Barry M Bold Waterproof Eyeliner

3.7

10 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 9/20/2014 5:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this at Superdrug and have been using it for about a week. I normally line my upper lid with blacktrack gel from MAC but sometimes I find that it takes longer than I'd like in the morning and have been looking for a quick solution (or post gym when I don't want to carry a brush). I used Smashbox 24 hour primer as a base and then applied and am amazed at how long it lasts without smudging or losing its colour. It's pretty much on par with a gel liner in terms of richness of colour and staying power. I had a tiny bit of transfer to the top of my eye, but nothing more than I'd have with a gel, and I can't fault the liner for my eye shape (slightly hooded).

It lost a lippy for the fact that it is so soft that it's hard to get as precise a line as I'd like, as I'd pretty much have to sharpen it every use which is a bit fiddly. The price is great though at less than 4.



on 8/20/2013 1:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have the purple shade of this and there's no denying it's VERY bold in colour. The staying power is also incredibly good, which is certainly something I would expect from a product claiming to be waterproof and it's also soft making it easy to apply. This does have a little bit of glitter in it, but nothing too much and certainly not enough to cause fallout or transfer. All in all this is a really good eyeliner for the price (3.99GBP) and on the basis of using this one, I would definitely consider getting other colours in the range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/11/2013 9:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I don't understand why people don't like this more. I have hidden double eyelids, which cause almost ALL eyeliners to transfer to the crease, making my lids look horribly messy. However, I bought this on sale from ASOS (along with two other colours) and am utterly amazed. I mean, even the UD 24/7 Pencil transfers on my lids.

I prime with either TFSI or UDPP, and this just stays ALL day. It doesn't transfer at all, even after 12 hours. It's super pigmented and just glides on without tugging. The only gripe I have is that the pencil is so soft, it goes blunt quickly and you'll go through the pencil in no time. Also, the transparent plastic cap cracks easily if you use a little more force capping the pencil. Other than that, it's HG status for me (try the Blue, it is a gorgeous deep blue with a slight metallic sheen to it, & doesn't transfer as well). Plus it's so cheap, probably about S$8 each!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/16/2013 11:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

There's only two things I like about this black pencil- it does stay put and it is VERY black.
Other than that, it's probably one of the worse pencils I've used, (and I've tried a lot from L'Oreal to Laura Mercier!). The application is so bad on my lower lash line I just can't use it- it makes a bumpy, uneven, harsh looking mess which can't be blended. I've managed to apply it to my upper lash line and can managed to get it looking ok as long as I blend it out with a smudger IMMEDIATELY.
Definitely wouldn't recommend and definitely won't repurchase.


on 3/30/2013 9:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really liked this on my waterline but I must be allergic because it makes my eyes sting and weep like crazy. It stays put on my lids BUT I have to wait a few minutes for it to really dry properly, otherwise it smudges up on my brow bone. Wouldn't repurchase but if you're not allergic to it I can imagine it's a dream!

ETA: I've lowered this to 2 lippies. It smudges like a bitch on my lids even though they're not at all oily. I love how black it is but other than that... meh.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

THE BEST eyeliner I have tried that truely does stay put all day! I thought I was doing well with Urban Decay 24/7 eye pencil but Barry M has surpassed it!

I use black eyeliner so when smudged or faded it can look horrific :S My skin tends to get oily throughout the day which doesn't help but I hardly ever need to re-apply this eyeliner.

Bit tricky to remove at the end of the day but I suppose you can't have it both ways with a waterproof product! For the price you can't beat this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/21/2012 10:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I really like this product.
It went on nicely on my waterline and lid with minimal creasing. And I am a grease monster! Nothing sitt's on my lid without primer (Urban decay potion primer, Too faced shadow insurance) but with this liner it stuck :)


on 9/11/2012 10:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

UPDATE: have had to alter my review as sadly have realised this irritates my eyes too much when I use it on the waterline. It looked like I was crying all day at work the other day! Wouldn't repurchase because of this.


I am blown away by this pencil. I wanted a waterproof kohl that I could apply to my upper waterline and that would STAY! This is it.

Normally when I apply liner to my waterline, it disappears in the ensuing eye-watering. This doesn't, it stays put. It is very very black, so looks great on smoky, night time eyes. It is very soft so it doesn't irritate and pull on my lids when I apply it. It is SO waterproof - I don't know how the first reviewer can find it's not! - that it took three applications of an oil-based make up remover and a good scrub after to remove all traces of it.

The best part is the price - 3.99! Love it, would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2012 9:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Glides on well and is super pigmented but does NOT stay smudge-free throughout the day. It's definitely not waterproof either. Everything just melts off and looks horrible. Pity. I have oily eyelids and I stay in a humid country though, so this might still work for you.


on 9/16/2011 6:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As someone obsessed with eyeliner (I use it daily on my waterline and around the eyes), I think for once I have found my holy grail! This eyeliner is soft and very dark, and lasts better than any eyeliner I've ever tried, and I've pretty much tried them all. I originally bought this as a cheap eyeliner to bring to a festival, never expecting to fall in love with it. I wore it about 18 hours a day for four days straight, through sunshine, rain and lots of sweaty dancing (charming, I know), and the smearing was minimal considering I never touched it up or reapplied at all once I put it on. It's now a staple.

On a downside, It's very soft, which means the pencil doesn't last all that long, but it's only 3.99 so I don't really care.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Barry M Products

image

Nail Paint

65 reviews
image

Barry M.

61 reviews
image

Liquid Eyeliner

28 reviews
image

Lip Paint (All)

43 reviews
Back to Top