Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream Sun Defense for Face SPF50

4.5

10 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water/Aqua/EAU, Ethylhexyl, Methoxycinnamate, Diethylamino, Hydroxybenzoyl, Hexyl Benzoate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Methylene, Bis-benzotriazolyl, Tetramethylbutylphenol, Silica, Bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol, Methoxyphenyl Triazine, C12-C15 Alkyl Benzoate, Dibutyl Adipate, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Ethylhexyl Triazone, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Cetyl Dimethicone, Glycerine, Triethylhexanoin, Glyceryl Stearate, Acrylates Copolymer, Oryza Sativa (Rice), Germ Oil, Tocopherol Acetate, Hydrogenated Palm Glycerides Citrate, Propylene Glycol, Biosaccharide Gum-4, Ethylhexylglycerin, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Tripeptide-1, Schizophyllan, Cetyl Alcohol, Decyl Glucoside, Sorbitan Stearate, Phenylpropanol, Sodium Polyacrylate, Xanthan Gum, Triethanolamine, Disodium EDTA, Cyclohexasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Parfum/Fragrance, Citral, Citronellol, Geraniol, Liomene, Linalool, Benzyl Alcohol, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, O-Cymen-5-OL.


on 3/24/2015 3:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Although this is full of chemicals i.e. Aggravating hormone disrupter's... you can't really find an amazing sunscreen without them! My perception of an amazing sunscreen is if it is oil free, does not leave a white cast, sinks into skin nicely, moisturises, makeup is applied easily on top, of a high protection to prevent hyperpigmentation and of course protects against the harmful UV-Rays, and does not have silica (which is the ingredient that promotes close comedones) Unfortunately though, this sunscreen does have silica! But only a tiny amount so I'm just going to have to deal with it as it ticks all the other boxes :)

Hopefully one day we can all come across the sunscreen that ticks all the boxes including one without the harmful chemicals (If only!)

The price is quite dear for a sunscreen but suncreens are essential, and this is of a well respected brand... However, I would rather pay up to 10! thus the 4 stars.

The packaging is nice and dainty, you can carry it around with no problems and the yellow is bold so easy to distinguish.



on 3/15/2015 5:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have combination skin prone to breakouts. This is the best high protection face sunscreen I have used so far and i have tried several (La Roche Posey is 2nd best). This has a matte finish, your face doesn't turn into an oil slick half way through the day and there is no 'white face' effect. Really lovely, I wear it every day over my moisturiser, mineral make up goes on top, and I only use a 20p size amount to do my face and neck so tube lasts about 3.5 months. You can buy pretty much anywhere in UK (Boots, John Lewis, Look Fantastic, Debenhams etc) and a lot of sites deliver to rest of world if you have trouble finding in your country.


on 1/12/2015 7:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

got it for $15 (50mL tube) at Postie Plus in NZ - I've stocked up on it now as I've heard it's been discontinued. at first found it a bit rich for my oily combination skin, but now I'm in love with it and it's become a summer staple. it's fantastic at the beach and I use it generously if I'm going out in the sun all day, however just as good used sparingly under make-up or on days I'm mostly inside. definitely feel like my skin is still hydrated without being greasy after wearing it all day. has that classic Elizabeth Arden 8hr cream fragrance which you either love or hate. I also love the handy 50ml size - perfect for travel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/22/2013 8:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with this product. I absolutely loath the smell but adore the texture. I have dry skin so this is a fantastic product for those who are looking for sun protection and moisture. This is maybe the only non greasy sunscreen with SPF50 that I have come across. I'm on my second tube already, love what it does for my skin.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bummer. This has been discontinued as of summer 2012. I loved this stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2012 10:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a good sunscreen. I got this to protect my skin in summer, as I'm a skin freak and I don't want to get burned/tanned/get wrinkles. I think this does the job, as it protects my skin and it stays longer than other sunscreens I've used. I can also use makeup over this. The only bad thing is that it smells funny and it has a thick consistency, but it absorbs rather quickly.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/7/2012 2:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 11.62%, Octinoxate 7.40%, Octisalate 5.00%
Water/Aqua/Eau, C12-25 Alkyl Benzoate, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Caprlyl Glycol, Arachidyl Alcohol, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Arachidyl Glucoside, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Behenyl Alcohol, Xanthan Gum, BHT, Disodium EDTA, Parfum/Fragrance, Citral, Citronellol, Geraniol, Limonene, Linalool, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/30/2012 6:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Being a long time fan of the Eight Hour Cream, I found this product in a special value kit with the Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Intensive Moisturiser SPF 15 and decided to try them out. Sun Defense is the FIRST high factor sunscreen I've ever used which doesn't leave an ashy cast on my tan/olive skin which for me is fantastic - I usually have to wear foundation to cover the ashiness and then powder, which is really not what you want on a hot day. I can just wear it with powder over the top if I need to but it looks perfectly natural on its own.
This cream is quite heavy, as you might expect from a product in the Eight Hour range, so great if you have dry skin but probably not for oily/combo skins. It does absorb easily though and makeup goes on over it just fine = best to wait about 5-10 minutes.
I love this product - I've just bought another SPF15/50 duo kit which takes care of my sun protection all year round. Elizabeth Arden probably isn't the most fashionable of brands these days but if this is anything to go by there must be a few other unsung hero products tucked away behind their counters!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/11/2012 4:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I got this from StrawberryNet for $15 which is not bad for SPF50 but I found the smell overpowering and the texture way too oily for my combination skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

/This is a review for the European version of this sunscreen)
Can't imagine why this product hasn't been reviewed yet...
I've been using this all through this very mild and sunny Winter. I'm often outside and I didn't have a lower SPF around so I started using this and I am hooked.
It comes in a cute pretty yellow tube, very handy to carry with you. When you squeeze it out it looks like a very thick cream but when you apply it to the face it glides on really easily and smoothly. For a minute or two you may see a white film but it quickly absorbs and leaves smooth skin. The description says it's oil-free but I think this will be incredibly heavy for oily skins so I wouldn't recommend. In my case, it leaves my combination-dry skin comfortable all day and it's a good base for foundation.
In all the months I've been using it, it hasn't clogged my pores or affected the clearness of my skin.
Beware however of the strong fragrance: it bothered me a little in the 1st or 2nd use but I've grown to love the smell. It's supposedly the same fragrance as the 8 hour cream - I haven't tried it so I can't confirm.
I got this in conjunction with the 8 hour cream daily moisturiser (with SPF15) but I didn't like the sunscreen ingredients in that (oxybenzone, namely), so I only kept this one, which doesn't have oxybenzone nor avobenzone. Perhaps that's connected with the fact that the spf15 is made in the USA and this spf50 is made in Greece, this formula seemed more like the european style, but I'm no sunscreen-expert.
Since I bought this in a kit, I paid less than half price, so it was a great deal. Normally I don't think I would pay 20 for sunscreen, it's just not within my budget, but I really really like this product and I'm glad I bought 2.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top