L'Oreal • Mythic Oil • Styling Products

rated 4.0(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Hollyberry8909 on 3/4/2014 4:03:00 AM more reviews by Hollyberry8909

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

absolutely love this! makes my hair super soft!! and i mean super soft! put it in towel dry hair, blow dry.. amazing results. will def buy again. and lasts forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elusivelotus on 2/24/2014 6:25:00 AM more reviews by elusivelotus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have the Rich version of this. I love it! I normally use Paul Mitchell Skinny serum but it's so expensive where I am. I use this when I use my curling iron as a heat protectant and it gives a beautiful shine to my hair. It smells great as well. I like the plastic pump bottle and the secure cap - perfect for travelling. I bought this for SGD20 which is affordable IMO.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lollsazz on 2/15/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by lollsazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are two versions of this one: I have the newest one, which I believe is richer than the original

I like this :) It has a flowery smell - it smells a little like lilac and jasmine to me - flower bushes. At first, I didn't like this oil much - it made my hair heavier, coarse and oily. That was because I used it on dry hair. When this is used on dry hair, it doesn't absorb well, but if you put it in moist/damp/towel-dry hair, the result is much better. My hair is straight, medium thickness, a little damaged (coloured many, many times, but it's doing well, with no split ends), about waist-length. This oil doesn't weigh my hair down - it actually makes it bouncy! My hair becomes more manageable, softer and slightly more shiny :) I use about 2 pumps each time and use, it from neck and down, focusing on the ends.

Hair oils I have tried that are equally good or better are: Agadir Hair Oil (many might not like the smell - it's kinda insence-y) and Define Oil Treatment. One more that I have tried is the Aquage Silkening Hair Oil - a lot of people love it, but it didn't do anything for me besides making my hair more static.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mininana on 1/26/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by mininana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this oil! The only reason why I won't purchase again is that I feel coconut oil is BETTER. Yes extra virgin coconut oil.

I use two/three pumps of this mythic oil to my damp hair and finish off with coconut oil. I do like how soft my hair feels after this, but I don't feel the hair is getting nourishes INSIDE OUT, unlike with coconut oil.

Anyway, I do like it but I do not plan to purchasing again because of the price. I'd much rather get more jars of coconut oil!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 laursawy on 1/18/2014 10:15:00 AM more reviews by laursawy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This oil is literally mythic. I love this stuff. I got it at Christmas in a set with L'Oreal vitamino conditioner and shampoo. I never saw the use in hair oils. I have really dry ends and oily roots, and had tried the garnier dry oil previously to help the ends of my hair. It weighed it down and made it really heavy and greasy. So I kinda felt burned by the hair oil industry and kinda stayed away. Until I got this oil at Christmas. The packaging immediately caught my eye (I looooove gold). The pump is incredible, really easy to dispense how much I need. And the smell! Jesus the smell, like roses and other pretty flowers. Everyone always comments on how pretty my hair smells when I have this in. What it does to my hair is even more awesome! I like to put this in my damp hair, just at the ends! (I'm terrified to put it on my roots, oil paranoia). And as I style my hair I get light, bouncy, shiny soft waves! Or stick straight soft hair. The avocado and grapeseed oil in this soften and add shine without weight. Love this stuff. Dunno if I would buy again, cus I got it as a gift and I'm not really a big spender :-x. But I will use it til the last drop is gone

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nosage on 11/2/2013 4:37:00 PM more reviews by Nosage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Not wowed by this, but then I have tried the Keratese Elixir and Shu Umeura Oil as well with the same results. I just don't like the feel of them on my hair. It leaves my hair a bit lank and not particularly well conditioned. I think the main problem is that I have natural blonde hair and these oils make my hair look dull and darker. Give me a lightweight mask any day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FelisCatus on 8/20/2013 5:03:00 PM more reviews by FelisCatus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

It nourishes the hair but it doesn't make it look good.It makes the hair too shiny so on a daylight it looks greasy.I use it as an overnight treatment and after washing in the morning hair it's soft and curls look a bit more defined.Not the best oil on the market,I wouldn't buy it again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laureg on 8/12/2013 2:18:00 PM more reviews by laureg

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I liked this product. It has a great smell, and makes my hair soft and shiny. I have to say, though, after trying many different hair oils, I keep going back to the Kerastase Elixir Ultime as the gold standard. The Mythic Oil is comparable in price to the Kerastase (and they're both made by the same parent company L'Oreal), but seems to be a tad more (dare I say) silicone-y? On my hair, the Kerastase is more hydrating and gives my hair more shine. All in all, the Mythic Oil's a decent product, but if you're spending the money anyways- I'd recommend the Kerastase instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cocoacloud on 8/1/2013 6:06:00 AM more reviews by cocoacloud

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm a big fan of leave in conditioners/hair oils - basically anything that can allow me to save time in the shower is my best friend. I've tried a range of leave in hair products from Kiehl's, Giovanni, Moroccan Oil, Sebastien and Phyto over the years, and I have to say I quite like L'Oreal's Mythic Oil.

There's 3 different Mythic Oils you can get to suit your hair - Original, Rich and Colour Glow. I got the Colour Glow one as my hair is dyed a shade of chocolate brown. The packaging is very nice - I love it when the bottle is transparent so you can see how much you've used up. The pump is also convenient, and this stuff lasts forever! I've used this daily for about 3 months and it hasn't moved much.

I can't comment too much on how much it protects my hair colour (as my hair is dyed so, but I can say that my hair is left looking radiant... and this stuff smells AMAZING and the smell lasts through the day. It kind of smells like musky roses. It definitely is non-greasy and very fuss-free. I usually warm up about 1-2 pumps in the palms of my hands and then distribute it on the ends of my towel dried medium length hair, before working it through each strand.


I wouldn't say that it's HG status though - I have yet to find a perfect hair oil. But I can say that this is a VERY nice product. I'm not sure if I would purchase it again as I would like to try out other things, but I do know that I will use this bottle to every last drop. Perhaps next time I'll try out their "rich" version as my hair is quite dry and frizzes during summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 madhat on 7/1/2013 11:59:00 AM more reviews by madhat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I think I came from another planet.Two hairdressers that happen to be my friends convinced me to use this in order to reconstruct my tired hair.I made the mistake to purchase it and it's like i use water.No protection against heat/brushing/anything.At the end of the first month i used it(i washed my hair everyday applying a really good hair mask at the end for at least 15' and this oil before drying my hair),my split ends were worse than ever.No silky/smooth hair,no nothing.One day i visited my cousin(with frizzy hair) and i saw the same product in her bathroom.I asked if she had better results and she said the very same thing-zero effectiveness.Except for this,a friend of mine who also bought it(much promotion by hairdressers!)was really disappointed.I come here to protect your dollars and find out so many girls are pretty satisfied by that!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Styling Products products