MAC Frost - Creme de Violet

3.8

122 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/7/2015 3:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This takes some work to build up. It's so pretty but what is up with the pigmentation. I'm very fair NW20 and I have to work to get this to show up. I should of checked here first but I was so suckered in by how pretty this is. As a cool toned person it's great with my green eyes but I have to work to get the payoff I want. I'm not giving up on it yet I'm going to find a way to make this shadow work because I'm not in the mood to send it back. Plus I bought the pan for my palette so I'm not out too much but still I would like to use this shade. I'm going to keep reading till I find a way I might just use it wet. I'll update if it works for me. Otherwise this is a pass there's other purples or I'm sure there could be a dupe out there somewhere. Pm me if someone knows of one.:)



on 10/18/2014 6:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love Mac & a lot of their eye shadows however this one is a FAIL. The color is not opaque,does not blend easily & is patchy.This color is very dupe able & you would be better off getting a similar color from Urban Decay or a cheaper store brand if you want to budget.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

looking at the color at first glance, it looks so bright and amazing. when i actually put it on, it looked really sheer and under pigmented, appearing as though my eyelid had an irritation going on. it highlights veins, and is not very buildable. for a small area or a random dab of color, it is nice, but definitely not all over the lid. it was not worth the price, and i will not be buying this again. very disappointed. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2011 10:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was suppose to get vibrant grape but it wasn't available in the MAC store I got it from so I got this one instead. I was excited to try it out at home but I decided to read the reviews online and was dismayed alot of people didn't like it. Alot of users reported a bruised look to this color. I totally see it. It's not as pigmented as other mac e/s like but it's buildable. I mainly use it as a pop of color in the middle of the eyelid in a smokey look. Sometimes I layer Tempting over this as a crease color or pair this up as an outer corner color with swish in the inner half and it looks just ok together.

It's just one of those colors that has a cool name but you don't exactly find yourself reaching for when you pick the colors for the day. I wish I could have gotten a neutral shade. Wouldn't buy again.


on 8/9/2011 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This shade looked bad on me. It looked like a reddish purple bruise on my eyelids. I hated it. It was also kind of sheer and powdery for a MAC shadow. I wouldn't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2011 7:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I was very excited because this is the first MAC eyeshadow I bought. I have to say I'm really dissapointed, the color is not very pigmented, and since I bought it from ebay I couldn't test it before. Anyway the color is nice, but too "washed" :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/24/2011 9:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I didn't even mean to buy Creme de Violet. I thought I had picked up Parfait Amour, which was sitting right next to it, and didn't know until I got home and opened it up. However I am pretty glad I did pick it up, as I probably wouldn't have otherwise, and I think it's a pretty unique color to own. It's a little more pink than I would prefer but it's still really pretty, doesn't make me look tired how pinks and reds tend to do. Nice gold shimmer. Not super pigmented but I still like it anyway.


on 11/29/2010 8:51:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a gorgeous, unique yet very versatile eyeshadow.
It looks best in the outer corners of the eye just for a touch of color, and it looks amazing with coppers, reds, purples, bronzes, blues, greens, basically anything!
It's also the perfect lower lashline pop of color.
It's pinky based, but not too much to make you look tired, and the gold shimmers make it a tad more wearable.
The only con is it doesn't have great pigmentation, but for a bright color that's alright!


on 10/26/2010 9:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I'm sorry but this eyeshadow was the worst eyeshadow I have ever used from MAC. The color payoff is spoltchy - meaning that when I use my MAC 239 brush on my lids, it leaves some areas colored, and other areas not...I don't know what the helk is up with this color. It doesn't come off on my lids nicely AT ALL. It's terrible. I have to put tons and tons of this eyeshadow on and it still doesn't leave a good color payoff on my lids. Terrible, terrible, terrible!!! Worst eyeshadow ever. Would DEFINITELY NOT buy this one again...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2010 3:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This color gores great with my green eyes. I love putting MAC Honey Lust on my lids and putting Creme de Violet on the outer corners. It has a very small amount of gold in it, but it's awesome!




Back to Top