Lancome • Teint Idole Ultra 24h • Liquid

rated 3.8(379 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starrz329 on 4/29/2012 1:21:00 AM more reviews by starrz329

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I apologize in advance for the novel :)
I have been so excited to write this review, but have waited a while to get a good grasp on all that this foundation is. Background on me: Im NW50 and have VERY oily skin. So oily that I actually can see little beads of oil form my nose as the day goes on. Gross, but true story I know. I wanted a foundation that was long wearing, yet looks very natural, controls oil, and was medium to full coverage. Its hard as a WOC with a dark complexion to find a foundation match. Foundations gearted towards us either make us look very ashy and gray, or they are waaaaayyyy too red and you end up looking like an Oompa Loompa. I sadly have fallen victim to both kinds. So needless to say I was extremly excited when I learned this foundation was coming out. First, the color range is phenomenal. There is something here truly for everyone. I matched myself to Suede-550 C. At first I was concerned with the yellow in this foundation; that it would make me look ashy, but it was just the opposite. I applied it, and it literally disappeared into my skin, just like magic. In all lights, this foundation looks so natural, yet so perfect. I am truly in awe. I've never had a foundation match me as well as this one does. EVER! The finish I would say is not quite matte, but not quite satin either, but somewhere in between. Personally I love the finish. As for the wear, I work 12 hour shifts in the ER. Usually with any other foundation I will have to blot every hour or so. With this, SIX HOURS goes by before I have to blot. For me this an amazing acheivement. After the complete 12 hours, the foundation still looks great. It starts to break down a tad on my nose but thats it. I am truly in love with this foundation. Out of the multitudes that Ive gone through (MAC, BE, Revlon, MUFE, Clinique, and others) this hands down is the best! $50 is steep for me to pay for a foundation; but sometimes in life you get what you pay for. This is one of those times. I'm in love and this has a permanant place in my collection. I never want to be without it <3

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jtenopir88 on 4/29/2012 1:57:00 AM more reviews by jtenopir88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am 23 and have fair/neutral, very oily, moderately acnegenic, mildly dry skin with medium visible pores. I don't break out much, but when I do, I get dry patches around post acne marks. This foundation didn't accentuate any of that. It covered my pores and acne marks tremendously! The only difficulty I had was getting a good shade match. I strongly reccomend getting a sample and make sure to test the shade in outside natural lighting before buying!! I went in 4 times before I got my match, ivoire 140 n. I've had so many problems with my makeup seperating around laugh lines and my mouth and also seperating from my pores, where oil starts to come thru, thus making tiny dots all over my face. This foundation did none of that! This goes on well and blends well with a beauty blender or mac 187 or a flat top stippling brush. I used this for a full week before I reviewed it to make sure this didn't cause any breakouts (it takes up to a week for a pimple to form). Using a primer and setting powder is a must with any foundation, so I used my murad oil control mattifier and tarte amazonian clay powder. It looks awesome on my troubled skin, astonishingly enough. I aslo want to give some info about primers, as many women have trouble with them: you should always match your primer's base to your foundation's base ie: waterbased primer to waterbased foundation, siliconbased to siliconbased(to find out what base your product is look at rhe 1st ingredient or sometimes the 2nd). This is a waterbased foundation fyi and should be used with a waterbased primer to ensure optimal performance! I did have to blot with this about 4 to 5 hrs in, but thats way better than normal for me. It didn't transfer during blotting or when I touched my face which is wonderful. It didn't feel heavy or cakey and didn't have a strong smell about it. The packaging is very nice and doesn't squirt out too much at a time. This makeup stayed on so well that I had to wash my face very well, a little bit longer than usual to get it off. The finish is semi-matte, and it gave a velvety glow to my skin. I know this review is long, but many times when I'm reading reviews on here, the reviews are very vague so I thought I would make sure to write everything I could think about it plus I just wanna be of some help :) overall this is very nice foundation and it lives up to its name and what its supposed to do so. Hope this helps ;)

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erinabeta on 2/24/2012 10:44:00 PM more reviews by erinabeta

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

Lancome's Teint Idole Ultra 24h foundation is very, very beautiful. Applied with the fingers and blended into the skin, this somehow manages to impart lasting medium-to-full coverage while looking natural, never cakey. The finish is matte, but not flat--luminous. I'm pretty blown away by how much this DOESN'T look like foundation. That is, it just looks like perfect, clear, healthy skin. I've not had the opportunity to take it a full 24 hours, but it did hold up a good 16 hours and still looked pretty damn good. Just a quick blot with an oil sheet and I was good to go again. I've never had a foundation look this good in the first place, much less look this good for 16+ hours--I never thought I'd ever find my HG, but this is it.

EDIT: I'm so impressed with this stuff that I really think my first review didn't do it justice, so I wanted to add a few more comments about my past experiences with other foundations and my reasons for declaring this HG stuff.

I've dabbled all over the place and, in addition to briefly sampling a smattering of drugstore brands, I've regularly used MAC (Studio Fix Fluid, Studio Sculpt, Mineralize Satinfinish, and Pro Longwear) and NARS Sheer Glow and Sheer Matte, plus a further trek through the Chanel (Perfection Lumiere) and Bobbi Brown (Skin Foundation) counters after a recent quest for something lighter than NC15. So, my list isn't exhaustive, but I feel like I HAVE tried enough to recognize something that is truly worth your while.

I used to think that it was unreasonable to expect too much from a foundation and certain qualities were mutually exclusive, like being long-wearing and natural-looking, or achieving full coverage without looking cakey. Since I need full coverage, I figured the best I was going to manage was long-wearing and had resigned myself to foundation that trended toward looking mask-like. And I still think, with a lot of things, sometimes you have to pick your battles and settle for what ticks the most of your boxes.

But this stuff...it sets a really high standard. It sticks on the face all day, is full coverage, and looks DAMN good, all while looking like bare skin. I have issues with acne and the real test for me was how this was going to look over active, angry blemishes and a few flakey areas of healing skin. My usual issue is that the coverage I need to cover scarring and redness means that foundation usually looks heavy and accentuates any healing or dry areas that weren't visible before. Not this stuff! AND it is especially forgiving over flakey areas. I think the finish helps, where it's natural matte, and not your typical, powdery, flat matte.

It doesn't even require any special application tricks or babying to make it look good. I just dispense a pump on the back of my hand, use clean fingers to spread it out a little and warm it up, and then dab small dots in my T-zone, using my fingers to blend it out and toward my chin and neck. If I need more coverage in certain areas, I'll go back and add a few more small dots, with a touch of concealer over anything exceptionally angry-looking. It really is just that easy.

I've found that the Lancome counter ladies are especially generous with samples, so if you're looking for foundation that lasts all day, is full coverage, and looks like perfect skin, definitely try this. This stuff seriously makes me giddy with excitement. I know that's got to sound silly, but I'm just that pumped over finding something that satisfies all of my foundation needs.

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 billiem on 5/7/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by billiem

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

update: December 20, 2012

i still love this stuff! its the best.


I have tried so many different foundations and finally my mind has been blown! I love this foundation! I have finally found my holy grail! This is the only foundation that does not separate (I find all other foundations start looking dotty, pixely, separated….. its hard to articulate but its not attractive) This foundation does not transfer (I’m looking at you YSL Teint Resist long wear) all over my cell phone, it does not make my skin look dry and flakey, it doesn’t slide off my T zone or make me more oily, it never looks cakey and crusty, nor does it settle into any facial lines, groves, or pores, it doesn’t collect beside my nose and look ridiculous. I find it sets / adheres to my skin very well, and does not move around. The foundation is very light on the skin and feels like you are wearing almost nothing! The coverage is great, and I find no need to set with powder, although when it’s going to be a very long day / night I have set it with powder and still no cakeyness. I love how I can apply this foundation with my fingers and it looks great, I love how I can use my London Look BB dupe and it looks great, I love how I can be in a hurry and I know it will still look great! I think it may be perfection in a bottle! I also find it helps to keep my blush and bronzer on all day long. The foundation has not irritated my skin or broken me out. I do not find it overly difficult to remove. The shade range is great, and they have a color light enough for me, as I am very fair. The price is very reasonable and I would even pay more if I had too. I love this stuff. The other foundations I have kept because they kind of worked are:

Nars - Sheer Glow – just sits on my skin and separates
Makeup Forever – Matte Velvet Plus – looks cakey sometimes and separates
Estee lauder - Double Wear - looks cakey, wears off strangely and separates
Tart - Amazonian Clay Foundation – does not last and separates
YSL - Teint Resist long wear – does not last, makes my skin look flakey, poor coverage (I can’t get rid of it because it cost to much money – same with Chanel Pro Lumiere – boy does that foundation suck with my skin!)

The list of foundations, both low and high-end I have trashed, returned, and given away is staggering and I will not waste your time listing.

Final Note: Everyone’s skin is different, but if you keep searching you will find a product that is right for you. Good Luck ladies :)

*Edit* Second bottle now still loving it

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KCK783 on 2/20/2012 1:38:00 PM more reviews by KCK783

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I am a foundation junkie who is never satisfied & always on the hunt for something better. You name it, I've tried, I've bought it, I've taken it back or I've given it away. I own close to twenty foundations & not one of them is an HG for me. When I read about this foundation, I thought it was too good to be true, as it describes everything I'm looking for in a foundation. I didn't have high hopes because I always get excited & then it's a big let down when I start using it. I can now100% say this is finally my HG & most favorite foundation! From the moment I tried it on I knew it was different from anything else I've tried. My face was flawless & it lasts all day! I have combination skin, so my foundations usually start to break down around my nose & t-zone by the end of the work day & it's difficult to go out after without having to really touch up first. Now, I blot once throughout the day & I'm set. Nothing breaks down, my makeup is still in place & I can run around the whole day without worrying about my face melting off! I feel like anyone can wear this foundation and it's not just for oily or dry skin. I also love the fact that it's oil & fragrance free, so I haven't had one breakout since using this. I'm going on day four with this foundation, which I know isn't long, since it just came out. However, the more I wear it, the more I love it and usually it's the other way around. I bought it for my mom the same day & it's now her favorite too. She has now put away all of her other foundations & will only use this one. The color selection is huge & I think Lancome has one of the best shade ranges/undertones. I'm wearing 220 BuffC and it makes my skin look so healthy & radiant! I highly recommend buying or sampling this foundation, I don't think you'll regret it! With the exception of my Chanel, I won't use any other foundation. It's truly the best one I've ever bought :)

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bleuday on 3/30/2012 11:08:00 AM more reviews by bleuday

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

As a foundation junkie, I will be the dissenting voice on this product that most seem to love, but I'll give the good first:


--Staying power is absolutely fantastic. This really does provide superb wear and the color stays true over the hours.


Now, what I don't like:


--As a woman over forty, this accentuated every line I have. The trade-off for staying power was a truly horrible finish. I do not like the finish on this foundation at all. Too matte and too flat. I worked with it for almost two weeks, because I did appreciate that 12 hours later, my foundation hadn't disappeared into nether regions. I tried blending it with several other foundations to bring the finish to what I wanted (Lancome, YSL, and Dior) with no success.


Perhaps in the summer months, when the humidity on the east coast is melting everything, this might be a suitable foundation for my needs: but I actually saw lines that I never knew I had with this product. Eh, not exactly what I am looking for.


What I look for in a foundation isn't just wear; I look for light and something to even my skin tone, I also need some coverage, medium coverage is usually fine for my skin (I don't need opacity). I also have combination skin that is getting drier, but still prone to the occasional breakout. This was just too drying.


Application is uneven and difficult, but the tradeoff for having to drag the foundation into every corner of my face was a great wear time.



I'd rather retouch my foundation and not see fine lines that are otherwise invisible, thank you very much. I also agree with a previous reviewer who wrote that you need to try several shades first .... there is no wiggle room with this particular formula. You must be nearly exact in your shading, or it won't serve you well. The kind of sticking to your face no matter what explains why they have a gazillion shades ... absolutely necessary. I woudn't buy this product online: check it out in person, most definitely.



Finally, I notice that most of the reviews are by those under forty. Yeah, makes sense. Just saying.

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mop000 on 3/3/2012 8:30:00 AM more reviews by Mop000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Be very careful if you have sensitive skin. I got a sample of this and my face flared up bright red and was burning (I tried it twice to make sure it wasn't coincidental). I went back to the shop to look at ingredients - alcohol denat is third ingredient. I can imagine that even if you don't have particularly sensitive skin, this foundation won't do you any favours in the long run - dehydration/break outs etc.

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slidingdoors on 10/5/2012 12:35:00 AM more reviews by slidingdoors

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Note: My 2-star rating is for the 2012 reformulation. The prior formula I gave 5 stars to!

I used the previous formula of Teint Idole for about 10 or 12 years. I was a loyal, regular customer. It was perfect for me - texture, color, coverage, staying power, effect on the health of my skin.

SADLY, the new formula of Teint Idole (so-called "24 hour", which is a ridiculous and unhygienic concept anyway) does not work for me. The color I was matched to (at three different department store Lancome counters) is not a good match for me, the texture is thick, it magnifies my pores and wrinkles, it is drying, it is mask-like, it causes me to get oily in my t-zone quickly, it causes pimples, it makes my face red and blotchy for a while after I wash it off, it feels like it has taken a backwards step of 2 or 3 decades in terms of foundation technology.

On top of all those negatives, I cannot use products that contain chemical sunscreens on my face because they cause a broad rash of tiny red bumps after a couple of days of use, so this foundation is well and truly OUT for me.

It is hugely disappointing.

When it comes to makeup, I am pretty boring. I like to find one product (and often just one color of it) in each makeup category that works well for me, and then stick with it. I guess I would be called a "minimalist"!

I do need to wear foundation to be presentable, especially in work and social situations, so the sudden disappearance of my HG foundation has thrown me into a tailspin, and I've spent hour upon hour upon hour researching other options, sourcing them, getting color-matched, buying them, trying them, having my hopes dashed, returning them, etc. I still have no clearcut solution to this.

The best no-spf foundation substitute I have found so far, Lorac Natural Performance, isn't that great for me (I can't get a close color match; it causes my pores to appear "polka-dotty"; it dries quicker than I can apply it; it only covers my pores and wrinkles moderately-well; when I am wearing it, it feels masky as if it were giving medium-to-full coverage, even though it appears when looking at my skin to give only light coverage. This Lorac has to do for the short term, but I'm still looking for an acceptable foundation for the medium and long term.

As many of the reviewers here and on the product's home website have said, it is hard to imagine what the Lancome product developers and marketers could possibly have been thinking when they switched to this new formula. At the moment, the new Teint Idole formula has got a 57%-do-not-recommend-it rating on its own website, which is shocking (but at least they are allowing negative reviews to stay up).

This weird wrecking of an iconic, profitable, beloved product line also happened in early 2012 with my HG shampoo/conditioner (Redken All Soft, which underwent a dramatic product formulation that ruined it for me, and for many other users, as can be seen in the anguished reviews on the product's own webpage), causing my hair much distress and me a lot of time and expense. I still don't have a solution to my shampoo/conditioner loss, either.

This also happened to me with Neutrogena Healthy Skin Night Lotion which suddenly disappeared from the face of the earth about 4 or 5 years ago, which I had had great results from for years. I cannot use the Neutrogena Healthy Skin Lotion variant that has chemical sunscreen in it, which they still manufacture. After a terrible 6 months of testing a lot of products that caused bad breakouts (especially anything with salycilic acid in it), I found a much more expensive AHA product that doesn't do nearly as well for my skin as the Healthy Skin Night Lotion did, but it's been servicable (it is Peter Thomas Roth 10% Glycolic Acid Hydrating Gel). However, this year my aging skin has started to require more moisture than the Roth gel can provide on its own, even though my skin remains oily/combination, sensitive, and breakout-prone. I've tried several alternative non-comedogenic, oil-free AHA products that have caused breakouts and skin disturbances, no matter what they claim to do.

You'd think consumer goods companies would have learned from the "New Coke" debacle, but they seem driven to repeat the experiment on some of the most beloved products. At least Coca-cola admitted their error and brought back "Old Coke", but I am pretty sure Lancome and Redken etc. will not revive the late, great products that I and many others had come to rely on.

In case it helps anyone else who can't use makeup that has chemical sunscreen in it, I will list here some of the no-sunscreen foundations that are geared towards normal-to-combination-to-oily skin that I found out about via Paula Begoun's product listing website Beautypedia and other internet research.

None of them are, for me, a good substitute for the previous Teint Idole formula.

Make Up For Ever - HD Invisible Cover
Nars - Sheer Matte
Too-Faced - Amazing Face Oil-Free Closeup
Lorac - Natural Performance
Stila - Natural Finish Oil-Free
Tarte - Amazonian Clay
Urban Decay - Naked Skin Weightless Ultra Definition

In addition to being open to the medium-to-high-end product lines, I have searched high and low for a drugstore foundation that would work for me. There are only a few that don't contain any spf, and a few more that contain physical sunscreen, not chemical sunscreen, but nothing worked for me. They caused me to break out, didn't look very nice, didn't wear very well, caused irritation due to added fragrance, etc. I gave up after a few weeks and resumed searching amongst the higher-end lines.

If anyone has any suggestions for good replacements for the previous Teint Idole formula (and with no chemical sunscreens), please let me know. I have searched all over the internet on every combination of likely search terms that I can think of, but can't find anyone who claims to have found a decent substitute.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Triscuits on 8/15/2012 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Triscuits

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Pro's:
*Great summer foundation - sweat proof, transfer resistant, light.
*Minimizes pores.
*Med to full coverage.(buildable to full with second layer or spot layering) Vastly superior to Estee Launder DW in coverage (actually, its VASTLY superior in every way to EL DW)
*Breathable, comfortable. (in humid/warm seasons)
*Pretty finish.
*Easy to apply (I found it best applied/blended with fingers vs. brushes)
*Does not migrate in fine lines (I don't have deep lines, but I do have fine smile lines and lines due to my deep round eyes and am pretty attentive/paranoid over whether foundations will migrate and collect in these areas)
*Wear lasts an insanely long time, 10+ hours, at least.(I don't wear my make-up long enough to test the 24 hour claim) It doesn't noticeably break down as the hours go by.

Cons:
Contains alcohol, not good for dry skin or problem/sensitive skin. Looks amazing if you just need to cover acne scars and large pores (which I have), but if your skin is dehydrated, dry, or suffering from breakouts and flakes, this foundation is not moisturizing enough to use daily, it will aggravate.

I have dry-combo skin, and I will use this foundation on those hot, humid days when I know I'll be out and about for a good while and don't want my makeup melting/dripping off of me or smearing around. So for me it's a good foundation for practical reasons, but the one con I have listed is huge enough to make it not a HG foundation for me. I need a foundation I can wear daily, and I don't think this is it because I don't think putting alcohol on my face daily is a smart thing to do given my dry/combo skin.

I'm in shade Ivoire 160. I have fair-light, and neutral-leaning warm, skin tone. It's a pretty good match, not perfect, a touch too peachy(not orange, but like a pale cool peach), but good enough, blends well into my Mac NC15-20 skin. Ivoire 160 was the best match for me in the range.


9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karinaFresh on 5/12/2012 3:49:00 PM more reviews by karinaFresh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this foundation, this and Estee Lauder Double Wear are my favorite. I'm mostly going to be comparing this product to DW because I feel that they're different, not quite the same but I love them both equally. I love that they gave this a pump which is one thing I hate about DW is the lack of a pump..I despise having to pour out foundations!
TEXTURE:
It's actually not that liquidy, it's almost kind of thick in texture compared to DW, it's not runny but not too thick, it has a very nice texture. It spreads very easily but as with all long wearing foundations, I advise you to work in sections. It blends very nicely into the skin & adheres well without making you feel like you're wearing a mask. It's not drying on my skin at all.
FINISH:
The finish of this is beautiful, I actually prefer the finish of this over ANY foundation I've ever tried before. It has a soft-matte, not overly matte finish. It's got a medium-to-full coverage that's buildable (it can easily be built to a really full coverage) I have some acne scarring, some redness, and some active acne bumps & this covers amazingly without the need for a concealer (I never spot conceal). Even though it's got great coverage it feels pretty lightweight, it doesn't feel heavy at all. It also looks a little more natural on the skin compared to DW which at times can look a little makeupy. I feel as if this foundation looks fairly close to your own skin for a long wearing foundation.
WEAR:
I find this actually controls my very oily skin pretty well but so does the DW. I don't look like an oil-slick at the end of the day, my makeup actually still looks pretty good & polished. Compared to DW I find this actually doesn't wear as long on me, despite having 24 hour claims the DW is a little more rub, transfer, water, & sweat resistant then this. I can actually see this wearing close to 24 hours, but the most I've worn it for was 18 & it was still on my face (but a little oily)!
OVERALL:
This is the 2nd longest wearing foundation I've ever tried, after ELDW. DW has slightly more resistance to things but this wins in terms of texture, finish, & feel on the skin. It isn't as drying & looks more natural then DW. This to me, is worth the hefty $44 price tag, it's really just a beautiful foundation.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Liquid products