Hourglass • Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.4(169 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ambercriedwolf on 11/5/2014 6:49:00 PM more reviews by ambercriedwolf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I went to Sephora and they used that device on me to match my skin tone with the perfect foundation. They said my perfect match was this foundation in the shade "Porcelain". And they were right. It matched my skin tone so well, which is something I liked about it.
When I first applied this, it felt great on my skin (though it had a paint smell). However, once it dried, I did not like it at all. I think this is the first foundation i tried that applies liquid and very literally dries to a powder. It looked very gritty and powdery up close and let me just say, it photographs terribly.
I will say that I used a setting spray once after applying this and it helped a bit with the powder look. Also, the coverage is pretty amazing. However, I won't be buying a full sized bottle of this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 11/5/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

It took me a while to write this review, and many many samples and finally a splurge on HSN that another reviewer tipped me off about (the foundation + veil mineral primer (small) for same price as the foundation alone at sephora, plus an extra 20% off). Well I'm completely enamored with this stuff! It's really unlike any other foundation I own. And I own *a lot*. It's a fluffy liquid in a pump that melts into your skin undetectably and dries instantly down to a matte but not quite 'powdery' finish - I am loathe to use the word powdery as that evokes an unpleasant Cakey image in my mind. Work in sections on very moisturized (& ideally primed) skin. I just use my fingers as not to waste precious expensive stuff that a sponge or brush may soak up. I'll try the beauty blender and various brushes eventually. I do not powder over this! No need. Coverage is light/medium light. I like to use my mercier undercover pot with it. Stays put all day long without that weird mottling and separation that always happens on my nose eventually with any foundation even if I review it favorably at first - I really need to edit some reviews :p I use 'nude' and I wear warm beige in bb, mac NW/NC 20-25. I like to use yellowy foundations to counteract redness and nude is a solid yellowy light-medium tone. It's maybe a teensy tad dark but no one would ever notice but me, and the shade down was too light and pink. No need to add more pink here. That's why I say nw/nc... I AM nw but WEAR nc. Hope that makes sense. Anyway, yes I am a convert, perfection for my combo skin. Moisturize well and dry patches won't be a problem. And less is more. If you need so much coverage and wana layer it on, look elsewhere as this will just look bad unless used with a light touch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 11/4/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really loved the way this looked on my skin and how it felt & how it performed; well over 13 hours without breaking down what-so-ever. My main problem with this is the formula and how it applies; I cannot stand it.

I understand this is a liquid to powder but this sets so fast you have a very tiny window in which to spread it out. If you don't, it becomes cakey and will come off in patches. BTW, do not put concealer over this, put it under. I learned the hard way and the concealer never blended in and stood out.

If you can deal with this, you might like this and how flawless it looks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 riceisnice on 11/1/2014 10:04:00 PM more reviews by riceisnice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I heard a lot of good things about this foundation controlling oil so I thought I would give it a try. I've been using it for about four months now, so I think I'm ready to share my experience.
Colour wise, I find the colour selection to lean a little orange, but it's not too noticable. I wear the shade shell, although I think porcelain would work as well.
I apply this by using the Sephora #85 brush in circular motions. Usually I will use from half a pump to two pumps, working in sections. Sometimes I wear primer, but I always moisturize first. Without applying a moisturizer first, this can look patchy over dry spots. It also dries very quickly, but it dries to a powder finish so you can still blend it in. I usually set it with translucent powder, or sometimes I won't set it at all.
In terms of coverage, although they market it as medium buildable, it's quite sheer. I don't mind the coverage being sheer, as I wear this for the finish it gives my skin: satin. My skin looks more even and smoother, and that's fine by me; I'm not looking for high coverage.
I apply my makeup at about 8 am and remove it between 5 pm to 8 pm. The coverage will still be the same, although sometimes it'll oxidize a little bit (nothing noticable). Sometimes it'll move around a bit where my glasses sit, but aside from that, it remains intact.
With oil control, my skin will be dewy by the time I remove my makeup. Although my entire face will be dewy, it doesn't look like I'm oily. If I don't wear any makeup (just moisturizer) my skin will be extremely oily (think your hands right after you've rubbed in hand cream), so this is considerably better. If I decide to blot, I will blot around mid day and in the afternoon. I use one to two blotting sheet per time.
I find that wearing this without primer or setting powder helps to dry out my acne; by the end of the day, my blemishes will have reduced in size.
I don't love this foundation (especially for the price) so I woouldn't buy it again.
If you're thinking about getting this foundation, try it out first before you commit. Test it out to see if the shade matches you (in different lightings, this can be deceiving) and if you like the finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mxxlu on 10/21/2014 8:11:00 PM more reviews by mxxlu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this foundation because I have acne-prone/oily skin, and the product claims to have had clinical studies which showed 80% of participants saw reduced/improvedacne after using this. The matte finish claim also sold me.

COVERAGE:
Since it is a foundation made for acne-prone/oily skin individuals, I would expect the product to give full coverage; but it doesn't. At most, it is medium coverage. It's buildable, yes--but not to the point of full coverage. I can definitely still see some current zits/hyperpigmentation scars showing through after applying this.

FINISH:
It really does dry to a matte, powder finish as promised, plus it keeps my oiliness at bay throughout the day. However, applying it is not as simple as most foundations. It's very easy for the product to get patchy around dry spots on your face; or if you don't let your moisturizer/primer sit and seep into your skin first before applying the foundation. You have to allow at least 10 mins between prepping/priming your face and applying this foundation otherwise the product comes off as little chunks on your fingers as you apply it. (Note: they recommend applying the product with your fingers for the "best result," sponges are not recommended.) If you apply it properly, the finish looks like a matte powder foundation, not exactly natural/skin-like, but not cakey either.

STAYING POWER:
Terrible. Claims to be a breakthrough formula that delivers long-lasting wear. Well, it definitely doesn't. The product easily comes off your face as the day progresses, if you even rest your hand on a small area of your face, the product will come off. It is patchy by the end of the day, primer helps ever so slightly.

OVERALL:
A very expensive foundation with no value whatsoever. All claims are left undelivered except for one (matte, powder finish). The only other upside is that there is a large range of colours to choose from. I didn't see any improvement in my acne in using this. There's not much coverage or staying power. The price is NOT justified by any means, I would discourage anyone from buying this based on my experience. Might work for someone with really oily skin, who's not on a budget.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dilemmalyn on 10/21/2014 6:50:00 PM more reviews by dilemmalyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had a very bad reaction with my combination skin. I have an extremely oily t zone and normal elsewhere. Within an hour of putting this on (after the Hourglass primer) I felt a drying, prickling sensation on my cheeks. I couldn't get home for hours. By the time I got home and washed this off my cheeks and chin were pink with a rough flaky texture. Almost like a mild chemical burn.

My oily T zone however did look matte and fantastic. So I would be very wary of using this unless your entire face is very oily.

I wouldn't say I have sensitive skin as I have never had this reaction with anything before. So I could just be allergic to one ingredient in this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 10/19/2014 2:05:00 PM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been experimenting with Hourglass products a lot lately. After using many samples of this plus the other Hourglass foundations, this one is probably my favorite because of the mattifying yet lightweight feel. I love to apply this when I have a long night out ahead of me and want/need my makeup to stay flawless and matte (for the most part). The staying power of this product is fantastic. My skin has been extremely oily for the past several months, I mean greasy within an hour or two of applying makeup/setting powder/etc. This product holds up quite nicely and longer than most others I've tried as of late. But what I really love about it is the glowy look I get from this. Typically, glowy/dewy and oily are not two looks that go hand in hand successfully. It is just such a flawless coverage that it almost makes my skin look airbrushed. Also, it truly is a liquid to powder foundation. It comes out of the bottle as liquid, yet as I'm applying it to my skin it transforms into a fine powder somehow. It is a buildable coverage, but often with matte products I feel they can cake up quickly if too heavy handed, especially once concealer, etc. is applied. I like to use my Sephora #55 and then when applying my concealer go over my face one more time with a beautyblender to sort of soak up any excess product. I do feel the shade I've been experimenting with (Nude) is not quite the perfect match for me, as it's a tiny bit too dark plus it has yellow undertones. I just purchased a full sized bottle one shade lighter in Natural instead. There are definitely many options (16) as far as shades go. Overall, I have been very happy with all my Hourglass experimenting, particularly this one. Definitely worth the money or at least a few test runs for those of you suffering from oily skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 burs27 on 9/16/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by burs27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've gone through two tubes of this foundation and cannot decide if i love it or simply just don't care for it. Since I repurchased it, you would think that i love but no. It was a great deal on HSN (foundation+hourglass mineral veil primer for $55, which is already a steal but if you're a first time HSN customer you get 30% off making the deal even sweeter). so i thought why not give it another try.

To be honest, I did see an improvement in my complexion. I have a lot of acne scarring on my cheeks and the scarring did reduce in about two weeks which was crazy! I didn't believe the claims so i decided to take my own before and after pictures and without even using the pictures for reference i can tell that my skin has gotten better. Even my sisters told me that my skin has improved (they knew nothing about the claims of the foundation). Oil control was good, it was better than any foundation I've ever tried and I've tried a lot including Estee Lauder DW, Tarte Amazonia Clay, Bare minerals, NARS Sheer Matte, Matte Velvet Plus, Kat Von D Lock it, etc. However I will still get oily around noon even with the Houglass Mineral Veil primer under. It was light weight and not heavy at all! Definitely not full coverage but depending on the brush and techniqe you can achieve a better coverage. I use an ecotools blush brush and pat in the foundation on the part that needs more coverage. Overall both of my tubes are completely empty but I dont think i'll repurchase it again this time.

Some cons were that the foundation was hard to blend after it set. Applying concealer on top made the product look cakey. It was time consuming since i had to blend it out section by section. Some days the foundation will look patchy, other days it will look immaculate!

It's a hit or miss.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 85aimee on 9/7/2014 8:21:00 PM more reviews by 85aimee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Great foundation for oily skin. It keeps the face matte all day! Has a velvety smooth feel on face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PBtangerine on 9/6/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by PBtangerine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Best foundation for oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Foundations products