Laura Mercier Caviar Stick Eye Color - Amethyst

4.0

13 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/9/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This color is as close to "universal" as you can get. I've worn this color a lot, and have even bought it for a couple of friends. It's a soft metallic bronzey plum that looks good on everyone I've ever recommended it to, both warm and cool skin types, fair to deep complexions. It's a medium shade rather than a pale highlight color or a dark liner color.

Caviar Sticks are easy to apply. I usually blend with my fingers but sometimes I use a brush and get good results with both techniques. It lasts well and the color is soft enough that it doesn't look bad even after a long day. As long as I don't apply eye cream underneath it, it has good longevity and doesn't crease. (If you wear lots of thick eye cream, it can crease.) I usually wear Illuminare mineral cream shadow as a base, but even if I don't, this stays much better than a powder shadow.

I have several Caviar Sticks but this color is so versatile that it is even a safe gift. Laura Mercier does not test on animals.

Ingredients of Amethyst Caviar Eye Stick:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Mica (Ci 77019), Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polyethylene, Lauroyl Lysine, Ozokerite, Octyldodecanol, Synthetic Beeswax, Lecithin, Tin Oxide, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Citric Acid. May Contain (+/-)Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide).



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm on my third caviar eye stick in amethyst. I love this product. sometimes i use it to line my eye, or i put it on the entire lid and smoke it out with a brush. I have green eyes, and this gives them a nice pop. Also, this product DOES NOT crease at all.


on 6/29/2015 1:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really love the color of this, it's almost exactly the same shade as MAC satin taupe shadow but in cream form. I really like this, it's smooth and blendable and builds nicely and works great on its own or you can layer a powder shadow or another liner stick over it. The only issue I have is with staying power- no matter if I top it with powder or wear a primer under it, it creases on me after about 4 hours. Now, I don't think the average person would have an issue with this creasing, which it why I still give it a high mark. I have exceptionally oily eyelids, and even with Nars pro prime on (which is the best shadow primer I have ever used) some things will still crease on me. So, definitely worth purchasing, but if you have extremely oily lids just beware that you will probably have some creasing.


on 1/16/2015 11:57:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

There are a lot of cream eyeshadow sticks out there, but I always come back to these, and especially Amethyst. It's just wonderful texture, it sets well, and it's an unusual and beautiful color. I've actually never really worn this mixed with anything else - this is my go-to when I just want to put some color on my eyes, swipe on mascara, and be done. It's convenient to carry in my bag, and it is expensive but it lasts me for a long time, so I feel like it is good value.
Just for info, I have fair skin, blue eyes, and I'm naturally blond but I have bottle copper colored hair. It really makes my eyes look blue and sparkling. I've seen it on my sister (very different coloring, more olive-complected and dark brown eyes) and it looks great on her as well.
I took off one lippie because although it does set, I think for the price it should be a little more long-lasting (I get about 6 hours before it starts to look creased).


on 12/15/2014 10:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This color is the Holy Grail for green eyes. I use it with a brush as eye-liner. Lasts all day (or night). The cap has cracked, split, and/or chipped on every stick I've purchased (5 so far), though. I do travel frequently, so maybe I'm to blame, but it is an unusual problem for LM products.


on 11/20/2014 2:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Of the four shades in the Sephora 2014 quartet of mini caviar sticks, this was my least favorite. I know Amethyst is a popular shade, but it just didn't work with my skintone. In general, I have a hard time with taupes and purples because they're too cool-toned and make me look bruised or sickly, and Amethyst was no exception. The formula was superb and blended easily, it just didn't go with my coloring.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

A beautiful color. I am not big on shimmer or frost although this is certainly a gleam! I swipe it across upper and lower lids in a band and it's so pretty. Not crazy, not over the top; more like fresh and glowy. It does not come off purple or lilac (on me) - more taupe with a touch of rose mixed in... I apply after a primer and usually have subtle other eyeshadow with it but it isn't necessary. This stands nicely on it's own. I wear it to work and also out - it can look festive while still being subtle. Like it, very easy to apply in the packaging - too expensive for what it is although I want to try other colors and probably will. Sigh!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I researched this purchase and well- I love the color and the ease in applying. However, this creases like a mofo on me. I have used a variety of good primers- NARS, TFSI, etc. Crease and fade city- population ME. Maybe it's just my lids, who knows. What I do know is that I paid $25 for shadow that is outshined by a $6 pot of Color Tattoos or Infallible eyeshadow. Complete bummer. Thought about returning it, but I don't have my receipt any longer. Ah well, live and learn! I wouldn't buy again.

PROS: Color and Ease of application
CONS: Creases, fades after a couple of hours (even over primer), Price!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2013 1:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I use this product with a brush as eyeliner. I love how creamy and easy it is to smooth onto my lids as well as being really easy to smudge. It also manages to stay on my eyelids the entire day with no primer or powder used!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2013 9:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have oily eye lids that tend to eat primers and eyeshadow. That being said, this product lasts on my super oily lids all day without creasing or fading, even without primer. I also really like the color, which is a smokey purple, and it is very versatile. It can easily be built up for an intense and dramatic look, or you can apply only a few layers for a softer, more subtle look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top