Revlon Photoready 3D Volume

3.6

193 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/3/2015 7:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Bought the nonwaterproof one on accident, but it was ok since the mascara doesn't smudge at all (I have oily eyelids) and it doesn't flake. I like mascaras that look natural so this one was perfect for me. ewg.org gives it a 2, so it is safe. It enhances my natural lashes without it looking fake. I've been told my lashes look pretty, but they thought it was mine. people don't know I have mascara on till I tell them (I like to only put 1 coat). However, for me it was slightly too wet and doesn't hold my curl to well either.Also I know some people like when mascaras make they're lashes pop, if your looking for that, idt this is for you. (gotta admit the "3D volume" can be misleading, but for me it was fine, keep in mind im asian, so maybe if your lashes are thicker the 3D may (or not) come into play).



on 6/30/2015 7:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The reviews on here are mixed, but I think mascara is so personal that it's hard to gauge, so let me give you an idea of how I like my lashes, and then you can determine whether this mascara will work for you or not! I find my lashes look nicest when they are defined and separated, but not so much that they look skinny. I also like a little bit of length towards the outer corners to create a "cat eye" effect. I want a formula that doesn't irritate my eyes, wear through an average workday (6-9 hours), without flaking or smuding, in a dark black color. Well, this mascara ticks off all my boxes! the silicone brush does an awesome job at separating my lashes AND adding volume and length, but not a crazy amount. the finished look is a fluttery, pretty lash that's black and smooth-looking (not like some mascaras that look dry and crusty). I "stamp" it at the base of my lash line and then swipe it out smoothly. I go through maybe two or three times to get the desired amount of separation and length, then I pluck a little bit of length off the inner corner (to give that fanned out look at the outer edges) and voila! I get so many compliments on my lashes!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i regretted buying this mascara when i first tried it.but i learned that this mascara actually gives you a separated and volumizing eyelash if you let it sit in a hot boiling water for like half an hour.this also works as a tinted brow gel and will give you a natural yet fuller eyebrows


on 6/27/2015 7:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Price and effectiveness both gets a 5 from me. This easily competes with the rimmel lash accelerator for me. My top 3 HG mascara of all time are this one, rimmel lash accelerator and lancome hypnose drama mascara. The lancome is so expensive that I can only use it for special occasion. I'd use Revlon and rimmel again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2015 9:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was very excited to get this mascara, because it looked very similar to a Avon mascara that I have and love. My lashes are short and thin, thats why I only use mascaras that have a silicon brush, because i feel it applies more evenly.
I applied it in the morning and after a few hours when I looked at myself in the mirror I looked like a panda! I did sweat a like but, since its very hot, but its not like I exercised.
I did not love this mascara.


on 3/27/2015 7:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

What is this even. I tried buying it as a 'They're Real' dupe. Now, in the meanwhile I've bought Benefits mascara and fallen in love with it, whereas, this one, not so much. I hate it. I doesn't do the slightest thing, no curl, nor volume nor length. A few coats even look like nothing. Greatly disappointed.


on 3/22/2015 7:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is amazing! A real steal. It has a super lengthening effect, as well as the volume it promotes. With most mascaras I expect length OR volume but never both. It has a tactile quality too - it feels nice to use. Some mascara wands don't feel nice in your hand as you're applying the product KWIM? (tube too shiny, tube too thin, too short etc.) This has a nice matt packaging that is easy to wipe clean and the brush doesn't seem to clog up.

This is the only mascara I have ever used up. All the other mascaras I have purchased have had to be replaced because they've become cloggy in the tube. I will continue to purchase this.


on 3/15/2015 4:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

NOTHING SPECIAL. You can definitely get a better mascara for the same price. Its not a terrible product....but definitely not something I recommend to my friends.


on 12/17/2014 4:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I waited a long time to rate this product because for every major "pro" I found with this product, I found a "con" as well. In a nutshell, this is a very hot n' cold review. It's hard to determine how many lippies to award, so I'll give it a 2.5 to average out the pluses and minuses. (And will not round up since the con's were too severe for me!)

FYI I have thick, very straight lashes.

Pros:
-Though I usually prefer more traditional fuller brushes, I actually like this rubber bristle brush. The short bristles get product onto my lashes without applying so much as to cause clumping. The length of the brush itself seems longer than average (I'll try to do a side by side picture comparison when I get a chance; until then, this is all unofficial and unscientific. ;) )
- The initial result looks nice. After some experimentation, the way I like to use this is to curl my lashes and apply as I usually would; then I use a tiny spoolie to help build up the volume on the outer half of my eye.

Cons: in a nutshell, the darn formula.
-The nice, initial result doesn't seem to last. By the end of the day, my once-full lashes look completely naked and plain. The curl comes undone, and it looks as though I was going for a bare, "natural" look. (Which is fine in general, but that's not why I wear mascara.)
- My eyes felt itchy and tired at the end of the day. I suppose I should have expected this since I knew going into this that I do not get along with the Revlon Lash Potion mascara, but I was a sucker for a good deal. To make a "buffer zone" after using this, I do a final coat of a CG mascara, which I do not have any allergic reactions to.
- I lied. There are a few extra cons with matched pros. One about the wet formula, which took too long to dry.
-A minor flaw, but this packaging is too big for... what this product is able (rather, not able) to do. The giant square tube is not at all conducive to being travel friendly. Since I bring along an extra spoolie + another mascara to help out this needy formula, this is not a very user or travel friend.

I got this ~$10 mascara on super sale with coupons at Target for about $2, and even still I kind of regret buying it. I'll consider this purchase a "now you know" kind of purchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2014 10:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Got this in a Revlon gift pack and I really like it. I really like the brush, it's easy to get the small lashes. My lashes are quite fine and not long, and this mascara gives great length and decent volume as well as a nice curl. It doesn't clump like other mascaras do and I haven't noticed any flaking during the day. Not the most amazing mascara I've ever tried, but for a (relatively) cheapish one I think it's great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top