Dior Diorskin Forever Flawless Fusion Compact

3.4

30 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

octinoxate (ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate) 5.99%. titanium dioxide .54%. boron nitride. mica. synthetic fluorphlogophite.silica.talc.cellulose.dimethiccone. trimethyl pentaphenyl. trisiloxane.hydrogenated polysobutene.neopentyl glycol diethylhexanoate. phenoxythanol. acrylates/stearyl acrylate/dimethicone methacrylate copolymer. declyoxazolidinone. disostearyl malate.isopropyl titanium trisostearate.sodium dehydroacetate. caprylyl glycol. aluminum hydroxide. sodium lauroyl aspartate. aqua.zinc chloride.butylene glycol.bht. algin.acacia senegal gum. malva sylvestris (mallow) extract. carbomer. serine.sodium stearate.ateocollagen.zinc gluconate. sodium hyaluronate. sodium chloride


on 7/11/2015 9:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is the one of the most horrible powder foundations I ever tried. I live in Hong Kong. The weather here is warm and humid. Every time I used this powder and wore sunglasses after taking them away I saw horrible powder strokes. (It's good if I saw mirror before people saw me, otherwise the most carrying person would point me out that I have makeup malfunction). Even if I put sunglasses for only 5-10 minutes this foundation was moving. It never happen to me with any other product I used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/2/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

$52 USD. I wear MAC NC20/C2 and purchased this in Linen #21. I think this is closer to MAC C3 than C2, as it's just a tiny bit darker than I'd like. It has true yellow-undertone and the difference isn't too noticeable. The coverage is light to medium, if you use a brush and use a light hand. If you use a sponge, the coverage is medium to heavy. Texture is very velvety matte, closer to the Asian dual-finish powders. If you're used to HD powders, this will appear coarse to you, but it's actually very finely milled, as compared to MAC Studio powder. If you have used the DiorSnow powder foundation, this one is not as drying and seems heavier (maybe more oil?). You won't regret buying this - if you can find a good color match. If you're pale Asian with yellow-undertones, #21 is the lightest you can get - the #10 (Ivory) and #20 (Light Beige) are way too pink.

At the moment, I haven't committed to a particular foundation or powder and have about ten different products in circulation. Over the years, though, I've come back again and again to Dior (if I can find the right color match), because of the coverage and texture of their powder foundations. My main gripe with Dior is that their color selection isn't consistent and the tones will change often - even within the same product line!. The #10 (Ivory) Forever powder foundation years ago had slight yellow undertones but recently added more pink tone. The #21 was a much darker color in years past but now suddenly, it's much lighter. For this reason, I always have to shop around after having fallen in love with a Dior foundation - only to discover the new batch has a totally different tone. So annoying and why I can't give 5 lippies to a Dior foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2015 7:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Nice everyday powder to even out skin tone. Matches my skin well and doesn't look like I'm wearing much Makeup. I prefer to use this on top of my liquid foundation rather than on its own. Nice and silky finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2014 2:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

It's difficult for me to find lighter shades of powder in yellow-based, yet natural looking shades (with the exception of MAC, which has some good options). When I saw this for the first time, I immediately purchased it without even trying it on my skin or anything. Luckily, it was perfect! I use this in the shade #21 Linen (a light beige, with yellow undertones) and for reference I have warm, yellow undertones and wear an NC20 in MAC (or in other brands: Tarte Amazonian Clay In Light-Medium Sand, GA Luminous Silk in 4.5, Revlon ColorStay in #180 Sand Beige, Missha Perfect Cover in #2, NARS The Radiant Cream foundation in Fiji). The powder has an SPF25/PA++ with titanium dioxide 0.54%, and octinoxate 5.99% - but I wouldn't recommend relying on this as your sole SPF product (otherwise you'd have to cake this on thick and all over your face - not good).

The compact is nice, easy to travel with and has a mirror and sponge included (which I don't use and recommend tossing or only using for touch-ups) and magnetic closure. It feels like silk on skin, very fine and soft. The coverage is light to medium and I usually use this after dabbing some concealer under my eyes when I don't want to wear liquid foundations or BB creams. I use a large, fluffy powder brush - but of course you can use a sponge or buffing brush for more coverage. The finish is natural, matte but not dry or dull-looking. I love that it doesn't dry out my skin or look cakey either. Because it is so smooth and velvety, I'm able to use this even under my eyes to blur under eye circles, or to set concealers and any cover up any redness around my nose. It keeps my skin matte and flawless for around 5 hours before I have to touch up/blot my t-zone due to some oiliness. On my cheeks and drier areas the powder lasts through an entire work day for me and adheres well to skin with or without primer - although I prefer not to use primers and just an SPF cream or antioxidant serum works best for me.

Cons: No refills available in US, Cda (packaging states refills are available everywhere except the Americas). Why is that?! I wish refills were available, because I hate tossing the compact each time when buying a new one. Also, the price is up there for the amount ($49 for 10g/0.35oz) but it's Dior so not a surprise.

Repurchase/Recommend? Yes, although the shades are somewhat limited (I think only 10 shades when I bought this) if you can find a match, it's a great powder. I will/do repurchase but may end up switching to Shiseido (*if* it works just as well on my skin) at some point due to the refill issue.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2014 2:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have skin that can be difficult, overly oily in certain areas and dry in others. It didnt get that way until I was over 30. This powder did not sit well, I felt it looked cakey if you tried to build it. I used with and without a primer and I'd get the same result. I ended up trying and returning a few others. If you have rather difficult skin like me I'd suggest the MUFE Pro Finish pressed powder- they have a ton of colors and it wears perfectly!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/7/2013 12:27:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Silver, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

After another epic search for a powder foundation, I settled on Dior's Fusion Compact. The Cameo 022 proved the best color match for my cool, medium-fair skin. This foundation is more suitable for those with normal to slightly dry skin and provides light coverage that evens out the skin tone. It applies smoothly without becoming heavy or caked. No oxidation so far. I prefer using cream blush over this foundation since I have mature, dry skin.

Packaging is Dior elegant. Powder is housed in a quality compact with a velvet pouch. Also purchased Dior's Hydra Light Lotion SPF 15 to apply underneath the foundation for hydration, slip and additional SPF, but I returned it since I prefer a true moisturizer.

I use this as an everyday foundation and feel this is better quality powder foundation than Lancome's Dual Phase, Laura Mercier, Armani, or the liquid Clarins Everlasting SPF 15 (all these foundations did not perform well on my mature skin based on the samples worn).

As an alternate to Dior Fusion Compact, if you have yellow or beige undertones, give Shiseido Smoothing Powder Foundation a try. It "was" my HG (but no color match), and hands down the best out there at $32.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Aye caramba, I should know better than to make an impulse buy without consulting MUA first.

I picked this up because I was feeling the need for some retail therapy. Big mistake. I broke out overnight after using this compact foundation for the first time. To be fair, the color match was perfecto on me and the reason I pulled the trigger.

Once I got it home I realized the finish was meh at best and needed several layers to build to medium coverage. Upon rising the morning after my first wear I spotted clogs. I was a bit concerned but decided to try it again just to make certain it was the product. Today I woke up with 3 pimples all in non-break out areas.

Back to Sephora it went.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2013 11:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I used this foundation in shade 030 Medium Beige. I have normal skin type. I apply this foundation with the sponge for medium coverage that I like. I think that it's a good foundation for me, but not my favorite still good though. I think everyone can't very say it good for themselves and it will be good foundation for others. Everyone have different skin type and different sensitivities. Your skin will decided for you. I prefer powder over liquid. I have try a lot of brands. I still love Shiseido sheer matifying compact foundation and clarins everlast compact foundation. The reason that I give a 4 stars due to I wish it have more yellow tone. I think that Dior make more neutral and cool tone. It match me close enough but lack of yellow tone. This is still a good powder. Update: 01-19-2014 , One of my close friend have use this powder in 020 Light Beige for 2 years now and love it she never used other powder at all.


on 4/19/2013 5:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Summary: I purchased this on a whim and am very pleased with this product. The finish is very natural, and though this is a pressed powder the coverage is very good in comparison to many other pressed powders. I use this during the summer over concealer when it gets insanely hot where I live and liquid foundation is not an option. I love the packaging, it looks so nice and the velvet pouch that it comes in is mediocre (in comparison to Chanel and Burberry). My one complaint is not about the formula but the closure on the packaging. Though the packaging is very beautiful, it has a magnetic closure which in my opinion is inferior to snap closures because it seems though it could come lose more easily (though if you keep it in the velvet pouch while on the go it should be okay).

Pros: good coverage, nice packaging, comes with a velvet pouch, convenient to travel with

Cons: wish it didn't have a magnetic closure, misleading packaging (though this shouldn't matter because many Dior products are not refillable, the way the packaging is designed it appears to be refillable)

Overall Verdict: I will repurchase this! This product is a must have for me in the summer. I am so pleasantly surprised with the coverage it gives despite being a powder compact.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought that this product was of good quality but it made my nose look very dry and made my nose look like it had dry patches. Also, my Clinique bronzer wouldn't go on at all. I have no idea why.. perhaps the powder is resistant to the Clinique bronzer? Maybe it's because the Dior foundation is so matte that it wouldn't allow the powder bronzer to settle in. Also, the powder foundation didn't last as long as I thought it would have, compared to it's price point. I hit pan on it, in less than a month. OTHER than that, it's an amazing product. It's definitely a lot better than MAC foundations (which makes you look either cakey or oily around the T-zone - I felt.) Also, I felt that this foundation was better than the Chanel Aqualumiere liquid foundation, which made my nose very oily, just after 3 hours (Maybe because it was a liquid foundation though.). Chanel VS Dior, just letting you guys know.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top