Maybelline Color Tattoo - Bold Gold / Eternal Gold

3.8

71 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients.Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Ceresin, Cyclohexasiloxane, Caprylyl Methicone, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Alumina, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Cyclomethicone, Propylene Carbonate, Candelilla Cera / Candelilla Wax / Cire De Candelilla, Caprylyl Glycol, C30-45 Alkyldimethylsilyl Polypropylsilsesquioxane, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Polyethylene Terephthalate, Tin Oxide, Acrylates Copolymer, Paraffin. May Contain: Mica, CI 77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / Iron Oxides, CI 77007 / Ultramarines, CI 19140 / Yellow 5 Lake, CI 16035 / Red 40 Lake, CI 77000 / Aluminum Powder, CI 77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI 75470 / Carmine, CI 42090 / Blue 1 Lake, CI 77400 / Bronze Powder, CI 77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI 77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI 77742 / Manganese Violet, CI 77400 / Copper Powder, CI 77163 / Bismuth Oxychloride, CI 77510 / Ferric Ammonium Ferrocyanide.. ...


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is the first Maybelline color tattoo I bought, and I was SO disappointed. I've heard all the hype about these, and how amazing these were supposed to be, and I was so sad to find out that this sucked.It's dry, patchy, the color doesn't show up properly on the lid. It's just awful. But! I have later bought some of the other colors, and they are beautiful! On and On Bronze/Bad to the Bronze is just as amazing as everybody says it is. I don't know why this particular one is so bad. At first I though I had just gotten a bad one, but it seems a lot of people hate this shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 4/15/2015 6:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

awful texture. looks horrible on my eyelid. unusable


on 4/2/2015 8:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've been looking for a true gold eyeshadow to compliment my medium brown skin and this is definitely the sort of gold colour I was looking for! It's a proper yellow gold. Since it's a cream formulation I don't have to worry about fallout. Precise application is pretty easy to do with this product. I usually dip a sponge-tipped brush in it and use it was an eyeliner! My only complaint is that applying it can be sort of tricky if you want to use it all over your eyelid. It is a cream formulation, but a pretty solid one that dries quickly on skin. It might take a bit of practice to get it looking even and not patchy. Still, it good value for money and one pot will last you ages!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2015 9:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I found this product disappointing. I purchased a few color tattoos following the hype around them. This one in particular is dry, it does not go on smoothly and is not creamy. It seems to cake awkwardly on my eyelids and is difficult to blend. It is also difficult to build up the shadow, it just seems to go patchy. However, my mother who loves lots of sparkle and shimmer really seems to like this as an all over wash of colour. So it's not awful, I just think there are better cream shadows on the market.


on 12/8/2014 8:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought the Bold Gold shade because I thought it'd work well on my Olive/Tan skintone and it typically looks pretty decent, though it definitely is a very yellow gold. I used it for a while, and then I started investing in Paint Pots by MAC and I've never looked back. I don't have greasy lids, but I like my eyeshadow to stay in place so I typically wear them over a primer.

I'm not a huge fan of this product. When swatched or applied to my eyes, I can actually feel the tiny glitter/shimmer particles and it just doesn't feel very creamy. As the product dries, it also starts pulling on my eyes. Within a year, the product is completely congealed at the sides and I have to warm it up with my finger if I ever want to use it. For a drug store item, it's pretty decent, though this particular shade doesn't even compare to the metallic bronze/gold shades that MAC Paint Pots come in. I've had many of my MAC Paint Pots for over a year and they're just as creamy as ever.

The good thing about this product is that it does dry compeltely and does help to keep eyeshadow from moving or coming off. I would recommend it to someone who wants to buy something like a Paint Pot from the drug store, but I honestly won't be repurchasing mostly for the lack of longevitiy in the product. I don't hate it, and I'm glad I tried it, but I just can't justify ever purchasing it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2014 1:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this hoping for a beautiful gold eye shadow base. Not so. This pulls too yellow on me and made my eye makeup always look --- off. So, I tucked it away for about a year and now it's dried up and I still don't like the color. Going in the trash.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Not for me/not my thing. This shows up really muddy yellow on me! It isn't a good look on me. It was in the first batch of Color Tattoo e/s I bought when I bought Bad To The Bronze, Pom Punk, Fierce/Tangy, Tough As Taupe, & Too Cool. I didn't think it would pull so "yellow" & I don't enjoy giving negative reviews so as much as it pains me to say this (& to waste makeup/money on products that did not work out), I will probably be tossing this out soon. Irdk why I've held onto it this long. I keep hanging onto it for some reason hoping that I can make use of it somehow, but it is hard to describe how it looks on me, kind of tacky & weird, looks like I've got jaundiced eye lids. Idk what I was expecting, I guess less yellow.


on 5/8/2014 1:27:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Wow, you want gold? You got it lol. This is a yellow gold that is seriously pigmented and in your face. I am NW20 and find it hard to wear golds and bronzes, but I do it anyway with this lol. Such a rich and pretty gold.

Lasts all day and can be layered or worn alone. Awesome gold and better than any other gold I have come across.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/17/2014 8:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Where can i start?? This product is amazing. Its pigmentation is excellent. For its awesome price, you get a good amount of product and it is very good quality. The only con i might have is that it did crease after 3 or 4 hours, but it was nothing significant. Overall, its a great product and i highly reccommend it to everyone (:


on 1/25/2014 7:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

First off, my colour looks a lot darker and more dirty/bronze than the swatches i'v seen/pictures i'v seen, but my pot is labled as bold gold!

I love how easy it is to use, just swipe some on the lid blend a little, add some winged liner and mascara and i'm ready to go! And it's a beautiful sparkling bronze gold shade that makes the brown in my eyes really stand out!

My problem with these is they wont stay put! I used it plain, no primer or shadow and it creased in an hour and a bit. So the next day I used a primer and then the shadow, and two hours later it was creased and mostly gone. So the NEXT day I used a primer, bold gold, and then a matching gold shade on top and it STILL creased in two hours on me!

I wish I could get this to work for me because it is such a lovely shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top