Revlon PhotoReady Perfecting Primer (color 001)

3.5

273 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Isododecane, Water, Trisiloxane, PEG/PPG-19/19 Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, C13-16 Isoparaffin, Silica Silylate, C10-13 Isoparaffin, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, Silica, Tocopherol, Glycerin, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Methicone, Calcium Aluminium Borosilicate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol --- may contain (CI 77019/Mica, CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides , CI 77007/Ultramarines)


on 8/24/2015 11:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For your reference I am an NC-25, with yellow undertones.

Packaging : The cap (plastic) is easy to come off, I don't suggest just throwing it in your makeup bag. The body of it is made out of glass and so far it hasn't cracked or broken into pieces (I have dropped it several times). Gets dirty around the nozzle but is easy to clean. Pump deposits just the right amount of product.

Price/Availability : It was about MYR50 (USD11.8) in Malaysia for 27ml or 0.91 fluid ounces, which is a decent amount and has lasted me for quite a while. Can be found at any drugstore (Watsons, Guardian etc).

Formula : Smooth texture, dries to a matte finish and has a silicone feel to it. Not sticky, gives you enough time to blend it out before drying. Personally I don't mind the silicone texture/finish. However, it did accentuate a few dry spots on my face as I have combo skin (T-zone oily, dry patches on my jaw) so I have to make sure that I moisturize really well beforehand. Staying power - mediocre, it tends to rub off around my nose area. Does not really minimize pores or covers dark spots/acne/blackheads. Oil control is ok but like I said, not really around my nose area (forehead seems ok).

Colour : in the bottle it looks like a very light pink-ish colour but when you apply it, it isn't noticeable. So I think it would be ok with those who have fair to medium skin.

Overall : I am quite happy with this product. However, I may look for something else that suits my combo skin a little better. But in a pinch, this works well. I regularly wear this on its own and it does give my face a smoother appearance. Perhaps if you live in a colder climate this would work well (I live in a hot, humid climate). Great for those who are just starting out in makeup!



on 8/23/2015 9:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm new to primers and have used this for the last three days. It's quiet expensive compared to other drugstore brands but it works nicely with my moisturizer and foundation. After I put on my daily radiance moisturizing serum, I wait for it to dry up a bit then I dab on a thin film of this primer on my T-zone only. I am still hesitant to rub it all over my face for fear of break outs (I'm still in the process of observing the effects this has on my sensitive skin). I noticed the primer spreads evenly to a transparent and satin-smooth texture. Then I proceed with a thin layer of foundation to even out my skin.

This product works really great! I'm never heavy on the make up but this helps keep my foundation in tact despite humid weather and sweaty sessions at the gym. Since I only use half a pump of this primer daily, the entire bottle could last me at least 6-10 months. And if this won't cause me to break out in the next few weeks, I'll definitely purchase this again!


on 8/16/2015 9:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

this is a great silicone primer and massively extends the wear of my foundation. i recommend it if you are oily-skinned or if you are going for a more matte look because it works great with heavier foundations. i also like the smell, oddly. it comes in a glass bottle with a pump. i find that the product tends to dry up inside the pump and clog it up, so when you first pump it out you may need to clear out what has dried out. otherwise, i'd repurchase this (but not the matching foundation, which i hated), it's great and pretty good bang for your buck.


on 8/6/2015 9:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This primer is basically acne in a bottle. Whenever I go back to giving this product another chance, I break out a couple of days later in huge cystic pimples. I can honestly say that this does not change the staying power of my foundation nor does it make my foundation look any better. However, that is all I can say because this product breaks me out so badly I will not use again, and definitely not for the ridiculous pricing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/24/2015 4:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

this is the worst primer i have ever tryed it does not matter what foundation i put on it starts getting patchy and spreads all over the face and eventually not even trough haft day it starts disapiering


on 6/24/2015 3:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was definitely not a good one for me,yes it was silky when I applied it but after I put everything else on it was all flaky,which I did not like,causing me to rub all of my make up off and re apply it with a different primer,My sister had the exact same reaction to this.Not a product that I will ever go back to.


on 6/10/2015 8:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had high hopes for this primer since most of the reviews i saw talked about how good this primer was at controlling oil and redness, and since oiliness and redness are the main things that i struggle with, i decided to give this a try. Well one thing's for sure, it does make my skin feel smooth, and it does somewhat controll oil, but after an hour, i checked in the mirror, and there were so many little pieces of the primer completely covering my eyebrows, then i noticed there were SO many little pieces of it all over my face! Cheeks, nose, forehead, it was almost like baby powder. This primer also left a white cast on my face, which im not too fond of. Overall, i wont be using this primer again any time soon.


on 5/24/2015 1:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

LETS GET TO THE POINT:
• this primer really does even out imperfections
•the bottle says u can wear by itself and weirdly enough i agree
• not the "OH MY GOD THIS IS THE BEST " primer for foundation but it does the job
•honestly this primer is more of a "correct my face lotion" ??
•the most highest prive i have seen was like 12 bucks but i always get it on sale
• overall good pruduct

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 4:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a random primer I found sitting in my bathroom . I started using it and it works really nice . My foundation always looks smooth after applying this primer . Looks so flawless . It's a great primer! If you want something nice and smooth .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 5:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This primer smooths out my uneven skin tone, blurs blemishes a tiny bit, and gives your face an allover matte glow. Rather than wearing foundation, I'll just wear this primer all of my face and dot on concealer in problem areas.

the primer does a surprising amount of oil control for my combination skin which is awesome, but it doesn't cover flakes very well so I'd recommend a good moisturizer to smooth out any dry skin beforehand.

it does tint your skin whiter when you apply it but this wears off after an hour.

this is definitely my HG face makeup product, and I've stopped wearing foundation/tinted moisturizer :3

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top