Maybelline • Super Stay 10 Stain Gloss • Lips

rated 3.4(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 amoenaonline on 3/28/2014 10:59:00 AM more reviews by amoenaonline

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have three of these stain glosses: forever berry, forever coral and something pink (not the exact name of the shade lol, I just can't remember it) and I love them all. I use them more often than my any other lip products. I usually apply them first and go over it with another lipstick or a lip gloss, they are like my base colors.

They don't obviously stay on for 10 hours, but they stay on pretty nicely anyway. I like the packaging, the wand really works for me. They smell really weird... but for some reason I like the scent.

I bought mine on sale, and I think they were worth the discounted price. Would have paid the full price though, not even know when I know how much I use them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 funkysmama on 3/13/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by funkysmama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted these to work for me, because I love the concept of a sheer wash of color, with a little moisture, that lasts for hours, and this product almost delivers (it could be moister). Unfortunately, my lips have a couple of areas that grab stains unevenly, no matter how much I exfoliator/moisturize first. (This happens with other stains too -- you'd think I'd learn.)

Too bad, because the colors I got, Mauve & Plum, are both so pretty. I couldn't quite bring myself to toss them, so I've repurposed them as cheek stains, and they work pretty well for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mirandlynn3309 on 3/5/2014 7:58:00 PM more reviews by mirandlynn3309

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

One of my very favorite things in my makeup bag. This is a new addition, I've only had for a short amount of time but it has made its place and I plan to keep using it as long as it is manufactured. It has beautiful, rich color. Doesnt taste terrible, and the applicator is really unique. I Love this stuff, the color lasts a while but not a miserable long time, realistically like 2-4 hours. Wears great through eatting and drinking, tip* take a wash cloth and scrub your lips a little bit, and then moisturize your lips with a GOOD quality lip balm,(I use C.O. Bigelow's rose salve) pat it in and then apply the color. It goes on smoother and you dont have random concentrated areas of color and it wears longer in my opinion.

Overall great product love it highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladykay09 on 2/14/2014 7:14:00 PM more reviews by ladykay09

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Bought it for $1.50 @ Big Lots. I like it but I used to the Super Stay lipstick that really stays on FOREVER. This one came off pretty fast. The applicator is really nice though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 glamycakes2014 on 12/5/2013 9:31:00 PM more reviews by glamycakes2014

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i hope they dont discontinue this lip stain. i have it in 150. it tastes like fruit punch to me lol. the color is beautiful. its a coral red color. im not really good at describing but its really nice. also love the brush. its a cool circular thing lol. i dont think it last for 10 hrs more like 2 hrs. but i still love it. please dont be discontinuing this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mlleange on 12/2/2013 8:18:00 PM more reviews by mlleange

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think they are discontinuing this product because I got a bunch on clearance for 2$. I will use extras as stock stuffers!

I have to say that for 2$ this stuff rocks but i wouldnt pay full price (10$).

It does last a while if you apply a coat and let it dry - you will get the matte stain effect. I have it in one of the deeper reds and it works beautifully at a stain. It has become my go to low maintenance lip colour. It does fade but when it does it doesnt make patches or lines! So no need to babysit. For a drugstore product staying power is decent.

I don't really like glosses, and I wouldn't use it as a gloss. The dark reds I have are too pigmented/goopy to be practical to reality as glosses, you would need too much product.

The packaging also sucks.... why so chunky and such a bad applicator?!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LydzQcFi on 11/26/2013 3:12:00 AM more reviews by LydzQcFi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

I have this in Forever Berry, I think it was called in Europe. And I CANNOT find this product anywhere in stores nowadays, don't know what happened to it, but I really liked.

This shade is a gorgeous, very deep berry, not for the shy ones. And no, the caps don't show the true colour inside the tube. First thing I noticed is that the glossyness is short lived. It lasted less than one hour on me, and went completely matte. Now while it's glossy, it's VERY transferable, (like any glossy product), and won't stay, won't even stain (like any glossy product), as long as it's in this state. Do anything to it and it'll go away.

For the stain part, you have to let it dry to the matte finish. At this point it's pretty much anything proof except really greasy foods. Don't go rub fried chicken skin on it, watch it leave and then complain about the staying power, you've now been warned.

The dryness. Yep, ladies (and gents if it applies) you HAVE to scrub your lips beforehands. A toothbrush is good enough for that, no need to shed a fortune on lip scrubs that'll give the exact same result.
Also you have to make sure to hydrate your lips. Apply some balm or vaseline while you do the rest of your makeup, let it absorbe, then RUB THE EXCESS. Very important.
With time unfortunatly, the colour will still settle in your fine lines. That's the one lippy I took away from the score. To prevent this as much as possible you can just apply balm over it, I have one that's not so greasy so it doesn't affect the colour and prevent me from looking as if I just came out of a camping trip to the desert.

Over all they have nice shades that are not high maintenance colour-wise as long as you let it sit on your lips for long enough to stain, but it is high maintenance lip-condition-wise as the product will show any bit of dryness you might have. A small price to pay to stay smudge-free, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 emily822 on 11/19/2013 2:35:00 AM more reviews by emily822

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

justt bad. i got pleasing plum . and the smell of this product is bad and it looks like i ate a purple popsicle. save and get sometging els.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pe4chzncre4m on 9/23/2013 12:22:00 AM more reviews by pe4chzncre4m

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product worked horribly for me. I initially saw lip swatches of it and the pigmentation of the darker shades drew me to purchasing it. I got fresh fuchsia. The pigmentation is great, and the color is nice. The problem I have with it is that it does NOT stay at all on my lips. Considering its called "super stay" I thought it would do a better job of staining my lips. I would use this before going on a night out expecting it to be able to handle drinks.. but if any liquid touches my lips the gloss comes straight off. It literally will just wash straight off with a little bit of water. And it leaves the horrible lipliner stain around the edges of my mouth. The product also isn't glossy as its name would suggest. The smell is also a put off for me. To me it smells like cherry cough syrup. I would not recommend. I much prefer the loreal glossy stain which actually stays on my lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ericasurvive on 8/18/2013 11:11:00 PM more reviews by ericasurvive

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product in Ruby Indulgence and the shade is GORGEOUS. The application is very smooth and its quite easy to get it on evenly. It is a bit sticky at first, but dries quickly. It has awesome lasting power and looks beautiful for a long time. It is definitely my go to lip product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lips products