Clarins UV Plus HP Day Screen High Protection SPF 40

4.1

60 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 8.1%, Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Polyglyceryl-3, Polydimethylsiloxyethyl dimethicone, Corn starch modified, Alcohol, Aluminum hydroxide, Stearic acid, Sodium chloride, PEG/PPG-18/18 dimethicone, Phenoxyethanol, PEG/PPG-20/15 dimethicone, Tocopheryl acetate, Fragrance, Hydroxypropyltrimonium maltodextrin crosspolymer, disodium EDTA, butylene glycol, glycerin, pentalyne glycol, cucumis melo (melon) fruit extract, biosaccharide gum-4, thermus thermophillus ferment, lapsana communis flower/stem extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, potassium sorbate, rhodiola rosea root extract, sodium lauryl sulfate, benzyl salicylate, geraniol, citronellol, benzyl benzoate, butylphenyl methylpropional, hydrxyisohexyl 3-cyclohexene carboxaldehyde, limonene, hexyl cinnamal, linalool.


on 8/17/2015 5:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm one of those girls obsessed with sunscreens. I don't like to get darker so being protected is a must for me. I have sensitive, mild rosacea that needs good protection, and so I assumed that buying sunscreen from a department store that has a big brand name would be the easy answer.

I went to Sephora to ask what the most popular sunscreen is and she pointed to the lancome, clarins, and shiseido one. To me they all seemed like It would be packed full of bad stuff, but because of the high reviews, I bought the Clarins Uv plus day screen sun protection.

I wore it for 1.5 years, all that time I had congested skin but I thought it was related to something else in my routine. I was able to forego the horrible old lady perfume that this sunscreen has (Seriously, it is a terrible smell!) for good sun protection.

I believed that this did protect me from the sun, however I realized the fragrance, alcohol, and other ingredients were making my skin clog like crazy! After 1.5 years, I stopped wearing it and my skin is looking sooooo much better.

Now I use a drug store one that does not leave me with congested face. Now I know expensive premier brand doesn't mean better. What works for one person doesn't work for others.



on 7/30/2015 5:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

With my sensitive pale skin, prone to redness, I need daily spf. This doesn't break me out and honestly, that's enough for me. Leaves a terrible white cast in pics but works. No breakouts yet and have been using for 2 years.


on 4/13/2015 6:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Thanks for the recommendation MUA! It's a mineral screen so it should last without reapplying all day. I have sensitive, oily, acne prone skin and it's perfect. I'm in the UK where it has a pale pinky tint. It doesn't make me greasy/break out and gives a fab radiance under makeup. It seems to have a primer-esque effect that helps makeup last and slows down the oilies. Can manage without moisturiser when using this. The protection is really good as l've never burnt or reddened. The most that happens is a tight feeling around my nose/forehead after prolonged sunshine. I have a problem with prickly heat when using a normal sunscreen on my body but this never causes my skin to react. I'm so relieved to have found it.


on 4/13/2015 6:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The best


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I like this. I live in the south at the beach so I go through sunscreen like crazy. This is a bit on the liquidy side but it is soft and smooths out nicely. It's kind of moisturizing but I would still use my regular moisturizer before putting this on. I put this on before I left my house, got stuck in traffic for an hour and it still worked for 3 hours while I was at the lake. I got a lil red (not much) on my shoulders with Wal-mart sunblock (40 spf) and none on my face with this so it must be good. I will say that it did make my face a lil oily by the end of the day. Also it does kind of leave a sheer white film on you that will dry and flake a bit, so watch for that if you are trying to us this with makeup. I've learned to not ware anything but maybe eyeliner when going to the beach or going to be in a lot of hot sun though. Anyways, all in all this is pretty good stuff but a bit overpriced. you can get way cheaper sunblock anywhere, that really isn't much different in quality.


on 2/28/2015 7:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This sunscreen is excellent. It's a bit pricey but this little bottle lasted me for at least 4 months even though I apply it once a day. The formula is not too thick but not too liquid either. All in all, in my opinion, this sunscreen is pure perfection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 5:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great sunscreen. It's fabulous under my mineral powder foundation and has no adverse effects. However, the size of the bottle is too small and it's just too expensive to justify buying it again. I would rather purchase Neutrogena SPF50+ or La Roche Posay Anthelios 50+. They do the same job and are much cheaper.


on 1/27/2015 5:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Other

The product I'm reviewing is labeled slightly different from this one. It says BROAD SPECTRUM SPF 40 Titanium Dioxide Sunscreen Multi-Protection Anti-pollution/Oil-free. Anyway, I think it's the same one.

I got this suncreen as a sample from Clarins. It is the 3mL package which is very tiny, but it lasted me about 6 or 7 times, and I consider it pretty valuable when I looked up the price of it.

It's not waterproof which I'm ok with. The smell of it is very nice. The texture is watery, light, and non-greasy as it claims, so it is easy to apply. Did not irritate my skin or cause break out. However, it's not transparent. It might leave white marks on your face if you don't apply it evenly, and it happened to me sometimes because my skin color isn't that light.

Overall I recommend this product, although I won't buy it because it's way too pricey.


on 9/25/2014 10:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a great moisturizer with good level of UV/SPF protection. I love the texture of this product, milky and silky to the touch. Absorbs very quickly into skin. Does not love white cast as some SPF products can.

Did not cause break outs. I love this as much as my other choices for facial moisturizers with SPF: Peter Thomas Roth and Josie Maran. I will add this to my staple items.


on 8/31/2014 5:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Am I the only one who doesn't like this sunscreen? I purchased this a few years ago when I went backpacking and Turkey and Greece - the sun was unrelenting and even though I had this on, I still got so very dark. Admittedly, I should've taken more care in reapplying but upon closer inspection this sunscreen doesn't have any disclaimer about being waterproof/sweatproof so I guess it's my fault for not choosing a sunscreen with better protection. So take that as a heed of warning if you're planning to wear this out for an active day at the beach, or if you're planning to sweat!

Skip forward to present day, I still have the remainder of this sunscreen in my stash of products and every one in a while I would reach for it and use it as my protection for the day. I admit, it does glide on quite nicely, and has the consistency of Japanese sunscreeens. But it does leave a slight white cast, that doesn't really fade away on my olive skin. It doesn't leave me matte, but it doesn't leave my oily either. But the thing that really bothers me is that it balls up under my foundation, and doesn't sit well on top of my moisturizer.

I really wanted to love this after all the rave reviews here, but I guess it just wasn't for me and I won't be repurchasing.




Top Rated Clarins Products

image

Fix Make up

28 reviews
image

Double Fix

134 reviews
Back to Top