Essence • I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 3.4(72 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Saba391 on 7/23/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Saba391

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this base. I recommend this to everyone and have bought it for many of my friends and family. It never creases on me and evens out lid tone perfectly. I've tried everything but this is definitely the longest lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosalie9313 on 7/20/2014 8:32:00 PM more reviews by rosalie9313

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

So my eyes are so hooded and sufficiently oily that even Colour Tattoo cream shadows crease on me, let alone your less expensive powder shadows. This stuff is magical, I intentionally used my cheapest, most-crease-prone shadow + a super bright turquoise just to test this out and it has STAYED PUT. I'm in love. It's working better than a 24$ pür minerals primer I picked up. I even tried sleeping with eyeshadow on to see if it would transfer to fabric, and nothing (obviously closed eyes = no creasing).

Application is easy, I just dab some onto my lids and pat it in, let it dry a little bit (with my lids closed so it doesn't crease up while getting tacky), then press my eyeshadow on. I don't notice any bad smell from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladushka on 6/25/2014 4:55:00 AM more reviews by ladushka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am allergic to waterproof eye make-up which is a big problem since I have very oily eyelids and only waterproof eye pencils would work for me. This eye primer appears to solve the problem as my regular eye pencil stays put, no smudge, no discoloration. Truely amazing. The colour does bother me a bit, the primer sinks in nicely but it is still really visible on my eyelids. One lippie off for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meshmmesha772000 on 6/24/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by Meshmmesha772000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all I would like to thank Amtn for her wonderful review about this product and it's comparison to UDPP , I haven't used any eyeprimer except a Jordana one which was okay , but had a highlightening effect . I use Garnier Roll-On Concealer as a primer as I don't have oily eyelids . So I thought of trying this for its good price . My thoughts :

- It makes any mediocre eyeshadow looks great , giving it's true colour and texture in the pan .
- Holds the shadow well without any creasing , no matter how hot or humid the weather is .
- Feels light on the eyes and not drying .
- Shadows blend easily enough as it's not that sticky .
- Nice packaging and it's not that weak .
- Two tiny drops are far enough and I have large eyelid space .
- Hides discolouration as well .
But I haven't tested it with photos yet .
All in all it's great product that I will purchase again , but I prefer the concealer from Garnier as it's sort of cooling to use and feels more natural on the eyelid . and it's my HG eyeprimer , but I think it won't work in a heavy duty environment like weddings , going out ...etc but I think the Essence one will .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elizabethyong on 6/8/2014 11:44:00 AM more reviews by elizabethyong

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A pretty decent eye primer for the price. My eye makeup usually stays put for about 8 hours with this- I use mostly powder eyeshadow, pencil and gel liner

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 aalolam on 6/6/2014 12:22:00 PM more reviews by aalolam

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I used my usual eyeshadows that didn't crease or fade with my Milani eyeshadow primer that I usually use. This primer creased before I even applied my eyeshadows. My shadows did go on quite vividly like with my other eyeshadow primers, but it didn't last long. An hour later, my eyeshadows had moved around significantly and faded quite a bit.
Ultimately, this product did not work for me and I would not repurchase it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heliana on 4/28/2014 5:02:00 PM more reviews by Heliana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Great product. does the job well and super inexpensive

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SSacrebleu on 4/18/2014 5:59:00 AM more reviews by SSacrebleu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

It's an okay base if you don't have super oily lids. It holds eyeshadows in place, but if eyeshadows tend to fade, it won't help. It'll make cheaper shadows to hold for about 8 hours and better ones even more (24 hours with Sleek eyeshadows, but have only a little bit oily lids). Packaging is great, easy to use, little goes a long way with this. You will usually require only a dab and it blends easily. I used a tube til the end and it doesn't dry out or anything like that. Is a good choice for everyday wear.
Only complaint is its shade - it comes in quite dark yellowy/orangey shade that doesn't add vibrancy to colors. Sometimes it kinda alters the colors. I'd prefer it to be transluscent, so that's why I won't repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bellalovesbeauty on 4/16/2014 6:54:00 PM more reviews by Bellalovesbeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the best eyeshadow bases i have ever tried. When i apply the product on my eyelid it is creamy but then starts to set. This allows for the eyeshadow that i am using top really get attatched to the base. I would only recommend this to people who have a medium-dark complection with a yellow undertone. This ha a very long lasting power which is helpful for school and if i go out with friends.

This product is also high coverage. My mum even stole it from me and started using it as her concealer!!

I am a huge fan of this product and this is one of essences drugstore gems!!

Bella xx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 crisafael on 3/28/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by crisafael

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

So this is the first eye primer I ever purchased so I'm afraid I can't really make a comparison with other high-end brands out there. Still, I think it does it job quite well. My eyeshadows last all day long after using this! AND it because it has a slightly orange-y tint to it, it also helps conceal undereye dark circles! So if, like me, you are on a budget, I'd definitely reccomend buying this product! It serves its purpose and it's quite wallet-friendly as well :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Eye Primer products