Essence • I Love Stage Eyeshadow Base • Eye Primer

rated 3.4(79 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 aliciagrasby on 1/21/2015 3:22:00 AM more reviews by aliciagrasby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

To be honest, I can't give much of a review of this eye primer because I really don't like using it. I can't give my opinion on the lasting power or whether it helps with creasing.

The primer is coloured and normally I prefer these as it cancels out veins and discoloration. However, I am very fair (NC10) and this primer is way too dark for my skin tone. Also, it is insanely orange. It looks stupid on my eyes. I can't use for my daily looks as it makes the shadows darker and orange-y. The only time I can use this is with darker, smokey eyes which I personally don't do very often.

If you have a medium, warm skin tone I would say try this out but pale skinned people won't like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blooiejagwa on 1/20/2015 11:44:00 AM more reviews by blooiejagwa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Milia/bumps/possibly an allergic reaction? every time I use. Have had it for months n try off and on--same bad reaction. Great colour for use as corrective concealer but breaks me out even right under the eyes or around mouth. Doesn't do anything for e/s aside from evening out lid colour nicely. The only use I have for it is to mix into foundations to make them a bit more yellow to match my skin better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessmeowmeow on 11/16/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by princessmeowmeow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I loooove this eyeshadow base! It makes my eyeshadows pop even more and it keeps the colour despite me having hooded oily lids!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautyflower on 10/26/2014 9:23:00 AM more reviews by beautyflower

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this so much!!! It's weird and orange, but it doesn't matter if you put shadows on top. It really makes the most of your eyeshadow and makes them last forever !!! For 3,49$ , this is the best!i would 100% recommend

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 shindiggity on 9/10/2014 9:40:00 PM more reviews by shindiggity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily skin and even oilier eyelids. With that said, I would say that this is a pretty decent product. At the end of the day, I can still see my eyeshadow, there is no creasing, and there is no transference of mascara or liner. (I use waterproof mascara and waterproof eyeliner, but I have used horrible eyelid primers that have even made those transfer and smudge.) My only gripe is that I'm about an NC25 at MAC and the color of this primer is darker than my skin color so I do have to be conscious about sheering it out, which is easily doable. The applicator doesn't go all the way down to the bottom of the container, but I appreciate how easy it is to just stick a q-tip in to take the product out. It's not my holy grail eyelid primer, but I am not against repurchasing it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rosiepalms on 9/8/2014 10:18:00 PM more reviews by rosiepalms

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

No no no. I don't know why I bothered buying this again. Looked at my eye makeup a few hours after applying and I had white stripes in my crease!!! That's where all my shadow ended up with this crap. The only primer that works for me is W&W fergie primer. Not even udpp works for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 annacaccia on 8/29/2014 12:50:00 PM more reviews by annacaccia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It a really good eyeshadow base for the price. The colour neutralises eyelid's discolouration and makes eyeshadows last quite long. I think I'm gonna buy it again when i finish mine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Saba391 on 7/23/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Saba391

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this base. I recommend this to everyone and have bought it for many of my friends and family. It never creases on me and evens out lid tone perfectly. I've tried everything but this is definitely the longest lasting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rosalie9313 on 7/20/2014 8:32:00 PM more reviews by rosalie9313

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

So my eyes are so hooded and sufficiently oily that even Colour Tattoo cream shadows crease on me, let alone your less expensive powder shadows. This stuff is magical, I intentionally used my cheapest, most-crease-prone shadow + a super bright turquoise just to test this out and it has STAYED PUT. I'm in love. It's working better than a 24$ pür minerals primer I picked up. I even tried sleeping with eyeshadow on to see if it would transfer to fabric, and nothing (obviously closed eyes = no creasing).

Application is easy, I just dab some onto my lids and pat it in, let it dry a little bit (with my lids closed so it doesn't crease up while getting tacky), then press my eyeshadow on. I don't notice any bad smell from it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladushka on 6/25/2014 4:55:00 AM more reviews by ladushka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am allergic to waterproof eye make-up which is a big problem since I have very oily eyelids and only waterproof eye pencils would work for me. This eye primer appears to solve the problem as my regular eye pencil stays put, no smudge, no discoloration. Truely amazing. The colour does bother me a bit, the primer sinks in nicely but it is still really visible on my eyelids. One lippie off for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Eye Primer products