Maybelline • Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles • Concealers

rated 3.8(518 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ewon8413 on 10/28/2014 11:49:00 PM more reviews by ewon8413

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

When I had first got this, my impressions were:
#1: This offers no coverage.
#2: This doesn't blend at all.
#3: Cakes and creases me up like a dried up fish.
#4: Doesn't last at all, in fact, never has with the minimal coverage.

Honestly, I don't know if it's the product's "thing" to take a while to really set into the perfect concealer, because when I first got this, the consistency was too fluid and felt sticky within my fingertips, but as I stored it for about another three months before using again, it had left a completely different impression.

My mistakes, now reflecting back in which I would have corrected in hindsight when I was urgent for a concealer, were that I applied too much. I'm so prone to using too much of unfamiliar products, thinking that the product will be able to build highly and not only that, I did have poor lighting, which I still do (so I skip the hassling and go in front of my windows).

Now that I've used it for a while, I can accumulate the true functions of this concealer:
#1: Gives moderate coverage with a slightly matte powdered finish.
(covers all my under eye darkness, veins, and nose)
#2: Blends nicely.
(like said above, I used WAY too much)
#3: Minimal product is BEST.
#4: Lasts all day (10 hours) when powdered over top.
(Lioele's Sebum Catcher Pact is a good powder)
#5: Reapplications are not the most IDEAL.
(creases instantly after the second patting, but touching up on powder is fine)
#6: EXTREMELY LIGHTWEIGHT.

The packaging is honestly really cute and I like it. Skinny in its plastic form, it feels nice and secure in my fist like a pencil and I can easily draw circles around my eyes, nose, and if I feel like it, sharpen my eyebrows.
Others may scowl at the lacking sponge, but it feels refreshing around my face and yes, as unsanitary as it may be, I'm always washing my face prior to makeup application, so I don't image it to be THAT bad.
(Instant Lazy People Problem Fixed!)

#7: Using a shade darker, I image, would be convenient for natural contouring.
#8: Amazingly versatile, each shade in the range.

Colour I have is in "Light" and it's perfect for me. Originally, I had thought "Light Medium" would be best, but when I looked at the concealer through the clear acrylic, I had the mind for "Fair" but they only had one which was opened and tested through vigorously. With this, I had no choice but to choose "Light" which matches me and another face, close to 30 Beige in Chanel's range of Vitalumiere Aqua, stretching far and wide.

As for anything else, like the application, the claims of this product, and the "rubbing off clothes", I don't really have much of an answer for.
My hands flutter to my face occasionally, and never to my eyes or sides of my nose where my concealer is and even if I do, I do it very cautiously, knowing makeup is on my face, so I wouldn't say this rubs off when making contact with skin.

Personally, I love it.
It's cheap. It's claims are true. It works.

THIS WILL NOT BE GOOD FOR:
* drier eyes.
* hereditary dark circles.
* those with pink complexions.
* if you're looking for an "amazing" product.

Hoped this helped :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ulittlebeauty on 10/27/2014 4:40:00 AM more reviews by ulittlebeauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love love love this concealer! I use it for highlighting and it does it so well, but when I've had some spots where I highlight it has covered them perfectly just like my other concealers do! I have absolutely no complaints and I will always make sure I have this concealer in my makeup bag

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beachsexybronze on 10/26/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this stuff! It goes on very smooth, blendable, and lasts ALL day! I use the radiance bright colored one. This one seems to be in par with their dream lumi (the other one I actually love). This one, Dream lumi, and MAC pro longwear concealers are my HGs!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nigenasai on 10/25/2014 11:25:00 PM more reviews by nigenasai

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I feel like this product rather high lights than covers. I tried using this as a concealer as it's supposed to be in the darkest shade I could find, but it just makes my dark circles pop out even more; as if I put on like a wrong shade of foundation. instead I use this as a highlighter on my cheekbones and nose and eyebrows, etc; the n put some other highlighting powders over it. I've tried wearing it under and over my foundation hoping to make it work out for me, but it didn't. It was actually dissapointing because there were so many good review on it. This would probably work well on someone who is pale.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 breaktheattraction on 10/25/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by breaktheattraction

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

after hearing all the insane hype over this on youtube, i decided one day that i would go out and try it myself. since i had stopped using full coverage foundation that would usually cover all my imperfections anyway, i needed concealer for my pesky dark purple circles and blemishes. so i walked to my local drugstore, bought this, excitedly tried it on, and was instantly disappointed.

first off, the packaging is HORRIBLE. i absolutely LOATHE the sponge tip applicator that's impossible to clean and hard to control while applying the concealer to your face. since you can't clean it, this stuff gave me break outs like mad- and yes, i know you're not supposed to use under eye concealer on your blemishes, but i don't have the patience to apply two separate concealers everday. i like simplicity.

secondly, this stuff is disgustingly cakey- it creases like crazy under my eyes and makes my skin look fake and clumpy. i hate feeling this underneath my eyes because it's so thick- which is funny, because despite how thick this concealer is, it covers NOTHING. i have pretty bad dark circles admittedly, but i expected this to dull them down at least a little bit, but the concealer basically went on transparent. NO coverage no matter how many times you layer this crap.

lastly, the color selection for this product is horrible. i have really pale skin and the lightest shade was still to dark for me even when i was tan. i found it had more pink undertones than yellow (which is used in under eye concealers to cancel out purple) so this did absolutely nothing for my dark circles except make the underneath of my eyes look a different shade of skin. lame.

i'm trying to think of good things about this product but nothing is coming to mind- it sucks. complete waste of 10 bucks. i will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 suzzily on 10/17/2014 6:43:00 AM more reviews by suzzily

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Pros
- nice thin consistency that is not sticky, blends well
- does not crease (with 1 layer)
- stays on all day with setting powder & no primer
- great price

Cons
- coverage isn't the best, when layered colour match changes (I use 'light' and with a second layer the yellow base came through too much and did not match the rest of my face)
- packaging is annoying, breaks with no apparent accident and the cap gets dirty very easily

Overall, it's a cheap concealer that does not crease under my eyes (which is pretty rare for me), blends out nicely and does an acceptable job making my face look brighter. It doesn't completely cover my dark circles but I do look significantly more awake after applying it. Will repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zmg on 10/14/2014 2:08:00 PM more reviews by zmg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

HG, and I've tried a range of department store alternatives as well. Everything pales in comparison. I have that hereditary BLUE under eyes issue that makes me look like something out of the Walking Dead if I lack sleep as well. However, I would say BLEND well, 'cause it'll show up in photos if you don't. 4 lippies for packaging because 1/5 tubes I've used ended up breaking on the first two use. It was actually the first one I purchased that didn't work, but I took the sponge top off and drained it into an old MAC sample container - still worked well enough to keep me repurchasing. After foundation, I set with Laura Mercier undercover powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupjunkie518 on 10/14/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by makeupjunkie518

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this concealer as i am always in search for a concealer will cover up my hereditary dark circles which are really bad. The products i use are mostly drugstore because i just wont spend money on high end products, so i decided i would try out this concealer which is drugstore that ive seen many people rant about. I was so amazed with the amount of coverage that this gives! (however it does tend to crease) I find that its best to blend this out with your fingers as it gives a more natural finish. I have been using this concealer for about a year and i can honestly say its my holy grail concealer. It really last you a long time

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* samiiyo on 9/30/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by samiiyo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried higher end undereye concealers and they work fine, but this is much cheaper and works just as well! It gives a nice brightened look, but it doesn't look overly brightened. The sponge is a little weird and seems unhygienic since you're using it for quite a while as this stuff lasts for a long time.
I do find that this creases a bit under my eye even with a primer and setting powder, but that's true of every undereye concealer that I've ever used...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MBROOKS425 on 9/18/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by MBROOKS425

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am pleasantly surprised that I love this under eye concealer! I have bought every concealer for under eyes from Mac, Estee Lauder, Laura Mercier, Nars, Lancome.. you name it! I have dark under eye circles and am always on the hunt for a good concealer to help me. This is one of my top 2 under eye concealers now. My #1 is Mac Prolong Wear - that stuff is awesome, but some days you don't feel like wearing a lot under the eyes. This concealer has a little less coverage than the Mac's Pro Long Wear but it still offers pretty darn great coverage for my under eyes, is creamy and looks/feels light and more natural. For reference, I have olive mediuim skin with yellow undertones (NC30) and I bought this in the Neutralizer shade. The formula also blends well and is not cakey. I think the concealer lasts decently for most of my 8 hour office workday. The Pro Long Wear will last ALL day til the very end, but once again that is a heavier duty concealer. I did not think I would ever find a drugstore concealer that did a decent enough job for my under eyes... very happy with it and I would re-purchase. I will probably use this for my everyday work days, and the pro long wear when I am going out. I would definitely recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Concealers products