NYX • Stay Matte But Not Flat Powder Foundation • Powder

rated 3.0(115 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.42%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 12/12/2014 8:30:00 AM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So not happy with this powder. I usually use Macs Studio Fix powder foundation and love that. So I thought this would be a good low end one for my daily mu bag. Well I put on my foundation Mufe Face & Body because I really don't need a ton of coverage just redness correction. So I apply this with my 187 stipple brush to my t zone only well it looked great at 1st. Well I check my makeup about 2 hours later and this looked like it was laying above my foundation and looked so blotchy. I was mortified and I use a good setting spray. I have never had issues with a powder foundation. I don't have dry spots or anything! This just looked so bad! I wish I had just bought a Mac backup because this is just not good.

I'm very surprised because I've had really good luck with NYX products but not this one at all. I do like the Blotting Powder though. This is just no bueno and it seems it's not just me who thinks it. Save your $ on this one. Definitely pass on this. Not Recommended:(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fecktopia on 11/23/2014 12:47:00 AM more reviews by fecktopia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Use a light hand, soft brush and gentle swipes to make this work. It is definitely matte but doesn't really blend into the skin, knocking it down a few pegs as both a foundation and finishing powder. I'm not even a fan of matte finishes but am going through this surprisingly quickly, seeing pan after only 3 months which is strange for only occasional use. Would be good to carry in a bag for touchups or oil control as it's a sturdy compact with mirror but no application tool. It is also a tad yellow in the nude shade, so beware if you have cool undertones. Won't repurchase as I have dry skin and oil control is not necessary and this level of matte is not flattering. There are better matte powder foundations out there but this is OK for the price point.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MeganDan on 11/20/2014 1:59:00 AM more reviews by MeganDan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product didnt stand out to me, it wasnt an amazing mattifying product that i would go out of my way to buy, i feel like you could find a cheaper version that does the exact same thing. I find it was a little pricey for just an OK product. If it was cheaper ( in Canada i paid around $22.00 ) i would probably repurchase it, but all-in-all this is probably something i will forget about once i run out, if i even continue to use it.

Colour selection was a plus, they had some nice light beige colours with no pink undertone which is harder to find in a drugstore powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hondurena89 on 11/18/2014 7:20:00 AM more reviews by hondurena89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this powder. Since I now have my experiences with this powder I will not be buying another 30 Mac studio fix powder ever. For the most part i have normal skin. So, this powder does not look shiny nor matte on my skin. One thing I llike about this powder is the color match. So much Better then Macs color selection. I do not need to reapply this powder through out the day. I also use this alone and over my foundation. It's so beautiful over foundation. People are always complementing my skin not my makeup when I'm actually wearing my foundation and this powder. When I wear it all alone its okay. It just makes my skin look airbrushed. It states on the box that it's waterproof. I'm not sure about that claim yet I haven't got my makeup wet yet. I'm sure living in crazy Houston that I'll be walking out side and it'll probably start pouring bananas outside unexpectedly. Also it claim to be sweat proof.....that's in contrary with it's earlier claim of waterproof. Sorry ladies I haven't been sweating due to the 30 degrees freezing weather out here. But I'm sure soon enoungh when the Houston humidity returns I'll get to really test it out then I'll update. so far so good. I wear the color tawny. I am a nw43,44,sometime nc50. It depends on what time of the year it is. Right now I'm a nc50. Nc 50 is a lil bit dark on me right now but not a significant change. The packaging is very bulky. Not sleek like the Mac packaging. It's really bulky and weigh a lot. I really do not like the mirror it's shiny and poorly designed. It does come with a sponge applicator. I do not use the sponge. I use my elf powder brush and I stipple and pressed this powder on to my skin. It does say as stated by nyx, to use the sponge for FULL COVERAGE. I tried it and it does go on as full coverage that way. Hope I helped someone bye bye. Also, before I forget. It does not say anything on the box about using this product wet like most powder foundations. It's says use dry. Also I did not smell any harsh odors from the powder. Maybe a slight makeupy scent nothing over powering.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetkandi87 on 11/11/2014 11:16:00 PM more reviews by sweetkandi87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is labeled as a powder Foundation, but I think it is much better as a setting powder. I was looking for a cheap replacement for my MAC studio fix powder because I like just wearing that on lazy days for Foundatio . This did not fit the bill. The color was a good match but it didn't have the coverage I was looking for in a foundation. As a setting powder it works great and has a nice finish. I would buy it again as a setting powder, but never again for Foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Erika813 on 9/25/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by Erika813

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this as a powder to go over my foundation or bb cream. I think it is a great medium coverage powder. I love that it looks like my actual skin. To me it had a natural look and feel and matches my skin great (I use soft beige). When my face is clearer I use it with my hope in a jar A to Z bb cream and benefit porefessional primer. When I need a little more coverage I use it with benefit primer and maybelline dream wonder fluid (which seems to cover most imperfections).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 drbrn_grl on 8/30/2014 6:16:00 PM more reviews by drbrn_grl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is just an okay setting powder. It really doesn't do anything to control the oil on my face. By lunchtime, my forehead and nose are just as oily as if I didn't use any powder at all. I usually love most NYX products, but I think there are better drugstore setting powders.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 BelindaKovalskaya on 8/30/2014 4:23:00 AM more reviews by BelindaKovalskaya

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This powder is so primitive, I tried it on my hands in target and it looked ok, but when I actually powdered my face with it, I noticed that it wasn't matte, contrary to the name, it's shiny and flat. This is such a cheap product, it brings out any imperfections you have, and it doesn't have any coverage, if you try to build it up, don't, because it just makes your face look cakey

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/27/2014 3:10:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this a lot but it does feel slightly thick and heavy on the skin, does not look heavy just feels that way. For the look and coverage it gives I will continue to use, I wish it kept my oil at bay but it does not . I get shiny just as quick as I would with a liquid.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* andToto2 on 8/23/2014 5:42:00 PM more reviews by andToto2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I do not care for this at all. I was on the hunt for a new powder foundation, thought I would give this a try. It just makes my face look dull and lifeless. Since it IS a powder foundation, that was how I was initially using it. I tried many different application methods and tools. It covers ok. I also tried using it as a finishing powder, hoping that I could find a way to make it work and get some use out of it. I tried on and off many times. Yesterday, I used it again. Looked in the mirror at work and in the car and thought "Why? Why am I trying to make this work when it looks so bad on me?" So finally, I threw it away. So I'm not tempted to wear it again. (It also oxidizes on me pretty badly)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Powder products