Dove Damage Therapy Intensive Repair Shampoo

4.0

54 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Glycol Distearate, Dimethiconol, Glycerin, Carbomer, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, TEA Dodecylbenzene Sulfonate, PPG 9, Tetrasodium EDTA, TEA Sulfate, DMDM Hydantoin, Citric Acid, PEG 45M, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Mica (CI 77019), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Aluminum Lake (CI 15985)


on 2/3/2015 8:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I swore by this shampoo and the conditioner of the same range for the past two years. My hair is naturally curly, with dry ends, and very prone to knots, flyaways and being unmanageable, and this shampoo/conditioner duo worked wonders on it (as in it was really soft and silky, had nice volume, and I was actually able to wear my hair down without it getting super tangled, plus the shampoo also reduced the flyaways) and left my ends hydrated and my hair healthy.
Unfortunately, about a month ago my scalp started to become flaky and itchy, and it kept getting worse. I switched my shampoo to see if that was the problem, and after two washes with another shampoo, no more traces of flakes or itch, so the Dove shampoo was definitely the problem. I have pretty sensitive skin so I suppose this irritation/allergy was way overdue due to some of the (agressive) ingredients (like sodium laureth sulfate, as well as the two methyl- at the end of the list which are massive allergens).
It did its job for me, but if you have sensitive or allergy-prone skin/scalp, I'd stay away from it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/19/2015 10:06:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Just used it tonight, I have bleached blonde, thick, curly hair that is quite frizzy due to all the damage i have done to it. When i was finishing up using the shampoo and conditioner in the shower i though it was going to leave a heap of residue and weigh down my hair. Boy was i pleasantly surprised. My hair is light and soft with absolutely no product residue at all. My hair is slightly more frizzy after it but that might just be because my old shampoo probably weighed it down a lot ( plus no matter what, it is frizzy so i don't think this shampoo really made it any worse.) I would definitely buy this product again and the price is an absolute bonus considering i have been paying $22 PLUS for other shampoos recently! The smell is absolutely divine. I have very sensitive skin that reacts to a lot of things due to eczema, but this shampoo hasn't given me a reaction as of yet, but sometimes i get a reaction later on so will have to wait and see. I would definitely recommend you go and grab a bottle of this plus the matching conditioner and give it a go. At that price you can't go wrong!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have to say the first time I used this I was really happy with it. I love the smell! I do really think using this with the conditioner does a great job with my long, thick, slightly wavy hair! My hair looks shiny and feels soft after using this. I bought the large bottle with pump tops which I really love. Definitely would recommend to those with similar hair type to mine. I would think it would work well for many hair types, but couldn't say for certain. Will definitely purchase again!


on 9/11/2014 1:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I'm a huge fan of Dove products in general, but especially shower products. I love their body wash, and I've just recently come back to the shampoo. I used to buy the original Dove shampoo/conditioner from Costco but I switched to a different product and then another and another after that, kind of forgetting how well this stuff used to work. The last shampoo/conditioner duo I tried I ended up being extremely allergic to (Garnier), so I needed to switch to something new and I found myself reminiscing about the days I used to use Dove shampoo and conditioner and how happy and healthy and clean my hair was. So I switched back, and I'm so happy that I did. I bought this set in Walmart, I wanted to make sure I still loved it before I bought big ass bottles from costco. This is different than what I used to use but I think this has become the new 'original' formula. Let me start by saying this stuff smells amazing. It's not fruity, its subtle...but it still has a lovely clean scent that I just love. My hair is SOFT. And I mean frickin soft. Once a week I do a clarifying/deep moisture routine (Neutrogena clarifying and Aussie 3 minute miracle moist-love those products...the very best) just to de-gunk and deep clean, and the other times I wash I use this. My hair is bouncy and looks like life was breathed back into it. It's light but its not dry and damaged. I can't stop touching my hair. For a few years I switched to higher end products (Paul Mitchell and TIGI Bed Head) and my hair was baaadddddd. Very bad. By the time I stopped using Bed Head it was gross...drying much faster than it should after a shower (that means it was dried out and unhealthy) and it lost its shine and just looked boring and dull. My hair is wonderful again. I can't say enough good things about this product. I don't know why drugstore products get such a bad rep. I understand that there may be a lot more that goes into developing a salon line, but not all of us can afford to pay $70 for a shampoo/conditioner duo and frankly I get better results and healthier hair with drugstore products. I think Dove is some of the best of the best. Try it. If you hate it, you spent less than $10 and can go find something different!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2014 11:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Hair type: long, thin, mildly healthy, Asian hair that likes to be straight
My hair is a bit a dry on the ends and has a tendency to develop split ends even if i use heat protectant. I also don't curl or straighten my hair often with hot tools. I do blowdry my hair maybe every other day and before doing so i put in an oil or serum.

I was hoping this shampoo will heal my ends or at least keep them moisturized with it's claim of "intensive damage therapy". This shampoo/conditioner made my ends even drier than they are and my hair gets all tangly from it.

If you find this product drying, try using the Dove Nourishing Oil shampoo/conditioner. Works wonders.


on 7/8/2014 12:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this shampoo. It makes your hair silky and shiny and does not seem to weigh my hair down. The smell is nice as well! My only complaint is the packaging! I wish all the big bottles came with pumps!


on 7/8/2014 7:47:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Provides good volume that lasts shampoo to shampoo!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this shampoo. Conditions my fine, dry hair, without making my roots oily. Somewhat heavy to use throughout the week, so I use it about 3x a week and works great. Also, makes your hair smell amazing, big plus!


on 3/7/2014 1:25:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have extremely thick and coarse hair due to highlights and frequent coloring. My hair is super fried, and I have tried everything to fix the problem from spending numerous amounts of money on more expensive shampoos and conditioners to applying hair masks that have never really done me any good. I almost gave up and figured I would always just walk around with split ends and frizziness, and then I decided to try the dove intensive repair shampoo and conditioner. MAGICALLY my hair not only smelled amazing, but it became smoother and super soft. If I let my hair air dry, I can smell the wonderful scent that lasts about two days!!! It doesn't smell as strong when I blow dry, but it still smells fresh. I absolutely love the way the shampoo and conditioner duo work together to make my hair look and feel the best it has in years!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2014 7:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have long, fine hair and this is my favorite everyday shampoo. I am on my 3rd bottle. It gently cleanses my hair and removes my styling products with over stripping it. As a bonus, it's inexpensive and smells good. This is an odd thing to add but I have noticed I don't shed as much whenever I use this shampoo. My sister has thick, color treated hair and loves this shampoo as well.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
392 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
327 Reviews
Back to Top