MAC • Scene Eyeshadow • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(103 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 punkface on 12/18/2013 12:21:00 AM more reviews by punkface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the colour and look of the eyeshadow once I get it looking good. I find it powdery and sort of patchy. I like this eyeshadow and use it, but when I run out I'll look for a replacement.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 2/17/2013 5:42:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13-20 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), dark gray- blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW/DSPW.

This is a lovely matte shadow that blends well and provides a soft cool toned gray for a lovely smokey eye. One of my top favorite MAC shadows. Some may be disappointed that it wears lighter than it looks in the pan, but its perfect for daytime drama and for those of us who want a smokey eye without the harshness that accompanies a black shadow. It is very buildable, so you can add layers to intensify the color. I love using this in my crease or to blend out liner.

I might warn those who are N30+ in skin tone, because it probably won't be a dark shade on you. It probably won't get darker than a medium depth.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kathy123 on 11/18/2012 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Kathy123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the shadows that did not work for me but I am sure it will work for people with cool skin tones. I am NC35 but not as yellow with black hair and light brown eyes. I was looking for a gray that has some violet shade in it. This did not do much for me so I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sarahheartsmakeup on 7/29/2012 4:00:00 PM more reviews by sarahheartsmakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Mac Scene eyeshadow (Satin finish) is one of those unique shadow colors for me that there is nothing like it. When i run out i repurchase. They describe it as a muted blue- grey and it has no glitter or shimmer at all. I have tried to find a cheaper dupe (look-a-like) but i can not find anything to compare. Every grey shadow i try usually has at least a little bit of sparkle, is too dark or too dull/ light.The color says its muted but since this is a satin finish there is a bit of a sheen to it. Just enough to give it some life without ANY sparkle! I feel like this is the perfect grey shadow that can be used for a soft look going to work and also used in a dramatic smokey eye to go out! It is very soft, blend-able and long wearing. Mac shadows are $11.50 for a refill pan or $15 for a full shadow. This is a quality shadow and its great because with MAC there is selection of finishes and colors to choose from. You can also return the containers to MAC for a free full size lipstick! (see below) i have never bought a lipstick from them yet...but am in the double digits!
________________________
* MAC recycling program
To help the environment, MAC accepts returns of its primary packaging through the Back to MAC Program. By returning six packaging containers to a MAC counter or online, youll receive a free MAC lipstick of your choice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jen314 on 5/31/2012 10:41:00 AM more reviews by jen314

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I know you're not supposed to use greys for black eyebrows, but my curiosity got the best of me. I used to use Copperplate to fill in my very sparse black brows, but I found that it pulled way too brown. I am pale and I have jet black hair; having a hint of brown in my eyebrows looked weird and unnatural. I tried Scene to fill in the sparse areas (just the arch and the tail, not the inner corner of my brows otherwise I'd look too scary) and WOW it looked so natural. It actually looked like I had a full set of brows! I haven't used this as an eyeshadow yet but I highly recommend this as an eyebrow filler for Asians with sparse brows. Just make sure you blend well with an angled brush!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thedallasdiary on 11/22/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by thedallasdiary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this color. It's a pretty blued out grey that is really lovely. I don't find it to be sheer at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 XxDeathXAngelxX on 10/5/2011 3:45:00 PM more reviews by XxDeathXAngelxX

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all I do not understand how people are saying that this is sheer! For me I barely touch my eyeshadow brush to it and it comes out super dark and pigmented! In terms of blendibility it is more difficult than some MAC shadows but thats just because of the finish. It's a decent shadow, although a little more blue than I was going for. All in all a good shadow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 8/31/2011 2:56:00 AM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought Scene because I couldn't get my hands on Sephora City Fog. I don't like the price increase with these.. it was over $16 with taxes. Blah!!! I was looking for a light/medium matte gray with decent pigment. Some would say this is too sheer, but I don't think so. It's purpose is to be used as a layering shadow. So, you'd mix it with other shades or use it as a gradual smokey shade to blend everything together. I also like it as an all over color used on it's own for daytime. You can wear smokey eyes during the day with a pink lipstick instead of nude, and go light on the application. If the surface is too hard or you aren't getting pigment, it's because this is a satin. Satin's tend to be more luminous or sheer. Brands press shadows and apply a chemical in order to keep them from breaking while being shipped. I think I still want City Fog, but this is a good dove gray. It might not work for blue eyes because of that slight blue undertone, but all other eye colors will be enhanced by it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kmeverson on 1/18/2011 6:45:00 PM more reviews by kmeverson

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Scene is a wonderful, cool, bluish/lavender gray. It works well for a smokey eye which is difficult for me to find as I'm NW5-10ish (depends winter v.summer). If applied lightly it also works well for neutral looks for during the day, too. I use the shadow multiple times a week and have purchased more than once. Not as easily blendable as other Mac shadows - but not difficult to blend either. Will definitely keep in my Mac palette.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariavittoria1987 on 1/8/2011 6:28:00 AM more reviews by mariavittoria1987

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I don't love this, although I use it pretty often as a crease colour when I'm doing soft smoky eyes. It doesn't have a great staying power and I find the colour payoff is also quite flat. It's very decent, but for the price I expected something better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products