Tom Ford • Violet Blonde • Fragrances

rated 3.4(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 10/24/2014 11:07:00 AM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This Fall, I'm wearing violet perfumes a lot -- mostly TF Violet Blonde and Guerlain Insolence EDP (and to a lesser degree, Balenciaga). To me, they suit Fall -- they fit the vibe & the mood of Fall & Winter.

And they're unique -- different from everything else. I am no expert on violet scents, that's for sure (or florals in general), and I'd love to sniff an actual Parma Violet in person, to see what it smells like (which I never have).

Violet scents always make me think of Jane Eyre, for some reason -- they have an old-fashioned vintage quality -- reserved & polite -- cool -- and I think of the atmospheric moors of the English countryside -- outdoorsy & wild, with rustic earthy notes.

Violet Blonde EDP (launched 2011) is quite a mix of notes, and it isn't a crowd-pleaser IMHO. I once got a "look" from a female coworker when I wore it to work, so it may not be particularly office-friendly. But no matter, it's a me-pleaser. I'm wearing it now. Starts out sweet, fresh, and light when first sprayed -- then dries down somewhat masculine & shadowy -- with an earthy rustic aromatic woody/leafy quality. And yes, there's a slight cumin-ish note, but it's very subtle.

Makes me think of Hermes Hiris (which I also classify as "different"). To me, VB is deceptively strong with quite a bit of sillage, and I need to remind myself not to spray too much. It lasts very well, I think.

Notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes - Mandarin, Pink pepper, Violet leaf
Heart Notes - Iris, Iris butter, Jasmine, Jasmine sambac
Base Notes - Benzoin, Musk, Vetiver, Suede, Cedar

ADDENDUM 11/2/14: Violet Blonde is awesome. I own hundreds of perfumes, but this is all I want to wear lately. I love the combo of earthiness and violet, especially in chilly fall weather. Mmmm, I'm finding it addictive!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Fluffytia on 9/4/2014 5:04:00 PM more reviews by Fluffytia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This stuff is nasty! The first spray smells of violets (but not strongly) and the dry down smells of pencil sharpenings. It is as simple as that. Virtually no staying power and no sillage at all. It is beyond me why anyone would buy a second bottle of this. The fragrance is an extremely expensive aroma of nothing very much. A VERY expensive let down. Don't waste your money

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 su on 5/7/2014 6:38:00 AM more reviews by su

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is amazing (EDP)!. It lasts for many hours on my skin. It's a really unique, sophisticated, feminine fragrance. My husband loves it on me. I wear it all year long. I've almost finished a bottle of Violet Blonde, definately would buy it again. It's expensive, but I don't mind to spend a bit more for such a great fragrance. I also like Black Orchid, despite that it seems quite masculine. Though, I prefer Violet Blonde.
NOTES: pink pepper, violet leaf, mandarin, iris absolute, jasmine Sambac, Baie rose, suede, cedar, musk, vetiver and benzoin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thattystehli on 5/6/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by thattystehli

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Smell like granny, buy I will buy other fragrances of TF.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathykl on 12/12/2013 12:06:00 PM more reviews by cathykl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got the biggest size as a gift (3.4 fl oz/100mL Eau de Parfum Spray) plus a mini and it's just not my style. I tend to go for warmer oriental scents. Used the mini once or twice. Not sure what to do with the huge bottle.

Nothing bad or wrong with the scent, just not my taste. The 1-2 times I wore it once seemed to last all day, great staying power. Packaging is nice and elegant.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lepin on 12/10/2013 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Lepin

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This bursts forth with violet, citrus and leafy greens. All scents I don't care for but somehow this mixture works on my skin. I'd say this is a more formal than casual fragrance but that too is subjective. Dry down is powdery violet and cumin (?) or perhaps some other exotic spice but lovely nonetheless. I don't think I smell like I'm in need of bathing but others may not concur. What I find fascinating with this scent is the dry down on me varies. At one wearing I clearly sensed the scent of a vintage 1950's lipstick my late mother wore. Go figure. I'm on the fence here but leaning so far in that I will cave and buy. Thus far I've subsisted on multiple samples provided by Sephora. My only gripe here is the price and the fleeting staying power (on me), which I think is a good thing as I am infamous for wearing potent scents. Hubby liked and at the end of the evening my dress smelled really pretty. Will. Buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 discoclemonade on 9/3/2013 12:22:00 PM more reviews by discoclemonade

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Violet Blonde. How I love the way she smells but I don't love how short of a time she sticks around. I was coveting this scent for quite sometime and looking for a signature scent that many other women haven't claimed as their own (coco mademoiselle, miss dior etc) I needed something striking and unique but easy enough for everyday wear. I love sophisticated scents with an edge and when another member described this as the love child of chanel no.5 and gray flannel I was sold. I went and bought it the next day. I was so excited to spray it and did the day after and to my disappointment the scent disappears before it even develops. The scent is delicious, captivating and has something special about it. The sillage and longevity are dissapointing. I have worn body sprays that stick around longer than this. I even tried to layer it and spray it in my hair but alas, it just doesn't stay long enough. Now it stays on my vanity looking pretty, could be good as a room scent. Three lippies because like I said the scent is intoxicating in the best way possible.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/28/2013 4:21:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This went on my skin as sweaty wood and violets, like sharp dry woodshavings from teak and sweat. It was almost a cumin note, but not quite. Then it dried down much nicer and the sweaty wood became woody suede with floral notes to keep it light. In the end, nice, but the sweaty onset will keep me away in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 4/7/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried this mostly because GlamDiva below says that it has a very well done rounded fruity impression, plus occasional bubble gum. I also slightly feared a powdery, vintage violet impression because that what violets turn into on my skin most of the time. I certainly got the lovely, bright, fruity aspect and the bubblegum note- albeit for a passing moment. Happily, the violet note was not dusty or too powdery. Altogether it's a rather chic fragrance with good sillage and lasting power. It makes me think of long hair, skinny jeans and leather accessories. Very nice but not FB worthy for me because I find it almost too polished.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sarabeegee on 2/26/2013 2:47:00 PM more reviews by sarabeegee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love some of Tom Ford's other scents, so wanted to give this a try, too.
This perfume did not smell good on me at all. From initial sniff to final dry down, it was a very strong, powdery, vintage 1950's-type floral.

Loved the packaging, but little else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tom Ford products

More Fragrances products