Pacifica • Island Vanilla • Fragrances

rated 4.3(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliberateangel on 1/29/2014 2:29:00 AM more reviews by deliberateangel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

The best way to describe this is that it smells faintly of a cheap vanilla candle. It's slightly creamy, uncomplicated, has no throw or stayng power & was very bland.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/8/2014 2:28:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Good God, I love this perfume. It's so rich and a strong and REAL vanilla. It's Tahitian Vanilla and smells so good. Everything in this Vanilla line is UNREAL. The silage isn't too strong, but you can smell it on yourself. It's so warm and rich. It has white honey in it as well, jasmine, tea, and fruity notes.

You really do not detect the other notes too much but they're in the background and just make this scent so unique. Such a gorgeous scent.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amybello on 12/19/2013 12:30:00 AM more reviews by amybello

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I came across this product at Whole Foods while looking for a Christmas gift for my friend.

I love this Island Vanilla roll on, it is smells similar to Pink Sugar Perfume if you like that. It is like happiness in a bottle.

It is perfect in every way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliefork on 11/29/2013 9:23:00 PM more reviews by juliefork

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE!!! Like many of the other reviewers, I also purchased this online without having any prior exposure. I have been in love with vanilla scents ever since the ORIGINAL L'Eau De Vanille from L'Occitane. Unfortunately, I have not come across anything even remotely similar or even different that I even like, when it comes to vanilla. I am not good at explaining notes of fragrances, but I can tell you this smells so delicious, yummy, soft, warm....not at all cloying, too obnoxiously sweet, or cheap. This is all good! I cannot believe the price points, either - simply incredible! I am seeing this at more retailers such as Fred Meyer (Kroger), Marlene's, and even Whole Foods, so if you are near any of the mentioned it should be easy to try a tester. It does seem to fade after a few hours, but this may just be my senses adapting to the scent. I have the body butter, roller ball, and the spray. Please note the spray does not come with a cap - I emailed to ask why and the reply said something about the environment. This has not been an issue for me yet, and I do have a roller ball for easy portability. I love this product, this scent, and the company's missions and commitment to the oceans and the environment. If any of you remember and loved L'Occitane's ORIGINAL L'Eau De Vanille, then I can pretty much promise you will love this, too!! I love the Blood Orange, Coconut, and the Pikake scents, too. I have layered the Coconut with the Island Vanilla and this combo smells heavenly, too!! Forgot to add how Pacifica is 100% vegan, cruelty free, uses only healthy ingredients. Always free of petrochemcials, sulfates, mineral oil, parabens, phthalates, peanut oil and propylene glycol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lossea on 10/19/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by Lossea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

By the time I was to get Island Vanilla, I already had another perfume by Pacifica and had a feel for the unique blend of scents, as well as the admirable philosophy of the company. My local Whole Foods does not carry this particular perfume, so I ordered it online, based on the description. I knew it was going to be chic kind of sweet, vanilla with a unique kick to it, and I have been in love ever since this fragrance met my skin.

All I knew when I was ordering this scent was how much I love vanilla candles and how I often wished that people would think of something warm, delicious, and sensual when I would walk by (I know a lot of people said that this scent is *unlike* the regular vanilla candles, cupcakes, and the like, and I definitely agree). I also knew that I did not appreciate the musk that a lot of vanilla fragrances often include, from catching wafts of various body mists and eau d'toilettes sold in supermarkets. Enter Island Vanilla, the perfect vanilla scent.

The package describes this fragrance as "Tahitian vanilla, loved for its fruity and slightly floral aroma, is anchored with rich Bourbon vanilla notes." It's such a delightful, feminine scent, and I have never caught anything quite like it from anyone. It is sensual and deep, not invading, but rather inviting and it wraps you in a warm blossom of softness and charm. I love how Brook (founder of Pacifica) describes it when she says, "Every time I smell it, I find something different and magical." I certainly do as well.

I roll it onto my inner elbow before bed, and when it's time to wind down, I fold my arm over close to me and just take the scent in. I love to know that these are pure essential oils, and the fact that this fragrance was made with care and passion, makes this fragrance so much more special and powerful for me. I practically fall asleep to it. I will attest to the long lasting power of good 5-6 hours, if not more, which, for a natural perfume, is amazing. I haven't worn this fragrance out to school much, but now that I think of it, I will. It is just meant to be shared. I will certainly repurchase!

*** *** ***
Edit 10/20/13: Put it on last night at 11pm, and it was gone by 830am. So I personally don't get 10 hours of wear, like at least one reviewer has. I would guess about 6 hours. I wish this scent "projected" a little more, but then again, it is a natural perfume, and pretty strong at that. Love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meganhowdy on 9/22/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by meganhowdy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

simple and nice scent. good for cool summer too beginning of fall night.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimplesgalore on 7/3/2013 7:38:00 PM more reviews by Dimplesgalore

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Update. After wearing it for about an hour it begins to smell like a vanilla-y smoking lounge. Not exactly pleasant. I may try mixing it with something else in the future but for now it's relegated to the back of the drawer.

Bought the Island Vanilla rollerball online. I usually don't buy perfume without smelling it first but the description and the reviews + the natural ingredients made it a must try. I'd taken a whiff of some of the other scents a few years ago and just didn't find one I liked enough to wear but I've been on a vanilla kick lately so decided to give them another try.

At first it's a little less vanilla and a little more incense-y. Not the cough your way out of a head shop way, but a sophisticated hippie chic with a perfectly balanced background of florals. No sharp notes to sting your nose (once the alcohol evaporates) like those found in the VS Angel line.

The dry down has quite a bit more vanilla and I'm a fan. The deep incense quality is still there but is a supporting actor. Not exactly a gourmand but close, as if there were cookies baking somewhere down the road so every now and then the breeze will waft it by. However the subtle florals and warm "femme fatale slinking into a private eye's office" feeling balance the vanilla creating a sultry and intriguing aroma.

My only problem is while my BF likes it he likes it best when I apply it sparingly. If I go overboard, which is surprisingly easy to do with this one (must be my body chemistry), I get a little wince from him. I don't blame him since I feel the same way. While it's easily warn all year it really feels like a fall/winter home run. Now, if only winter wasn't months away!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Devildog4025 on 7/2/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by Devildog4025

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

You know, I like this scent, but I don't LOVE it. The vanilla smells amazing, but the lemon note puts me off. But everytime I wear it, every guy I know is like "Oooh you smell so yummy!". So just because of that I'll keep wearing it until I am done with what I have.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candyfluff on 4/10/2013 12:56:00 PM more reviews by candyfluff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have the solid version of this perfume. As much as prefer applying a rollerball, I found the solid version of this particular scent more appealing. I love wearing this on its own but it is also great for mixing with other fragrances, Pacifica scents or otherwise. Just recently I discovered it smells quite lovely with Pacifica's Ruby Guava rollerball offering.
I quite enjoy the tin packaging as it is easy to just toss in my purse without worry of it spilling, the lid has remained secure thus far. The solid perfumes are also several dollars cheaper, which is great if you want to test out a fragrance before committing to a bigger size, the only downside being that the solids can smell quite different from their liquid counterparts so keep this in mind. I found the liquid version of this particular scent to smell quite generic and overly sweet, while the solid smelled just right.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mozart68 on 3/8/2013 9:24:00 PM more reviews by Mozart68

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Vanilla is one of the longest-lasting scents from Pacifica, and I wear this perfume several times a week. I think the best compliment would be to say that you could wear this scent on a plane -- it just smells like vanilla. Nothing strong or overpowering or headache-inducing. I usually layer it with another Pacifica scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pacifica products

More Fragrances products