Jacques Fath - Fath de Fath

3.3

9 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/1/2014 12:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fath de Fath Jacques Fath for women is one of the finest fruit-topped fragrances I've ever owned.

I'm not sure why others are comparing it to something as simple as canned peaches. It's much too sophisticated and multi-faceted for that.

Fath de Fath is a luscious, velvety, cognac-colored elixir that sparkles with currants, plums, and citrus. Its heart blossoms with tender tuberose, heliotrope, rose, and orange blossom. I was very surprised that I could love a fragrance that contains orange blossom, because it's a note I normally cannot tolerate.

I think Fath de Fath must be expertly crafted with high quality ingredients. It's just so beautifully balanced.

The sweetness is countered by the floral bouquet and the base of amber, tonka bean, patchouli, musk, vanilla, cedar and benzoin. Although, the musk is very subtle.

Fath de Fath is a real gem in an elegant bottle. It strikes me as a modern and unique scent. I find it hard to believe it was launched in the 1950s.



on 1/23/2013 7:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have a bottle a vintage Fath de Fath; however, it is not a green fragrance, more of a fruity oriental, so I don't know how old it is. The juice itself is very dark and thickened. I like it, but am not into the fruity notes enough to repurchase. It does have a fizzy quality to it like someone else mentioned.


on 6/4/2012 7:15:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Remindes me on Van Cleef van Cleef, but much stronger than that.


on 5/1/2011 12:03:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have this fragrance in extrait - quite serious floriental, a tad too sharp to my nose, but it is actually growing on me despite that. It reminds me a lot of the original formulation of Poeme. Great lasting power, elegant bottle.


on 9/3/2010 4:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is for a vintage (70's) version. I'd call this a floriental; I don't get much, if any, fruit from it. Perhaps the fruity notes were added in later versions (or I just can't smell! :-) ). I get a woodsy floral with very predominant vanilla in the ambery woody drydown. This is a warm floral with retro charm. Yes, it is powdery-- to the same degree Chanel No. 18 is powdery as opposed to Lorenzo Villoresi Teint de Neige or one of the Loukhoums popular this past decade. It's easy to believe this was created in the 50's; it definitely has that very feminine feel to it. Very charming, but not for everyone. Also not one to overapply; it's very strong.


on 1/30/2009 3:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

A heavily fruity oriental over an old-style base, almost reminiscent of a Jean Patou. Both familiar and alien at the same time. It lacks the ashy weight of most orientals on my skin, having a creamy cedar base instead for the fruity notes to ride over. An evening scent definitely and interesting. Strange that something so oriental would at the same time be so different from the majority of orientals.


on 9/18/2008 12:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love orientals and I definitely love this one too. Just an overall good, warm, spicy, fizzy oriental.....not old-ladyish in the slightest.


on 4/29/2008 1:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It's really fruity...reminds me of fruit rollups at first. Then there's something pretty and floral...I think it's Jasmine? The base is really oriental and it's kind of just too much... for me anyway. It has a weird pugent smell too. Interesting but not exactly in a good way.


on 9/26/2002 11:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Originally launched in 1953 and re-launched in 1994, Fath de Fath is a powdery Oriental that begins with a fruit accord of peach, plum, mandarin and cassis. There is a distinct green note as a blend of jasmine, tuberose, and orange blossom take over. If the fragrance could have stayed like this for a while, I might have liked it. But unfortunately, the voluptuous floral notes evaporated too quickly, leaving the powdery base notes of amber, vanilla, benzoin and tonka to irritate my nose. So, even classical designer fragrances don't make the cut for me.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1351 Reviews
Light Blue
1406 Reviews
No.5
934 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1874 Reviews
Back to Top