Sigma • Dry'n Shape System • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 3.6(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ladydeemone on 1/24/2014 1:30:00 PM more reviews by Ladydeemone

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just read a negative review on this product and it compelled me to write my own review lol. I have owned this for almost 2 years now and it has never ruined any of my brushes. The other reviewer mentioned that her F80 brushes hairs fell out after using the dry shaper and I just can't understand how that would happen? I'm thinking it may have been the cleaner she used on her brush because like I said I never had a problem and I also own the sigma f80. This case is great for drying your brushes, it really does take less time drying in the case. I wash the brushes at night using my neutrogena naturals face wash and some warm water and once the water runs clean I place it into one of the elastic holders in the dry and shape case and I literally forget about it till the morning and when I pull the brushes out they are dry and kept in a nice shape. Once they are dry they form to the elastic base that was used in the dry and shape, just fluff it up by running your fingers through it and it'll restore the natural shape of the brush. This case is also great for traveling, keeps the brushes safe and clean. Having this case is great especially if you share your bathroom with anyone. I share my bathroom with my husband and before I purchased the dry and shape I would have my freshly clean brushes sitting on a towel near the sink to dry and my husband would just make a mess with his tooth paste etc, so this was definitelty a good buy for me lol. The only CON I would say is that if it gets dirty (foundation, concealer etc) it's next to impossible to clean off, so be careful:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joyousjoy88 on 4/27/2013 3:57:00 PM more reviews by joyousjoy88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was pricey in my opinion. It's about $30 and fits several sized brushes. It's also great for storage or travel. It's intended for use to dry brushes quickly. The stretchy slots where you put your brushes into just feel like any garter material in my opinion. The rest of it is a faux leather or vinyl.

My reason for giving this a very low rating is that it has ruined some of my brushes!!
The reason why I bought this was so that I could dry my kabuki face brushes (sigma F80/F82). They take days to dry on their own. And this dry'n'shape claims to dry brushes in 4-6 hours. This was not the case for my really dense brushes. When I say ruin, I mean when my brushes were wet and fitted in to the slots the stretch slots actually pulled out all the hairs of my brushes! YES all the hairs! All the hairs came out out of the barrel of the F80! It was so upsetting! I had put the F80 into the largest slot in the dry'n'shape.

I do not think this is the best way to dry your brushes at all! When the hairs are wet they are very vulnerable and the tightness of the slots pull on the hair and can pull everything out! I did think it could have been a quality issue with the sigma brushes so I did try with a similar sephora brush and it did the exact same thing! So upsetting! I never want to use the dry'n'shape again and stick to the SAFE and old way of letting brushes dry. I cannot say this dries brushes quickly either. I only tried this on my dense brushes and they for sure did not take 6 hours to dry. I was afraid of ruining more brushes.

I gave this away and do not wish to think about this product ever. I believe because of my negative review that I will likely get a thumbs down, but I just want to share my experience to save other people's GOOD brushes from being ruined (and saving money is a bonus).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Parisa909 on 2/1/2013 8:29:00 AM more reviews by Parisa909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Does what it says. I've owned mine for over a year and a half and use it every time I wash my brushes. I stick them in the correct slot filling, put the roll upside down and in around 6-8 hours my brushes are totally dry. I love that it shapes the brushes too, another task crossed off my (neverending!) list.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlemj on 6/16/2012 1:38:00 PM more reviews by littlemj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first got this in swap, I ignored it for a few months and considered it unnecessary as a brush holder nor do I need it for travel. But once I tried it, I loved how it reshaped my brush hairs back into place and then I was sold.

I don't have anything to compare it too, it looks cheap w/ its pleather but noone is looking at it since it's only pulled out to dry my brushes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CdnSusen on 2/1/2012 4:42:00 PM more reviews by CdnSusen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

THIS IS THE BOMB!!! The Sigma Dry 'n' Shape looks professional and classy, which means I'm never ashamed to pull it out of my kit. Inside there's plenty of room for various brushes. It claims to dry even the densest brush in 6 hours, and it does just that. I wash my brushes at night, and the next morning even my thickest, densest brushes are perfectly shaped and ready to use. My one and only complaint is that there's really no spaces for eye brushes. That being said, eye brushes dry quickly anyhow, but it would be nice to have all my brushes in one case. I can't recommend this wonderful product highly enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lovekylie36 on 1/22/2012 9:56:00 AM more reviews by lovekylie36

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this is a great item and idea and brushes really do dry in 4-6hrs so they are ready to use by evening time or the next day! i love the packaging of this as others have commented on its faux leather feel is great! its weighty but that is not of great concern as mine just sits on the vanity. however, one point i do agree with is that the brush sizes are quite limited esp for the smaller brushes. i find that the smaller ones arnt tight enough for my smaller brushes yet too small for my shader brushes... overall a good item to have if u have an extensive brush collection and wash ur brushes regularly or if you are an avid brush user and constantly reapplying makeup this is great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 drbenzene on 1/5/2012 9:25:00 AM more reviews by drbenzene

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product for drying makeup brushes. The best part about this system is that the slots reshape your brushes while they dry because brushes will typically flare out after washing and become really misshapen! I find that to get my brushes to dry in the 4-6 hours as Sigma claims, I have to use the smallest slot possible that the brush will fit in...but this is also what the instructions say to do. If you squeeze it into a smaller slot, it will dry within this time frame!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Prncs06 on 12/19/2011 5:09:00 PM more reviews by Prncs06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like the concept of this product, however, I am not as impressed with the execution. Although there are 12 slots, and therefore seemingly enough slots for all of your make me up brush kit brushes, the sizes in the dry-and/shape do not correspond with that particular brush set as I had anticipated. I was hoping I could use it to wash and dry my make me blush kit, but there are more large slots than small, and no tiny slots for your small angled brushes, or other brushes of similar size.

Still, I like the product and I suppose slots for those smaller brushes aren't really necessary anyway, since they already dry quickly. Works well for the larger brushes, and dries them quickly, as promised!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nancygia on 12/5/2011 10:54:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I am glad someone else has posted a review of this, but I do not feel the same way. I find that there aren't enough slots for the brushes, and the slots do not vary in size enough to fit a lot of my brushes. In addition, despite Sigma's claim, the brushes do not dry in 4-6 hours. The drying time is the same as it is when you do not use the Dry n' Shape system.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aureliationg on 12/2/2011 1:55:00 AM more reviews by aureliationg

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I am sooo in love with this product. Before i used to have to lay my brushes out on towels with a bottle to prop it up so that the brush points slightly downwards so the water didn't flow back into the handle of the brushes, relaxing the glue that holds the bristles together.

It does what it says. Dries up brushes in up to 6 hours and keeps the shape of the brushes. I clip it backwards and stand it upright to allow the water to flow downwards away from the glue. The leather is of good quality and it isn't flopsy.

LOVE!!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Sigma products

More Misc Beauty Tools products