LUSH • Herbalism • Cleansers

rated 3.4(300 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 juliaday on 4/13/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by juliaday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have oily skin, with bad acne at the time I bought this (cleared up now, thank god.. Or my dermatologist). I loved the whole idea of Lush; the all natural ingredients, the packaging, the brand image, the way the shop smelled, the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. I wanted to buy something. The girl in store recommended this for my oily skin, and I used it for a few months, or three tubs' worth.

I liked it well enough and was going to use up five tubs (bring back five empties and you get a free face mask) but I got fed up and stopped buying when I realised it was doing nothing for my skin. A couple of months later, I started going on Paula's Choice Beautypedia (Google it if you haven't looked at it before, it's an invaluable resource) and reading up on skincare a lot, and Paula does not have good things to say about this cleanser.. Apparently the ground up almonds in this can tear the skin, and the plant extracts and oils are skin irritants.

Anyway I can't say that my skin was obviously irritated by this, but it was so irritated already with the acne that that's not saying much. I gave it two lippies instead of one because it didn't actively make my skin worse. In fact, I liked using it in the beginning because it felt sort of alternative and natural, then the novelty wore off and I realised that it was messy and that I ended up looking like Shrek every night, and my sink was full of green gunk.. And as I said, my skin was never any less oily or blemished with this cleanser. After a lot more trial and error with other products, I found The Body Shop Aloe Gentle Facial Wash, which definitely did improve my skin, and I'd recommend that 100% more than this to anyone with oily and/or blemished skin, especially oily sensitive skin.

Wouldn't recommend and haven't repurchased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RixTrix on 3/15/2014 4:33:00 PM more reviews by RixTrix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I started using this cleanser about 3 days ago. I have my period and had some small breakouts which is normal for me and this cleared it up so much. I have fair skin that is combo and reddens easily. I feel this is balancing my skin and calming it. I love how it feels and it made my skin look better quickly. Definitely worth a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jayb123 on 3/12/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by jayb123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

It really depends on the type of acne you have. If its like a few zits, im sure it will work, as anything would. If your face is crazy breakouts and prone to redness, dont bother.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ichigo90 on 2/23/2014 11:58:00 AM more reviews by ichigo90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

I really wanted to like this product. :[ When I first used it, it made me face really smooth and I thought I saw an improvement in my skin the first few days. But after that I kept breaking out in pimples, mostly on my cheeks and temples. Every single day it seemed like I was getting a new pimple. The pimples on my cheeks were very big, deep and painful.
I used the product for a total of 2 weeks. But i couldn't stand how bad it made my face look so I stopped using it. AND after 2 days of not using this product, my face got noticeably better, my pimples are clearing up already.
I might use this again, if only as an exfoliater, but that's about it.
I'm pretty bummed about this. :[

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shanjacka on 1/14/2014 3:18:00 AM more reviews by shanjacka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was so excited for this product but sadly it hasn't been working. I have combination skin, normally some what oily and a few break outs here and there and have just been using the Simple face cleanser and toner and Cetaphil moisturiser and decided to change it up a bit.
After using it for 5 days I've noticed breakouts on my chin and cheeks. Definitely not a fan. Will be taking it back to my local store as the SA told me if it didn't work they can replace it with something different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beccahgibbo on 1/8/2014 5:20:00 PM more reviews by Beccahgibbo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have spot prone skin and it is dry and a little sensitive. Many of the things I have tried to sort my skin out have either been too strong for my skin and very drying or very expensive . I have tried everything even things from the doctor however I went into lush for my usual bubble bar and bath bombs and was having a browse at everything else . The sales assistant recommended this for my skin , and oh my lord , my skin is in the best condition it has ever been in for like 5-6 years and it's only after a few weeks of using this aswell as the tea tree toner from lush . This has now become a holy grail item for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci13 on 12/30/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by staci13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

If you've never used a Lush cleanser before, then you will definitely need to forget what you know about liquid and cream cleansers, because this will be a whole different experience. This is a green, pasty, clay like material in a black plastic tub, that has a bit of a vinegar smell to it; certainly not conventional. I recommend using it after you have removed your makeup with another method (makeup wipes, cold cream...etc) because this will do nothing to remove makeup. You simply take a dime sized amount of the cleanser into the palm of your hand, and sprinkle...and really just sprinkle about 5-10 drops of water on it, then start squishing and smashing it with your finger until it has become less chunky and more consistent, then start smearing this green glop onto your face and work it all around. I also recommend wetting your hands periodically to keep the cleanser moist and workable on your face. It does have ground almond in it, so it is mildly exfoliating. I would also suggest to make sure you are over your sink completely, because little bits of green matter will be left all around your counter top, it will get a bit messy. After you rinse your face, you are left with a clean and moisturized face. This product is not drying in the least, even if I finish up with ACV as a toner, I can still get away with not using a moisturizer. It also doesn't seem to make my face red like benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid based cleansers do. I do think my skin had to go through a mild purging period before becoming adjusted to this product (my skin is definitely not used to oil based products), but it really was mild and surprisingly short lived. While this is certainly not a cure for my acne, it really does help to clear up and prevent it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mlfpatrick7 on 12/15/2013 5:57:00 AM more reviews by mlfpatrick7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Ive repurchased this product 3 or 4 times now. It is HG for me, though a bit pricey. I am very acne prone, but this is quite gentle on my skin and does not irritate it. I actually LOVEthe smell, too. Overall, I think this has improved my acne in combination with other Lush products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ActNaturally on 12/8/2013 8:18:00 AM more reviews by ActNaturally

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

I thought this product was ok. It hasn't broken me out, I use it every morning and it gently exfoliates the skin without being too damaging. It hasn't had any dramatic effects but it has helped my skin and it feels better for the natural ingredients gone into it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Madysen08 on 12/5/2013 3:38:00 AM more reviews by Madysen08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

GIVE IT TIME TO WORK!!!! I had extremely clogged pores and acne prone skin. So even when I wouldn't necessarily have acne, my skin was still bumpy. If you're on the fence about getting it, just go talk to a SA about it. This way they'll give you the right combination of products you should be using with it because unfortunately there isn't a "all in one" product for acne prone skin. I was recommended Ocean Salt and Fresh Farm along with it. My skin purged for about 5 days and I noticed a lot of smaller bumps everywhere because obviously when a product is cleaning out your pores, the only way to clean out is for the junk to "come out" so I was fine with the bumps and by day 6 and 7, I was SO amazed. Everyone started noticing how great my skin started looking and I couldn't be happier!! So my advice is to FIRST: Talk to a SA about your skin type and concerns and see what they recommend and SECOND: Give your products time to work.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Cleansers products