Clinique Age Defense BB Cream SPF 30

3.6

130 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Octinoxate 7.50%, Octisalate 4.00%, Zinc Oxide 3.50%, Oxybenzone 2.50%, Titaniium Dioxide 1.1.0% water, dimethicone, butylene glycol, phenyl trimethicone, pentylene glycol, glyceryl stearate, behenyl alcofol, trioctyldodecyl citrate, polymethylsilsesquioxane, octyldodecyl stearoyl stearate, PEG-40 stearate, polyglyceryl -10 pentastearate, octyldodecyl neopentanoate, Hordeum vulgare (barley extract), extract d'orge, Triticum Vulgare (wheat germm extract), Laminaria saccharina extract, Linoleic Acid, Oryzanol, cholesterol, caffeine, sucrose, glycerin, Polyquaternium-51, lecithin, Sodium stearoyl lactylate, Polyglyceryl-6 Polyricinoleate, Sodium PCA, Isopropyl titanium triisostearate, Trehalose, urea, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ammonium Acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP Copolymer, Xanthan Gum, Glycyrrhetinic acid, stearic acid, Aluminum hydroxide, silica, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-di-t-butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Disodium EDTA, Chlorphenesin, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, mica


on 3/18/2015 11:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I would say this BB cream is very thick, i usually have to add half a pump of moisturiser so i can rub it around my face easily. My face feels quite sticky after this step, i would say the coverage could be built up to a medium coverage. It's good if you are in a rush and want a quick tint to the skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/4/2015 9:01:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product in shade 02, which is a really great match for my skintone. I apply this after my moisturizer. I love the packaging, it's hygienic and it's easy to get the right amount of product out of the tube. The consistency is quite thick and tends to streak when applied with my fingers. I dab it with a stipple brush or damp RT sponge to even it out. It looks very pretty on good skindays, is longlasting and gives good medium coverage without looking cakey or mask-like and has a dewey finish which I really like. It also looks great on photo's, so far so good you'd say. But it just doesn't feel very nice. It doesn't seem to sink in my skin, it's sitting on top of it. It clings to dry patches and flakes and highlights them like crazy. Such a shame, it is so hard to find a foundation or cream that doesn't accentuate dryness.. Because of that I wouldn't repurchase nor recommend it for dry skin, but if your skin isn't patchy or flakey and you can find the right colourmatch it does definately make you look pretty!

If you have a problem with dry patches and flakes I would recommend you try Bourjois Healthy Mix foundation (yellow), or Max Factor CC cream (pink), depending on your skintone. I've yet to try NARS tinted moisturizer, I have heard great things about it, but they don't sell it in the Netherlands and my shade is currently out of stock in all European webshops :(.


on 1/19/2015 12:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Im not a huge CLINIQUE fan, but i like this BB alot!
Its cheap, looks and feels light and stays all day! Coverage is medium, and it doesnt look cakey at all. Unless you have some serious dry spots on the face, then your in trouble.
It doesnt break me out neither, but i would not buy it again for the simple reason that my dermatologist told me not to. Im still not sure why though.. But shes the expert, im not ;)


on 12/5/2014 9:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i hate wearing face makeup because i am VERY picky about cakey looking makeup. i have dry skin so i really have to exfoliate and moisturize, but i still don't like most foundations. this one doesn't look at all cakey on the skin. i have had my tube for a year now.. (probably bad, i know, but it doesn't break me out so i'm gonna use it up) so i think it's a great value. i just use a pea sized about for my whole face. it doesn't cover up every imperfection, but it evens out my skin tone just enough. if you're looking for full coverage you probably would be disappointed.


on 7/20/2014 6:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm trying out BB creams for the first time and this is not one for me. This stuff is thick with full coverage. It did not spread well and looked caked on. It also felt sticky (like sunblock) on my skin. I am returning this item. The positive was I liked the color. It blended well.


on 5/28/2014 12:28:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Bottom line: In spite of being a fan of Clinique, this product was a fail for me.

When it comes to wearing make up, I want my skin to look great while wearing as little as possible. I'm currently a nanny for a toddler, but I'll be getting a new job next year and want to look more presentable. For that reason I'm trying to find a something that has SPF and oil control with as little coverage as possible. This has everything. Unfortunately it has way too much oil control to the point where it over-dries my skin. Now I'm half-Greek, which means that my face is usually an oil slick. This is literally the only product I have ever used in my entire life that over-dries my skin. When I use it my skin feels uncomfortable and doesn't really sink in and look natural. Prior to buying the product, I read that some people mixed the BB cream with moisturizer and that combination worked really well for them. I tried that and it did not make a difference. Plus, when you take an almost sheer BB Cream and mix it with half-moisturizer then it goes from sheer to non-existent, thus defeating the entire purpose of make-up. And I'm not an expert, but isn't BB Cream supposed to moisturize instead of completely sucking all the moisture out of your face? I love Clinique, but this (expensive waste of money) product was horrible.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2014 2:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the first and only BB cream I have bought and seriously I have been quite satisfied with the healthy looking skin it gives me. I have tried it at Sephora after trying few others on the spot but I don’t remember their names unfortunately… I do remember I opted for this one because it suited perfectly my skin tone (I do believe I have the number 2?) I don’t have access to my makeup bag now: S. I bought it last June 2013 and I still have a lottt of it left and were in may 2014 so it’s a pretty good dam investment since I have used it everyday or so and you really just need a tiny bit of it for the whole face and it blends in perfectly and does stay for 6 hours about… My skin tone seems better and unified when I use it, pores are less noticeable, moisturizing and doesn’t give pimples. The only downside I would say is that it doesn’t cover’s spots left after blemishes, I mean you see them less but it still show’s a lot a find (I use my Almay concealer on top of those spots and finish with my Cover Fx blush which I adore).

I will be honest and say that as soon as the tube is finish I might try another one not because I am unsatisfied, but since last year so many new BB creams have came on the market and some of them by their ”targeted” ingredients and description seem more efficient and better quality…I am really curious to see if I get better results with less ingredients because this one has quit a few, you don’t have access to it on the website but I remember I noticed it once I got home and looked on the box and I was really surprised… Still I never had problem with it so I would consider it being part of the best ones out there with sensitive skin.


on 4/17/2014 1:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this with advice of my esthtician, who works at Sephora. I bought it, and have been impressed. I still use serum (presently a sample by Clinque) and moisturizer. BB Cream is more like a foundation lotion with SPF. It matches my skin really well. It has a slight opaque coverage and feels soft when I apply it.

As for anti aging, I'm not so sure about that. I use a moisturizer.

The packaging is fair. I had to cut the tube to get to the last of the lotion. I wish the amount in the tube is more visible. I did buy more cause I like how light it feels.


on 4/2/2014 7:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is one of the best BB creams I have tried. I have acne scars, large pores and redness, as well as combination oily and dry patches. This cream evens everything out and surprisingly covers most of my blemishes, except for pimples, but that's what I expect from BB creams. I am usually a full coverage foundation girl, and I can get away with wearing just this cream, concealer and a finishing powder.

You definitely need to wear moisturizer under it because it is thick and matte, which may be a turn off for people who like an all purpose cream that doesn't require additional products. Despite the matte texture, it still gives my skin a luminous, natural look. It won't provide enough moisture to help dry skin, but it does make my skin feel soft and smooth. The benefit of the texture is that it stays on and controls oil throughout the day; it doesn't get streaky and greasy like many BBs I've tried.

The only major con is the shade selection. Shade 02 is too dark for me, but Shade 01 is extremely white. I chose the lightest shade because I wear powder over it and that warms up the color, but this cream will not transition to summer with me without making me look like a ghost.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I tried the 5 day sample of this and much prefer it for my skin type than their CC Cream.

It is slightly thicker and has a semi matte finish, it blends it very well and is buildable, I would say this was a light - moderate coverage. It doesn't completely control the shine but then I don't think any products do
.
It lasts for a good 6 - 8 hours and you can top up throughout the day. This BB Cream generally feels better on my skin than a foundation and makes my skin soft and hides some inperfections, still need to apply a bit of concealer to certain areas.

Colour range could be better as I am No.3 (which is a great match) and I consider my skin tone light-medium. the next and last shade is 4 which is for deeper tones but there doesn't seem to be an in between.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top