TheBalm • Cheater • Mascara

rated 3.8(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 10/12/2013 2:34:00 PM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

What? People actually like this?!
This does nothing for my lashes (with ok length and fullness).
The wand is one of those "typical" mascara wands, not rubbery, just a classic meh mascara wand. The formulation is quite dry, so this won't last you very long, and means building this up is a no-no. The colour is not as jet black as I would like.
The effect it gives is, some would say "natural". I would say "crap". Natural would mean still defining my lashes and making them nice and curly, like a sort of my-lashes-but-better effect. Not with this mascara! No curl (and mascaras generally hold a good curl on me!), barely any definition, no volume or length. At least it doesn't clump my lashes together, but that's the only good thing I can say about this one.
I suppose to each its own, but in the bin this goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz48170 on 9/14/2013 8:43:00 PM more reviews by liz48170

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a TOP NOTCH mascara. It is a softer look, but you can build it up if you want to.

The only reason I would not run out and re purchase is price; I am trying to get into the lower cost Mascaras to save some $$$ as you throw away this every few months and hardly use much of the product

The want is great - gives a nice feathery soft look

Dark black -- not overpowering

No spider lashes ...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bronteisabella on 3/26/2013 4:52:00 PM more reviews by bronteisabella

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in thebalm "Oh So Witty!" set and I love it! It isn't a real heavy mascara, so like other reviews say it is great for daytime because it looks more natural than a "volumizing, lengthening" mascara. I have other mascaras for those purposes. And it doesn't clump!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Aishteru85 on 1/5/2013 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Aishteru85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a mediocre mascara for me, gave my Asian-thin sparse medium length lashes a good definition. It separates my lashes well but gets clumpy after two coats. The formula isnt too wet nor too dry. Gives a slightly added volume for a natural look. Smudges badly on my oily lids after 5 hours. I prefer mascara that gives me vavavoom lashes, this isnt it. Finishing the tube and will not be buying again. I prefer my Rimmel Volume Effect Mascara much much much better and that one is dirt cheap...Will I recommend? Unless you have non-oily lids and are looking for natural lash-effect, look elsewhere..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bexidaisy on 1/1/2013 8:29:00 PM more reviews by bexidaisy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product as a daytime mascara, or as a 'base' for a much heavier one to be applied too.

This doesn't clump at all, and in two coats it looks very nice with a natural eye for work or school or shopping.

It isn't dramatic enough for me to wear at night time, however, because it doesn't clump at all, it is the perfect base for my heavier mascaras, like diorshow, lights camera lashes and YSL shocking. It really helps them with clumping issues and makes them last longer.

The packaging is okay, but the paper sticker is peeling off which is irritating.

Overall, I would buy this again, and I plan on repurchasing this when I next see it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Kfunk on 8/3/2012 8:40:00 AM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the worst mascaras I've ever tried. I've been using it a few days and it's going in the trash. The brush is awful and does not coat my lashes with hardly any product and added no length or volume. Others have compared this to Maybelline Full N Soft which I completely disagree with as Full N Soft is one of my all time favorite mascaras.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 brandi9689 on 7/12/2012 5:07:00 PM more reviews by brandi9689

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Like everyone else, this mascara was included in a kit I purchased from Marshalls. I am sad to say that I am not a fan of this mascara. The brush is really big and hard to work with. Also, the mascara dries really quick so you have to work fast if you want to apply more than coat. All the other Balm products I have tried were awesome but this was one was sadly disappointing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cailee on 6/26/2012 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Cailee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an okay mascara. I'm a sucker for anything by this brand, and was hoping to love this. I found this in a set at TJMaxx, including a makeup remover balm tin and two eyeshadows. The set was $12, I believe? I have to give them MAJOR props on the packaging execution, though, because it is too stinkin' adorable! It's Old-Hollywood glam-style art all around the tube.

*Ahem* now, on to the actual review, yes? Ok, I find this to be a drier formulated mascara, which I do like, but there's not much time for more than two coats, because this dries so quickly on the lashes when applied. So you do have to work fast if you want to build up more coats, which is unusual for me. It gives good, clean definition, and makes my lashes look nice, glossy and black. But, separation of lashes could be better.... Amount of length with this could be a little better.... Amount of volume with this could be WAYYY better. So basically, everything could be better. There's just not enough impact for me. I'm not saying it's bad, but I just prefer my trusty $5 L'Oreal Voluminous Carbon Black. Nothing compares to it.
I wear glasses, and 'Cheater' doesn't clump, flake, or smudge at all on me. It holds a curl quite well, and my lashes don't look or feel lopsided or brittle as it wears. No spider-lash effect with this either, so big ups to that. The brush is very basic, nothing special. Overall, not a product to write home about, but still a nice natural-looking mascara to use if you're wanting the focus to be on the artwork on your eyelids, and not having the distraction of a full, thick fringe of lashes hiding it. :) I'll give it a 3.5.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeMinx on 6/24/2012 6:27:00 PM more reviews by LeMinx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had seen TheBalm brand at various Marshalls and TJ Maxx stores but didn't really think much of it. Truth be told, none of brand's products I've seen at the store have appealed to me (sparkly green eyeshadow? Ummm, no thanks). After reading the rave reviews about Cheater mascara here, I decided to keep my eye out for it the next time I went to Marshalls.

After quite a lengthy search on the disorganized stores shelves, I finally found the mascara. Unfortunately, it was included in a kit which contained three different products I knew I would never, ever use (blue-green glitter eyeshadow, booger green nail polish and some sort of greasy, balm eye makeup remover). Thankfully the kit itself was only about $7 so I grabbed it. I tossed the other products and tried the mascara the very next day.

Needless to say, I was not impressed by the performance of it. While this mascara isn't totally bad, it just doesn't deliver on the length or volume front AT ALL. It's not on the level of the horrid Great Lash, but it's not along the lines of say DiorShow. I'm one of those gals who need mascara and eyeliner to look alive and with Cheater it looks like I'm wearing nothing at all even if I apply three to four coats.

On the plus side, despite this not being waterproof it doesn't run or flake even if you have oily lids. I wouldn't buy this again because it just doesn't do much for me. I need a mascara that actually makes its presence known and Cheater just doesn't do that.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 smatte77 on 6/7/2012 11:32:00 AM more reviews by smatte77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

Here's the lowdown on this mascara. It does what it claims to do. However, while the formula is great, the brush is not (at least IMO).

The formula reminds me of my beloved Kat Von D's High Frequency mascara (discontinued, LE SAD!). Like Kat's, The Balm's Cheater mascara is super dense black, it's creamy and thick, holds curl, volumizes, lengthens, and it dries quickly. These are all musts for me in a mascara. However, I like to get into every 'nook and cranny' where lashes are concerned, and the brush is on the larger side so I do find that hard to accomplish with this brush.

I find it's pretty close to Jordana's Best Lash Extreme mascara (great mascara and a steal for $2.99 a tube). This morning I took an old brush from a tube of BLE, cleaned it and used it to apply Cheater and it worked SO much better.

Doubt I'll buy again just b/c I can get pretty much the same results with Jordana's without the extra $$$ and the inconvenience of switching the brushes (the Jordana brush is too long to have a permanent home in the Cheater tube).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More TheBalm products

More Mascara products