Bottega Veneta EDP

4.1

46 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/3/2015 10:06:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Notes include Italian bergamot, Brazilian pink pepper, Indian Sambac jasmine, oak moss, patchouli and Indian patchouli, with a distinct leather accord in the trail. This is a really unique scent, and one of the best in the women's fragrance field in quite a while. Very classy and unique, sexy too. The body collection is to die for!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 2/27/2015 1:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Am I the only one that thinks this smells like an old woman's cash drawer?


on 1/5/2015 4:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a sexy moody leathery bohemian number. I love the inspiration of the old leather books in an italian countryside house story for it, they nailed it. Bc of that it has that deep sexy edge to it which I don't tend to reach for as much these days, but this is as sexy mysterious and dark as lolita lempicka purple bottle to me (not sure about the new formula). Both slightly unisex.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2014 2:38:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Both the fragrance and the bottle are just beautiful. They are strong, but not loud. The first moments i smelled BV i thought i didn't like it, because of the patchoulli. But to my surprise it wasn't overwhelming, but understated and lovely. Men could wear this, but to me it is very feminine, warm and elegant. Very happy with my new purchase :-)


on 8/29/2014 8:38:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The first leather fragrance I am able to wear. I always thought leather as a note should be sexy and was disappointed when much loved fragrances like Lancome Cuir or Daim Blond turned sour and unpleasant on me. Bottega Veneta is a gracious, feminine and mature fragrance - luxurious in an understated way. It is essentially the fragrance of a new suede bag plus the intoxicating ripe - not jammy - apricot, and some white flowers. I find it does not change much on the skin and it lasts for most of the day. It is not a crowd pleaser, especilly not for Flowerbomb/Bonbon/La Vie Est Belle lovers. If you like Opium Voile de Fleurs (the lightest Opium in the pink/beige flacon) you may like this one as well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/21/2014 10:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This perfume is simply gorgeous and worth the price. It has a sexy, spicy yet understated smell that is truly distinctive yet not overpowering. I get so many compliments when I wear it too.


on 2/25/2014 1:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Soft nicely leathery amber scent with touches of oriental floral. Very elegant, but mostly black tie formal, and not for day wear. Just a touch too rich for summer days


on 1/30/2014 10:11:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I smelled Bottega Veneta one day, out casually sniffing. I hadn't seen any ads or listed notes to color my impression, I just held that strip up to my nose and nearly floated through the store. What *is* this? I couldn't figure out what I was smelling, I just knew it was amazing. And different than every thing else that was new. Bottega Veneta has an old soul. A modern take on a vintage perfume. Like my beloved chypres!

When first sprayed, it is fresh like the way the air used to smell when the neighbors would do laundry back when laundry detergent smelled good. There is bergamot, and little bit of fruity plum. (It actually smells like the color of a plum, too--the thin purple outside skin and the pale peachy insides.) Then there is some suede. And a delicious, softly powdered, chypre drydown. Bottega Veneta smells smart, polished, poised, and approachable--your modern day sexy librarian scent. The sillage is present, but polite.

The bottle is adorable. It is like a little jewel in my collection. The glass is heavy, the cap is tight and solid, the little leather band that twists around the neck is secured with a tiny butterfly clasp and isn't cheap looking. The bottom of the bottle is thick with a wavy frosted texture. I ordered it directly from the Bottega Veneta site, which was a little cheaper than buying it at the department store. It was hand packaged and came in a tied Bottega Veneta shopping bag with the crinkly paper inside, very nice experience.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2014 1:41:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I think you probably either have a taste for Bottega Veneta or you don't. I agree with other reviews that this is a very well-done perfume. It's a soft leather scent, basically -- very nicely done -- but it just depends if you like that particular type scent and want to wear it as perfume. It's a soft, smooth, sort of dusty/woody leather.

Here are its notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Bergamot, Pink pepper
Heart Notes: Spices, Jasmine, Plum
Base Notes: Oakmoss, Leather, Patchouli

It smells "old" to me -- as in, historically old. I feel like I'm watching a silent movie when I smell Bottega Veneta -- like I'm watching Theda Bara from a leather seat in a theater that was built 200 years ago. Or like I'm exploring a rich, regal, elderly lady's musty-dusty attic. Or some sort of museum.

Or I feel as though I'm in the library of the estate of a crusty elderly Englishman who owns hundreds of leather-bound first editions. The scent of old leather, old parchment paper, old brocade draperie -- ie, antique, historical, musty scents.

Maybe sort of a very distant cousin of Guerlain Mitsouko (which I also don't like), which is an oakmoss-heavy chypre launched in 1919 -- except that Botttega Veneta mostly features leather.

Bottega Veneta is supposed to be a modern version of a leather scent, but my problem with it is that I don't find it modern-smelling at all. It makes me feel like I've time-travelled back 80-100 years or so. It smells "sepia" -- like tintype photos -- to me.

It's elegant and very nice, in its way, and I feel like I should be a fan, but I'm not. I do enjoy soft woody scents but have never really learned to appreciate oakmoss or leather notes. Overall, this perfume smells too Old World and antiquated to me.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2014 8:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The previous reviews for this masterpiece are wonderful to read and say it all about this, my new favorite, fragrance. To me the scent is indescribable so I am glad that other reviewers have done it for me. I desperately tried to avoid buying this since the price is a bit high however when Nordies had a gift set plus an additional discount before Christmas I pounced. So glad I did--worth every penny! All other fragrances on my bureau have moved aside and are collecting dust.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
No.5
No.5
949 Reviews
Hypnotic Poison
Hypnotic Poison
649 Reviews
Pure Seduction
Pure Seduction
262 Reviews
Candy EDP
Candy EDP
227 Reviews


Back to Top