Butter London Hardwear PD Quick Topcoat

3.8

29 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/8/2015 12:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

At $19.00/bottle it's a bit of an expensive splurge. I use 1-2 bottles a year and will absolutely ALWAYS repurchase the product. When applying 1 coat I normally have a chip within 2 days and begin to lose the shine. I apply 2 coats and it keeps my nails shiny for nearly 2 weeks and I don't see a chip for a week.



on 12/5/2014 11:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got this in a set with the Butter London nail foundation base coat. I applied them both together (1 coat of base and 1 of topcoat) for a natural look. Although this topcoat dries rapidly, has a nice shine and made my nails feel harder & less fragile, the tips still chipped within a few days.

I also tried applying it over color (not BL) and it seems to wear a bit better, but I have also cut my nails back so that could be why.

I like that this doesn't have harmful ingredients and also like the thin consistency (many topcoats seem gloppy from the start) but I wouldn't buy it again for this price - it does not do a better job than others I've used.


on 2/26/2014 10:30:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I had high hopes for this and I can say this is the worst nailpolish I have ever used. I bought this and a sheer color and ended up returning all three of them. Very streaky and puddled up which is bad for a sheer color. I even did a manicure twice with this thinking maybe I didn't let it dry well enough. For $55 it should look like I came from the salon. Packaging lid is wasteful. Too bad, they have great marketing but terrible product. Mineral fusion nail polish works much better.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

UPDATE:
I seem to have received a poor batch or old product because I exchanged this and it is completely different. No peeling and no chipping (1 minor chip, but I accidentally hit it on a stainless steel pan so, that doesn't count). This has glorious shine (looks like gel), stands up to food service industry battering, is 4 free and dries quickly. I love it!

OLD REVIEW:
This, unfortunately, is the worst top coat I have ever used. I painted it on this last night, took a shower this morning and it started chipping and peeling. I hadn't been doing anything to warrant this kind of poor performance.
I have tried painting it on thin, thick, on clean nails, on their base coat, on their color (Poole), covering the tips, not covering the tips, single coat and two coats. This chips and peels of within 24 hours EVERY TIME.
It's really too bad because it provides a lovely shine and I love the bottle design (where you use the lid cover to loosen the actual applicator...no more teeth marks). I hope it's just that I got a bad batch...because if not I am extremely disappointed.


on 10/16/2013 9:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my all-time favorite topcoat. It dries extremely fast on me - it's almost dry to touch on my first nail once I finish my 10th. It helps my manicures last longer. It's super glossy. However, I got it deeply discounted on sale, and I will not be repurchasing unless I can find it on sale again, because I just can't justify the price (about 10x as expensive as my second favorite topcoat, NYC Grand Central Station!).


on 8/19/2013 7:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this top coat. It keeps my nails from chipping for days even with a cheap nail polish.


on 4/22/2013 9:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a very expensive quick dry top coat. Now, if it did wonders for me, I would give it a high rating, but as it is, it isn't worth the expense - you can find quick dry top coats at a drugstore that are as good if not better than this one, for far less money. I used this topcoat exclusively for a couple of months to give it a real test drive. The butter london variety has a thin, watery consistency, rather than being more gel-like. I am pretty hard on my nails - I type a lot and also refile books, microfilm, etc., so I am always using them and get tipwear within two days no matter what. This topcoat didn't perform any better than what I had been using before, which was Revlon's quick dry top coat; in fact I got tipwear a little faster with the butter london than with Revlon or Seche Vite. It did dry quickly but not any quicker than Revlon. I got a decent amount of shine from it. Nothing out of the ordinary, though, on any count. Given how expensive it is, it is not worth the price to me. Buy one of butter london's nail polishes instead if you must, and leave the top coats to Seche Vite, Poshe, essie, Revlon, Sally Hansen, or virtually any other company.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2013 2:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is pretty standard topcoat. It adds some shine, but doesn't really prevent chips or make manicure last longer. I won't be buying this again, as there are better alternatives. I gave this one extra lippie, because it's non-toxic.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/4/2013 12:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this topcoat and will continue to purchase it despite the steep price. Normally, I would have been deterred by the price but, when I was stuck at the airport for 8 hours with no topcoat, I purchased it at a store that carried BL nail polish. Although I wish I could have those 8 hours of my life back, I'm still glad I found this top coat.

I've been looking for my HG topcoat for some time now, but nothing fit the bill. Poshe did try smooth or shiny enough, SV gave me shrinkage and I hated using all those chemicals. For awhile I used NailTek Moisture Balancing Top Coat, which gave me the smoothness and shine I like, but would start bubbling once I got to about half the bottle.

The BL has everything though - it's super shiny, very smooth, not super chemically and doesn't bubble as it starts to thicken. Which brings me to its only, albeit inevitable, downside...it does thicken over time, but nothing that a little thinner won't cure.

I should note that I can't really comment on chipping because I tend to change my polish every couple of days.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2013 3:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

WHY on earth are people complaining about this?! I adore it! My nails last for days and days when I use this topcoat! Not to mention the amazing SHINE it gives my nails! Definitely my new HG top coat!


Top Rated Butter London Products

image

Yummy Mummy

57 reviews
Back to Top