Essence Mattifying Compact Powder

3.7

26 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 4/21/2015 10:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I like this a LOT. A huge reason is because of the price. It's normally cheap but I got mine for under a dollar because it was discontinued. I just wanted a simple powder to put on at work to make me look a little less dead lol. This doesn't have major coverage as it's only a powder, but I still see a differnce. I was also a litte hesitant with mattifying powder because I don't have tons of shine and I don't want to look cakey. But I do sometimes use jojoba oil or sunscreen and I see some slickness left over. So this really helps with that. I got a color that I guess I can't get again, but I would repurchase. Then again, I haven't used powder in ages. I've heard good things about Rimmel and other comparable ones so it's not like I can say this is the best of them all. But I can say that having tried it, I like it.



on 4/11/2015 3:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was ok. It was very good for the price, but for me it just didn't cut it. Honestly when i first got it i thought it was great! But then i bought some other ones and realized that they were waaaaaay better. If you're just starting your makeup collection i would say this powder is a good inexpensive product to buy.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the 10 light beige and I absolutely love it ! The powder itself light and gives off a flawless finish as well a natural look - which is what I like ! I have very oily skin so I am always having to reapply powders in order to hide the shine, this powder did me wonders! I only had to re apply a couple of times throughout the day compared to other pressed face powder where I as always having to re apply it to my face. It has a natural cover to and doesn't clog your pores up to the extent where you can see it like some powders do. It is cheap therefore you wouldn't think it would work but it does! Do not let the price foul you - another bonus to the essence products! The packaging is very sturdy and durable - went everywhere with me and even though the name has rubbed off its still in tack. I would defiantly re purchase this powder and recommend it to people with oily skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2015 8:16:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

=Pros=
-Matt, Absorbs excess oils
-Excellent price
-Simple, compact packaging

=Cons=
-Need to touch up more often
-Makes pores on nose seem bigger

Overall, good product. I would buy more of it.


on 7/18/2014 2:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

great product! i use it as powder to put over my foundation everyday. does exactly what it says it will, and cant beat the price of this brand!! only thing is the packaging fades and scratches off easily. but go buy this! haha


on 7/1/2014 8:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Great powder! I have it in 10 light beige and I absolutely love it! I bought it and thought: "too cheap, it will look gross on my skin like the Catrice one does" but hell no! Its fine milled, lightweight and I think its a great budget product for those with dry sensitive skin like mine, my face feels great and looks natural! My best friend feels the same way and her skin is like mine: dry (even more than mine, hers is totally dry, mine its more combination: dry cheeks oily nose and forehead), pale and sensitive, actually it was her raving about it that made me get it ( I had a 10 euros "cupon" in card for next buy buy but i needeed to buy 20 euros and caudalie mask was 19.99! so I remembered her and bought it lol). For reference im a mac nc15 , it warms a bit my face but in a flattering way, and its Summer anyway (here in Portugal it feels more like Spring these days). Love it! Love the essence mono shadows and this powder! It was about time they made foundation for pale skin as well!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2014 1:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Sinister...


on 3/7/2014 4:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

There's not very much positive I can say about this product, and this is the second Essence brand face product I've been disappointed in. Perhaps I'll stick to their lip products in the future, which always seem to work out fine.

The powder is incredibly chalky, although it feels soft and almost creamy to the touch in the pan. It also has some kind of lightly perfumed scent to it, which I just can't stand. On initial application it does provide a smooth matte finish, but it feels heavy and almost greasy on the skin. After one hour, the product completely disintegrated and left behind a thick oily layer of clumpy powder.

I used this product with a variety of different foundations, including on its own to top off a moisturizer on a low makeup day. It oxidized every single time. It never produced an acceptable result, and eventually found its way to the rubbish bin.

If you are looking for a budget mattifying compact powder, the All About Matt! pressed powder from Essence is a far superior product to this.


on 10/7/2013 3:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best powder i ever had!!! I love it ♡


on 9/30/2013 2:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have it in 02 Soft Beige, but I feel like the shade doesn't matter because it doesn't give any coverage. It is, afterall, a mattifying powder and not a foundation so that's okay.
The powder is extremely fine, it doesn't cake easily and has a nice vanilla scent. Only one application is required to mattify the face. It works wonderfully under the eyes as well, prevents my mascara from smudging. It's affordable, a lot of product, quick and easy to use. A great product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top