.

I would definitely suggest picking up a sample pot of this, I managed to get around three uses from the free pot I was given, so despite this being a little more expensive than things I would normally buy I do think it'll end up cheaper as it'll last me so long.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 disigney on 12/14/2014 6:56:00 PM more reviews by disigney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is quite honestly a miracle product for myself. When I first moved to Florida, I had moved from Colorado, where the air is a lot drier. When I exposed my skin to the humidity, it went on a little rampage and broke out for a solid two months. There was nothing I could do about it. I had to switch my face cleansers multiple times and stop wearing makeup.

Well, I went into Lush with a friend one day and a worker recommended this to me. I used it that night, and I wish I could say I was exaggerating, when I woke up the next day, all of my breakouts had gone down tremendously/were gone completely.

Using this product is a bit weird, though. It's in a solid form, and you have to mix the tiniest bit of water with it to make a paste. I would recommend removing your makeup completely before using this as well, as it does not remove makeup.

It has a very herbal smell and it is not the best, but for what this product does, it is worth dealing with.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NorahLillian on 9/22/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by NorahLillian

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I quite like the Herbalism facial cleanser and will definitely be repurchasing!
I use this as a morning cleanser - I have used it at night but I don't really trust it to remove leftover makeup. That said, it leaves skin feeling clean without over-drying and is a mild exfoliant. At first I wasn't a fan of the smell but I did grow to enjoy it! It can be messy at first but once I got the right ratio of water to product down there was much less waste.
A great morning cleanser for oily skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 0Surayya0 on 9/20/2014 6:31:00 PM more reviews by 0Surayya0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I actually loved the smell of thus product. Really wanted to like it! Used it for two weeks, and sadly my acne only got worse. I had many large, painful zits crop up and tons of small bumps appear on my face before I decided to call it quits. I decided to use it instead as a body scrub and that was fine.. but it clogged my drain!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beccaduncan23 on 8/25/2014 1:05:00 AM more reviews by beccaduncan23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I wish I could say that I love this.. and I do.. but I hate the formation. If it was a liquid, I would be in heaven! it's too hard to apply, which I absolutely hate. I drop half the product on the floor whilst using it. I dont think it is worth the money for a product I'm not entirety happy with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sbiringer on 8/20/2014 10:10:00 AM more reviews by sbiringer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for almost 3 weeks. After 3 days of using this, my skin started to clear up. Not sure if it has helped with reducing the oil on my t-zone. I follow this with the tea tree water and vanishing cream. I might go back to the store and try out another cleanser. A trick I found to work with this type of cleanser is to use a tiny spoon or spatula. I have one from an ice cream shop when they give you a sample. You can also control how much water you add to make the paste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products