Essence I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base

3.4

80 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Isododecane, Cetyl Peg/Ppg-10/1 Dimethicone, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Mica, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Sodium Chloride, Stearoyl Inulin, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Dimethiconol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Trimethoxycaprylylsilane, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Tin Oxide, Phenoxyethanol, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide).


Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this primer. I have very oily hooded eyelids, and this stays put on my eyelids all day. I do use this in combination of MAC Paintpot, and then eye shadow over top but I would have to do that with any primer. I use this for everyday makeup looks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/21/2015 3:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Blue

To be honest, I can't give much of a review of this eye primer because I really don't like using it. I can't give my opinion on the lasting power or whether it helps with creasing.

The primer is coloured and normally I prefer these as it cancels out veins and discoloration. However, I am very fair (NC10) and this primer is way too dark for my skin tone. Also, it is insanely orange. It looks stupid on my eyes. I can't use for my daily looks as it makes the shadows darker and orange-y. The only time I can use this is with darker, smokey eyes which I personally don't do very often.

If you have a medium, warm skin tone I would say try this out but pale skinned people won't like this.


on 1/20/2015 11:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Milia/bumps/possibly an allergic reaction? every time I use. Have had it for months n try off and on--same bad reaction. Great colour for use as corrective concealer but breaks me out even right under the eyes or around mouth. Doesn't do anything for e/s aside from evening out lid colour nicely. The only use I have for it is to mix into foundations to make them a bit more yellow to match my skin better.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I loooove this eyeshadow base! It makes my eyeshadows pop even more and it keeps the colour despite me having hooded oily lids!


on 10/26/2014 9:23:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this so much!!! It's weird and orange, but it doesn't matter if you put shadows on top. It really makes the most of your eyeshadow and makes them last forever !!! For 3,49$ , this is the best!i would 100% recommend

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2014 9:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have very oily skin and even oilier eyelids. With that said, I would say that this is a pretty decent product. At the end of the day, I can still see my eyeshadow, there is no creasing, and there is no transference of mascara or liner. (I use waterproof mascara and waterproof eyeliner, but I have used horrible eyelid primers that have even made those transfer and smudge.) My only gripe is that I'm about an NC25 at MAC and the color of this primer is darker than my skin color so I do have to be conscious about sheering it out, which is easily doable. The applicator doesn't go all the way down to the bottom of the container, but I appreciate how easy it is to just stick a q-tip in to take the product out. It's not my holy grail eyelid primer, but I am not against repurchasing it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/8/2014 10:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

No no no. I don't know why I bothered buying this again. Looked at my eye makeup a few hours after applying and I had white stripes in my crease!!! That's where all my shadow ended up with this crap. The only primer that works for me is W&W fergie primer. Not even udpp works for me.


on 8/29/2014 12:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It a really good eyeshadow base for the price. The colour neutralises eyelid's discolouration and makes eyeshadows last quite long. I think I'm gonna buy it again when i finish mine!


on 7/23/2014 10:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this base. I recommend this to everyone and have bought it for many of my friends and family. It never creases on me and evens out lid tone perfectly. I've tried everything but this is definitely the longest lasting.


on 7/20/2014 8:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So my eyes are so hooded and sufficiently oily that even Colour Tattoo cream shadows crease on me, let alone your less expensive powder shadows. This stuff is magical, I intentionally used my cheapest, most-crease-prone shadow + a super bright turquoise just to test this out and it has STAYED PUT. I'm in love. It's working better than a 24$ pür minerals primer I picked up. I even tried sleeping with eyeshadow on to see if it would transfer to fabric, and nothing (obviously closed eyes = no creasing).

Application is easy, I just dab some onto my lids and pat it in, let it dry a little bit (with my lids closed so it doesn't crease up while getting tacky), then press my eyeshadow on. I don't notice any bad smell from it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top