Rimmel ScandalEyes

2.8

233 reviews

39% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/6/2015 6:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

[Purchased: 1]


PROS:
- it's cheap
- decent volume

CONS:
- does not give much length
- clumping
- large, awkward brush that is useless



on 2/27/2015 7:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely LOVE this mascara!!!! 💖😘👍 It's my Holy Grail mascara Hands down. I first tried it a few years ago. And would highly recommend it. It gives great length,volume, & thickness.I would definitely repurchase. It's a wonderful mascara. Love It 💖✨⭐✨💖


on 2/15/2015 8:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Scandalously bad. This is a definite miss from rimmel. The formula dries so quickly after the first week it clumps after only a light swipe. Forget multiple layers. Also the brush is unwieldy. I don't usually have a problem with large wands, in fact they work wonders with formulas such as maybelline plush but it was smudge city with this. I had to tilt my head back and apply it very slow. It doesn't get to the inner lashes and should you try, you'll likely end up with a beauty spot on the side of your nose. There are a tonne of amazing mascaras out there and frankly a lot of drug store formulas rival high end mascaras in my experience, but this isn't worth the money, even though it was a good price. Mascara should lengthen, curl, volumize or something beneficial. It shouldn't be a battle just to get it on a few lashes swiftly enough without wrecking your makeup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought & was excited to try ScandalEyes Mascara in 003 Extreme Black because Rimmel has been one of my favorite brands for as long as I've been wearing makeup. This mascara isn't a bad one, but I did expect more out of it & that's probably due to all its hype. I admittedly was also attracted to the bright orange sparkly packaging & the bold orange text on it. However, I was kind of disappointed with the results. Long story short: my lashes didn't cause a massive scandal!

MaxDensity brush: The brush is 50% larger versus Rimmel Volume Flash the MAX Mascara, & it is easy to see the size of the brush is the focal aspect of the product. The focus on the oversize brush almost takes away from the actual product. I expected better effects since it's so thick & it tapers. I don't find the brush too big—it has to be huge to give volume! I thought a really big would mean it's messy. It didn't get on my eyelids & it isn't too big to use on my bottom lashes without making a mess.

Texture/Consistency: It's creamy & thin or liquid-y instead of clumpy. All my lashes were coated evenly except the inner corners which took a lot of work since the thick tip of brush always has a ton of product on it. I'd really expect the consistency to be a lot thicker so it can plump up my lashes! It came off cleanly, quickly, & easily with a makeup removing wipe.

Application: The brush & formula work well together & it's easy to apply. I prefer mascaras that don't require more than 2 coats because I wear prescription contact lenses; I'm starting to think that's why I'm 'eh' about the results. I don't like that I'll probably have to pack it on to get that big look I want. I know it isn't fair to say it's an average product for that one reason… it's just that getting an ordinary amount of volume from a volumizing mascara is a letdown.

Results: 50/50. I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little dissatisfied. The separation, definition, & its little bit of curl were great, but that's about it. Those things aren't the point of the mascara & it isn't why I bought it. I wanted big & voluminous lashes! I want to warn that I am personally a picky woman about what I consider thick lashes. What I think is average may be great to some other people. I do have naturally long & straight lashes so I most likely need a lot more product than someone with shorter & denser lashes. I will say I was amazed by how it stayed on for 8+ hours with minimal flaking & smudging, & I've even cried while wearing it. Basically, the effect is in between everyday & dramatic.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I remember having and purchaseing this mascara over and over like a year ago or something like that. I really liked it, however I'm that type of person who always tries to buy different ones and has like 10 or more masacaras in total and unfortunately I didn't see this mascara in my local superdrug or boots for some reason... otherwise would repurchase it :)


on 1/10/2015 11:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is officially the first tube of mascara that I have EVER thrown into the trash that was still fairly new! Rimmel is in my top three favorite mascara brands, so I tossed the receipt thinking I wouldn't have any problems. I tried working with it for two weeks! The brush was the problem. Normally large brushes are a good thing when you want full and thick lashes - Not this one! Lol! It was too big and too hard to maneuver.

It made my lashes a mess. It can be best described as somewhere between A Clockwork Orange and not wearing waterproof mascara in the pool kinda lashes! Using a lash/brow groomer made them bearable for the day. The formula was fine as always. In an act of desperation before I decided to just toss it out... I actually tried to use it with the brush from a tube of Maybelline that was around the same size and nearly empty... Putting on mascara should never cause that much of a hassle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2015 4:48:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is one of the only ones that actually make my eyelashes visible. I am asian with stumpy little invisible eyelashes that point outwards rather than upwards. Not sure how other people/reviewers are applying this mascara but it sounds like nobody knows how to apply mascara properly if they're getting it all over their eyes. That actually can happen with every mascara and if people are getting it everywhere time and time again well... time to rethink how careful they are perhaps?

It does wear off after a while, and in photos (for me) it looks like I'm not wearing any mascara but I assume it's because my eyelashes are so naturally short and thin. This mascara is lengthening, volumising and I recommend this product to those who are able to apply mascara in a non-2-year-old fashion :)


on 1/1/2015 3:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Got the waterproof version, did not stand the test of time. Curl did not hold, which is a standard I hold to all good waterproof formulas. Saw this brush and thought..bigger brush, bigger lashes. Nope, more like bigger mess.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2014 9:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

makes the lashes look amazing. BUT the brush is so massive that a mess free application is not possible. not for me anyway. if you can be bothered to clean up around your eyes after every application its a great mascara. pricey though if thats the case


on 12/14/2014 2:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The first waterproof mascara I tried in order to prevent smudging. It's definitely waterproof, but that's about all that it's got going on. At first I noticed it made my lashes nice and curled, but I've had it for a few weeks now and it doesn't seem to be the same. Mostly just annoying to use, plus the brush is too big and gets a lot of excess product on the end.


Back to Top