China Glaze • Luxe and Lush • Polishes

rated 4.3(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lomelindi on 11/23/2012 9:16:00 AM more reviews by Lomelindi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

LOOOOOVE. Can't say enough about how absurdly beautiful this flakie polish is. The flakes are large and irregular shaped, and they're opalescent so they change colors depending on the light and what polish you have underneath them. (I don't see the point in wearing this polish alone because it's so sheer by itself, it's meant to be worn over something!) I've only tried wearing it over dark plums and reds so far, and the result is very autumn-y, like crushed leaves on top. The formula is great. It's a little thick but the payoff is densely-packed flakes, so you only need 1-2 layers to get good coverage across one nail. It dries rapidly.


I do have to take off a lippie for how hard some of the flakes are. Some will hang off the tip of your nail and you have to move rapidly to push them back on to your polish before they dry. If you don't, they'll be hanging off your nail forever and it'll feel like you have a tiny claw or something.


Since this polish is LE, I would snap this up ASAP. I got two bottles on a whim so I always had a spare. It's so beautiful and fantastic for layering, so I think it's very worth the money! (Plus it's going for $3-ish or something on eBay and Amazon.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 christinarose on 11/17/2012 10:06:00 PM more reviews by christinarose

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

AMAZING. I bought this polish at the 2012 IMATS, and omg, I LOVE IT! I put it over a black and LOVED it. It is absolutely gorgeous. All you need is one coat! I feel like two coats would be way too bumpy. Minus one lippie because I felt like it didn't look anything like it does in the bottle as it does on your nails (not necessarily a bad thing though!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sexylovie84 on 10/3/2012 9:28:00 AM more reviews by sexylovie84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this!! I will purchase like 5 backups. I prefer one coat because 2 was too bumpy. It looks great over white polish + nude, but I think it will look good on any pink or blue. I originally wanted just this polish and found it on amazon and saw that it was part of the hunger games collection so I bought the whole collection. All the colors are gorgeous! especially for fall. This is a goldish-peachy shimmery flakey glitter so will probably look good over warm toned fall colors :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sienna2125 on 9/28/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by sienna2125

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A keeper! The color is a iridescent mix of copper, peach, violet, & light blue. On me (NC45) it has a warm undertone. I got this b/c it is similar to Essie's shine of the times but less $. I'm not sure if this is a true dupe but it's works great for me. Yes you do have to make sure there is an even distribution of flakies but this is similar to the application issues of many glitter polishes & was no more troublesome then usual. I fixed this is a few seconds by re dipping brush and redistributing & adding to the flakes. The formula was great - not too thick, easy to spread, not too smelly, & great dry time. This is not a glitterbomb that those older than 13 may feel uncomfortable wearing. Instead this consists of sophisticated & subtle flakes of shimmer that even could be worn in a non formal work environment. This np has the best name ever! This is my 1st flakie & I'm in love!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bailokaye on 8/9/2012 12:19:00 AM more reviews by bailokaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Very meh, left me dissapointed. No matter how many times I ran the brush over my nails, barely any of the flakies would deposit onto the nail. I was left with basically a clear coat of polish with maybe 3 scattered flakies on the whole nail. It looked stupid, such a waste of $8. I have discovered China Glaze is so hit and miss.
(Essie's shine of the times is a MUCH better nailpolish with pretty much the same concept as this and is also around the same price).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KenCookie on 8/4/2012 12:42:00 PM more reviews by KenCookie

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought "Gothic Lolita" because I saw it in an advertising insert. The color was a bit lighter than the picture indicated but still very pretty--a dark lavender that appears to contain enough white to make it appear a bit pastel. The color goes with about everything I own. The best part, however is how long this lasts on my nails. I applied it (a base coat plus two coats of color plus a top coat) and went to the beach for two weeks; there wasn't a chip. Trust me, I carried luggage and did all sorts of things that would have put an ordinary manicure to shame. In all the years of using nail polishes (and I have used every conceivable brand), I have never used anything as wonderful as this brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sambalina82 on 7/16/2012 2:40:00 PM more reviews by Sambalina82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I had to order this as soon as I found out about the hunger games collection, plus I don't have a flake polish in my collection, i wanted essie shine of the times but its double the price.. I'm wearing this over OPI my Pointe exactly and it looks amazing! Application was fine but it did need two layers of top coat to smooth it out. Can't wait to try over darker shades in autumn!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aliciaaa15 on 7/11/2012 8:38:00 PM more reviews by aliciaaa15

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have only tried this layering with one polish, but so far exceeds my expectations! heard it wasn't that great and that it isn't as beautiful looking as Essie Shine of the Times, but it has much chunkier and different flakies and I think is just a different but still nice polish.
I lawyered this as a jelly sandwich with Spoiled- Checkin' into Rehab (purple jelly) and I think it looks great! (BC, two coats CIR, one coat L&L, one coat CIR, SV). The red definitely comes out, and there is still some of the green and general shininess going. I only put one coat on, and I think when I do it again, I'll do more coats to get more effect.
My polish is actually not thick at all, like a usual glitter polish and is kind of watery, but just enough so that it makes application super easy, instead of super frustrating. Can't wait to use this over and over again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polishnut on 6/16/2012 4:54:00 PM more reviews by polishnut

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

China Glaze's Luxe and Lush is from the Hunger Games collection and is an opalescent-iridescent chunky glitter polish in a clear base. It almost looks like someone cut up that iridescent mylar ribbon that is used for gift wrapping! In the bottle this is the most beautiful polish - but in my opinion, that's as far as it goes. The polish applies very thick and very uneven making it difficult to get the glitter to stay in place thus leaving bald patches. Other reviewers of this polish have stated that dabbing it on works better; however, this method of application left me with an uneven finish. This will dry with a very bumpy texture so a topcoat is a must; however, this will still leave some textured feeling (even after a thick coat of OPI t/c and then SV). Once finished, after three coats of L&L (which is what it took over my base colored polish in order to get some sort of evenness of the glitter), it did have that "shards of glass" look that it looks like in the bottle. All in all, I do not like the texture of this one - it's way too thick and chunky. Application was difficult as the glitter will not lay flat or spread evenly. Therefore, I will not be buying this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 5/13/2012 11:30:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Luxe & Lush is my secret weapon to extend my pedicure a week or two. When I start to see a chip or a nick, on this goes over my color. In the past I have used a combination of sheer shimmers, glitter flecks, & opaque shades, but this summer I went all out - my extender of choice is Luxe & Lush.

Overall, Luxe & Lush has an incredible amount of depth & reflection. There are some blues but it's primarily pink & gold. The glitter pieces are large ... too large, in fact. They are more like mylar confetti. As a result, the coat does not go on smooth, so it is not something I would wear on my hands. But I love them on my toes, when I am wearing sandals all summer long. Dries hard in minutes.

I've worn Luxe & Lush on top of a pale lavender opal, and it give a fairy dust-like look and the blue in the Luxe is visible. In fact, it looks a bit like an opal. I've also worn Luxe & Lush on top of my go-to OPI Seniorita Rose-Alita (a pink-red with gold shimmers) and the gold in Luxe & Lush just pops but it needs a 2-3 coats at least to make it look right. I prefer the subtleness when using Luxe on lavender but the color on top of the rose is lovely too.

Pedicure extender. That's what this is. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More China Glaze products

More Polishes products