Essie • Bobbing for Baubles • Polishes

rated 4.5(28 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 BADKITTY13 on 2/4/2014 11:27:00 PM more reviews by BADKITTY13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty color...kind of a really dark blue with a hint if grey. Great for fall/ winter. Glides on pretty smooth and wears well. Nice change rather that super vampy dark. Not my top favorite but its a keeper I tend to like dark grey more that blue so I will stick to cashmere bathrobe which is a bit lighter and leans more grey.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beachesatnormandy on 10/28/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by beachesatnormandy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had been lemming this polish from the moment I had spotted it on pinterest. My friend and I had been stalking our local stores for when it would come into stock. However, just how when you're lemming a certain lipstick shade and you can find every other solitary color ever made by that brand but the one you want, I had no luck. Then I went to a local nail supply and was pawing through some on sale essie colors. It was like the sky had opened and the light had guided me directly to this polish. I was SO excited.

It was a perfect color for fall, and I for the life of me could not find any color by any other brand that was this shade. I would call it a dark - grey/blue. This color goes perfectly with my NW 20-25 skin. It doesn't look dirty or washed out, simply the perfect fall neutral color. Sadly the formula went on like absolute crap for me. It was streaky and I had trouble covering certain parts of my nail. The brush had a mind of its own! I own a ton of Essie polishes, and the formula normally isn't the greatest but this was far subpar. I wrapped my tips, and did two coats with a Seche topcoat. Nail are already chipping 12 hours later.

Until I can find another polish that is anywhere near this shade, I will stick with it. But as soon as I do I will gladly get rid of this polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Susee on 10/11/2013 8:51:00 PM more reviews by Susee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a hard-core OPI fan, but Essie has been winning me over lately. The price of the polish is not cheap at $8 a bottle, but usually I can find deals and use coupons at Ulta. I love the bottle shape. Bobbing for baubles is a chic and sophisticated very, very dark navy with just a hint of grey and no purple undertones; it looks much darker on nails than in the bottle. It's a creme with no shimmer or glitter. Application is really smooth with no streaks at all~almost a one coater but I used two to make sure coverage was totally even, and dry time is fast. Gorgeous!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 9/24/2013 8:39:00 PM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very modern and wearable neutral steel blue navy shade - not quite black and not as harsh as black but still definitely grey blue. A very weird shade but quite flattering on my warm yet super pale complexion this may clash with a rosy undertoned complexion and you may fare better with a brighter more true blue like Revlon's Royal for example which is gorgeous but looked terrible on my colouring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 7/24/2013 5:16:00 AM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had been craving a real almost black navy for my toes, but passed up on this shade because it does not look really dark in the bottle. Then, at my manicurist's, another client had it on her toes. It's exactly what I was looking for. On my very fair skin, it looks almost black. The coverage is very creamy, thicker than most Essie polishes. I only wear dark on my toes, so I can't comment on how well it will last on hands. IMO, this is a great summer toes shade. While everyone else is wearing pastels and corals and turquoise, I feel it gives me a sophisticated look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jessiqka on 5/9/2013 3:18:00 AM more reviews by Jessiqka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Let me start off by saying I am NOT a blue person at ALL, but this is my one exception. I wore it on my toes the other day with gold sandals, and I couldn't stop staring at how amazing the contrast was. The rich navy color is sophisticated, and classic. It is the only way to wear blue without looking like Ke$ha, unless that is the look you are going for. I would even go so far as to say it could be worn in a professional environment. I love how expensive it looks too. Just in love, and I can't wait to see what other metallics I can pair it with.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joanne150406 on 5/2/2013 7:40:00 AM more reviews by joanne150406

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking for a non shimmery navy nail polish for ages and this is it! I just had to get it when I saw it. This is one of my first Essie nail polishes and it applied like a dream. I only had to do one thickish coat and that was it! I was so surprised - I am in love already :) I had been considering other similar shades by opi etc but this is fantastic. I got it for AUD$6 because its from an older range so it was discounted so it was pretty reasonable. I've fallen in love with dark colours (not your typical blacks) ever since using OPI Lincoln park after dark and honk if you love OPI, and this is such a great classy colour to add to my collection. So so happy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Picon08 on 2/10/2013 2:13:00 AM more reviews by Picon08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This polish is a hard to describe color - but here goes: a smokey dark indigo that leans more navy. It is also one of those polishes that slightly changes depending on the light. A perfect color for the colder months. Very nicely pigmented and goes on relatively easily - only needs one thick coat at most. A definite re-buy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kirbipittman on 2/3/2013 9:01:00 PM more reviews by kirbipittman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it, but too dark. Formula is great- two coats is perfect. I wish it were just a tad bit lighter so you could see more of the blue when in indoor lighting.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Hannaroberts on 11/19/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by Hannaroberts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a very dark navy/sapphire colour with hints of grey, a more suited colour for Winter/Autumn months. Usually, with my fair complexion I don't like colours which contrast my skin tone, but I find this colour not too harsh, anyway I love this shade regardless. The blue is a very classic colour and has a sophisticated feel. I applied 3 coats (first thin, two medium), but it goes opaque after just two coats. I also applied OPI top coat, and it lasted 6 or so days without chipping- impressive! The next time I applied it without any top coat, and had very minimal chipping after 3-4 days. This is definitely up there with my favourite nail colours! I found this polish was on sale for $4 (5ml) which I couldn' resist and I'm so glad I purchased it! I really like the mini bottle too, it is nice to hold and the brush is smaller which I find easier to achieve a perfect paint job.
For full reviews, photos and more see:
http://pinkdalilah.blogspot.co.nz/2012/11/essie-bobbing-for-baubles-swatch-review.html

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products