MAC • Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(373 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ablakel1 on 8/15/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by ablakel1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this prodct!! I recently switched from Studio Sculpt (too oily for me) and love it! I have oily skin and spent hours reading reviews on this product until i finally decided to buy.

It controls my shine & stays in place and doesnt smear over everything like Sculpt did. I am a 7.5 and my skin looks perfectly smooth and airbrushed each time i wear it. I was nervous about the demi-matte description but i am so happy with my choice. This will be my permanent foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kashanti on 8/12/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by kashanti

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a lighter coverage foundation for the summer, I usually use SFF, went to my local MAC counter and the girl suggested this. I explained I am a NC 50 yet she gave me 8.5 which was too dark and too red I exchanged after some research to 7.5, which was perfect.

I love the fact it has a pump included and the natural demi matte finish. The oil control was great I use a primer and a powder of course however this did not slid off my face even aftetr being in 90 degree humid weather.

I apply with a stippling brush then blended to perfection with a beauty blender. One and a half pumps was more that enough for my face and the coverage is buildable.

Overal I would buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jen9576 on 8/9/2014 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Jen9576

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff!!! I have large pores on my nose and an oily t-zone! This foundation makes my skin look smooth and even! It keeps my tzone matte for a good 5 hrs! I like the pump feature...one pump is all i need for my whole face. Also, Love that it has SPF in it too! But I try not to use this foundation when i know i am going to be taking flash pics due to the SPF in it; just to be on the safe side. I do like that it is buildable as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenniferluevano on 8/5/2014 1:35:00 PM more reviews by jenniferluevano

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the product for a while now and I love it! I had been looking for foundation that would do me justice after using several drugstore foundations. I went into MAC for a makeover and I knew I could trust them on which foundation would fit me best. After I purchased the product, I only had to apply ONE pump, ONE! That makes every cent even more valuable. It blended into my skin magically. It gave me an airbrushed look using a stiffling type brush. The finish was matte which is amazing for my oily skin. I love it and would definitely buy again!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sluhxo on 7/31/2014 10:43:00 AM more reviews by sluhxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I found this foundation to give me a really good coverage. I wear a shade 5.0. The only downside is that it made my skin very dry! Also when half the product is used up, the pump doesn't seem to get any product out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 solidcake on 7/7/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by solidcake

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am very pale, NC15 according to MAC SAs and have a hard time getting foundations. They hooked me up with Matchmaster in 1.0. I took it home, and although I loved how it seemed to blend to my skin tone (that never happens) I found it went on kind of dry and cakey. I had to really work at blending it in. I switched to a Dior primer the same day, and thought maybe that was doing it, but decided to ride them both out.

A few days of the Matchmaster, I start breaking out.. bad. THAT never happens. I blamed the new primer I was using and went back to my usual one. I also picked up another bottle of Matchmaster in 1.0 because I LOVED the skin tone match.. I was desperate for this to be the answer.

The breakouts didn't stop. I switched moisturizers and primers numerous time, but kept using Matchmaster refusing to believe I was having a bad experience with a MAC product because I can be a MAC snob.

I was under a lot of stress so I blamed my new acne on that. I went through the whole bottle of Matchmaster and started into the new one when my boyfriend even commented on my skin. I have never had breakouts so bad. Huge sore pimples.. when he brought it up it was like a slap in the face. I immediately went to the drug store and grabbed a couple different cheapies.. almost overnight the breakouts began go away.

I've been off it for a week and my skin is starting to get better. Matchmaster gives you that tight faced feeling.. I hate that. Not for me at all.So sad it didn't work.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 unoeme on 6/30/2014 2:16:00 AM more reviews by unoeme

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I brought up my issue with regards to MAC prolongwear (NC25 too light NC 30 too orange) and the lady at the MAC counter recommended Matchmaster 3.0 as it has shade intelligence technology which better suited me. I kinda like it at 1st. The shade matches my skin very well, it has light - medium coverage, pretty much long-lasting (tho not as long as prolongwear) and It controls oil from peeking thru.

But i'm not too sure i like the finish look. It's VERY matte and flat. You don't even have to apply powder on top of this foundation. And you'll probably need highlighting and contouring.

Tho the bigger issue here is that it clogs my pores like crazy. And accentuates every bumps and pores on my face! I didn't even know I had fine lines till I applied this. I had to slather a lot more primer underneath than usual.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missty86 on 6/29/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by missty86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

really like this foundation. i like its medium coverage. i think its one of the best medium coverage foundations i have tried and looks good in photos too. the packaging is good, comes with a pump so it makes it easy to take out the product. im using shade #6. usually im mac NC 42-44.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 megmaydux on 6/23/2014 12:25:00 AM more reviews by megmaydux

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

PACKAGING
MAC matchmaster SPF 15 foundation comes in a bottle with a pump. This is the best type of packaging for foundation as it minimises oxidation of the product, by not exposing it to air with each use. Over time, oxidation of a product will cause it to thicken and clump. Hence, the foundation remains a silky fluid from first use to last.

APPLICATION
I have an oily T-zone and normal skin on the rest of my face. I have found this foundation to apply smoothly over all areas and it blends beautifully. I have used both a sponge and a dual-fibre foundation brush for application, and both methods prove successful.

WEAR
For daily use, I apply one pump over my nose and cheeks, blending towards my jawline. I apply a small amount over my forehead and chin also. This lasts well over the day, and doesn’t cake, but around the 12 hour mark, I need to reapply.
For an occasion, I use two pumps to have a heavier coverage. I do not add more over my nose than I would daily, but I do apply more over my cheeks. After 10 hours I find that my make-up is beginning to cake. This is amplified if I have exposed my skin to heat and humidity.

PROS
Easy to apply and blend
Matte finish - excellent for oily skin
SPF 15 - very important, especially in the harsh Australian sun

CONS
Expensive - however, it's worth every cent

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lofo18 on 6/17/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by lofo18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I just purchased this today in search of a lighter version of estee lauder doublewear. I have used doublewear for years and it just doesn't work for my skin anymore. I wear clinique super city block sunscreen underneath and dw was just too much for my oily skin. My skin now is pretty good. I wake up with clear, even skin. Matchmaster covered small pigmentation marks and evened any redness beautifully. It dries very matte but looks like nothing is on the face. I am blown away with how natural it looks. THIS is the look I have been trying to achieve for the past year of my foundation hunt. My skin glows through the foundation and looks beautiful. I have not been wearing it long enough to know if it is long lasting. Hopefully it won't break me out because I am in love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products