Smashbox • Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear Fdt. • Liquid

rated 3.9(196 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 laurahx0 on 4/14/2014 3:32:00 AM more reviews by laurahx0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If you're looking for a medium-heavy coverage foundation with ridiculously good mattefying properties then try this baby on! On my oily skin it didn't last 15 hours but it came pretty damn close! Most foundations start to slide off of my skin by lunchtime but this baby stays all day long!
It is a little pricey but for the quality of this product I think you should definitely at least try this on! The texture is perfect for me as its not too runny and I believe they have a pretty good colour selection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 4/6/2014 6:00:00 AM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Beautiful foundation holds up well on my semi oily skin. Doesn't last 15 hours mind you. It gives your skin a very natural finish. Not matte not Dewey.
Packaging is great love the pump. I do think it's priced a tad high though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cloz90 on 4/6/2014 3:35:00 AM more reviews by cloz90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this foundation!! It is Medium to full coverage, however I still use concealer for my blemishes (Nars creamy concealer). The finish is gorgeous. It feels very light on the skin and does not settle into my fine lines. I have very oily skin and I believe this foundation does not contribute to my oiliness, It may even help to control the oil. I would definitely recommend this product! I usually wear Nars sheer glow in barcelona, I love this foundation too however, I do get a little shiny throughout the day. I barely need to touch up with smash box. I use mac MSF to set.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 celticcavegirl on 4/4/2014 11:20:00 AM more reviews by celticcavegirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I spent ages in Sephora looking for a good foundation for day wear. Not made any easier by the absolutely terrible lighting!! In the end it was a toss up between the Armani Luminous silk UV 20 in shade 2 and this - and they'd run out of the Armani so this is what I walked away with. Previously I'd been using GOSH foundation in Porcelain with a touch of white to bring it a shade lighter but wanted to upgrade.

My skin is usually on the dryer side of normal but I am prone to both eczema flares (which leaves me with redness and dry, flaky patches) and monthly acne on my cheeks/jawline (lucky me!). I needed a full-coverage foundation as being fair skinned and dark haired, I get PIHP that takes months to fade :(

My skin tone - creamy - very fair, neutral with a touch of yellow


Coverage - very good. I apply with a damp stippling brush and blend it extensively. It feels pretty heavy and lasts well but does have to be carefully blended/worked into the skin

On flaky areas - bad, but I've yet to meet a product that wasn't

Colour - I bought the 1.1 which is fair with a yellow base. The next day I used this in daylight and discovered that it was not quite the right colour for me - being both too dark, and too yellow....annoying. So I'm mixing it with my Face Atelier Zero Minus; now it's the right lightness but the colour isn't *quite* neutral enough. So I won't be buying again, but it's a great option for those with a creamy-yellow undertone

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaylameans13 on 3/25/2014 7:12:00 PM more reviews by kaylameans13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the first review of a foundation I ever written. To start off, I have pretty skin, I'm fair with freckles, and my cheeks have some mild rosacea to them but if hydrated enough, the redness is calmed down. I tried this foundation as sample and really enjoyed it. I have been searching high and wide for a perfect foundation/ one that hydrates, while lasts for a long time and still looks fresh. This foundation is one of the best I have ever found. I have literally tried ever foundation out their and have been blown away at how well this works. I first moisturize very well, apply some sort of primer, sometimes I don't, apply a bb cream and then apply this on a damp real techniques sponge. This gives great coverage, I can still see red in my cheeks but it is very toned down. It does not look cakey and you can layer it very well. I never have to touch up and it lasts pretty much for 15 hours. I have red undertones and I like to contract with yellow so I am a 1.2, in mufe I wear 117 marble. This foundation is great and I think I finally found my holy grail... But I will probably keep searching the rest of my life for the most perfect, perfect one. Good luck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ke3299 on 3/18/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by Ke3299

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I had been a Nars baby forever. Upon trying Smashbox at Sephora I noticed that I looked warm & colorful. Nars gave me a beautiful "made up" look. I use another under eye concealer AFTER my foundation is applied. This foundation grabs my concealer nicely. I do recommend the Smashbox primer first because it hydrates and helps the foundation apply like butter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 strawberrygrl on 3/18/2014 10:06:00 PM more reviews by strawberrygrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a pretty good foundation. I don't have good skin in the sense that I have acne scarring, large pores and red hyperpigmentation. But of all the foundations I have used (ELDW, Mac Prolongwear, Revlon, MUFE, Lancome) this is the best one so far. It gives a med to full coverage and covers a good amount of my discoloration (more than ELDW did), of course I still use concealer. It doesn't get too oily, doesn't slide off my face (like MUFE did), its transfer resistant (not like Lancome teint), has good staying power, lightweight (not like Revlon) so feels like im not wearing makeup. For reference im an NC 42 and I have 3.4 in this foundation. I'm still not sure if this is HG status?.. but that could be because I don't have good skin to begin with.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kimmcma on 3/11/2014 9:02:00 PM more reviews by kimmcma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My holiest of holy grail products! (And ladies, I have tried them all!!) love this. Lasts all day! Full coverage so may be a bit thick for you younger ladies but for me....perfection!! I set with Smashbox Halo and I'm good to go! Try it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktemly on 3/7/2014 12:28:00 AM more reviews by ktemly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is definately the best long wearing foundation I've ever tried.
Out of all that I have used in the past, I think this has the best finish and is the easiest to blend.
It doesn't have as much coverage as say Estee Lauder Double Wear (in my opinion), but it comes close and it offers a finish that isn't as matte as the Estee Lauder, which I prefer for wearing during the day if I'm not going anywhere fancy.
Although this says it is hydrating, I'm not 100% convinced that any true 'long wearing' foundation is ever going to be suitable for people with dry skin as the formula of these type of foundations are renowned for highlighting drier areas.
A great foundation though and I highly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 therealiluvbmx on 3/5/2014 12:15:00 AM more reviews by therealiluvbmx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first high end foundation I bought.

Because it was my first splurge I did a lot, like a ton, of research.

My skin is normal to dry and my around my nose always get oily throughout the day.

I was looking up at Estee Lauder double wear, maximum coverage, MAC stuido sculpt (said to be for dry skin), bb creams and what not.

I WAS planning on either getting Estee Lauder or MAC but they were too far and I really needed a foundation (by the way I have discolorations, acne scarrings, and some blemishes). Also, I stopped buying drugstore foundations because they kept breaking me out and I just couldn't find the right shade to match me! (I have light skin with beige/yellow undertones).

So I went to sephora and told them "I have dry-ish skin and I need full coverage". They told me both Kat Von D and Makeup Forever Matte Velvet are good for what I needed and I choose Kat Von D because I kept reading reviews on how much coverage it gives. *Note: If you ever go to sephora and need a color match, DO NOT let them "help you choose a color" unless they are using the Skin IQ machine. My came up way too orange and dark for me, and that's because they lighting wasn't great and I was in a hurry. (Think I might do a review on Kat Von D).

Anyways, I went back to return that and decided to choose a foundation on my own. I spent almost 2 hours carefully testing every single foundation you can think of in sephora, also tested concealers too.

Then I came across this foundation and tested on my neck. At first I tested the 1.2 and thought it was OK but then 2.1 was PERFECT!!!!! I rubbed it on my neck, walked around for a few minutes, and it was matte, flawless and I was like this is it!

I've been using this foundation for about a week now and it's amazing. The coverage is medium to full and it seriously lasts all day. However, like I said I have oily t-zone and it does break on you a little bit (even with powder). But whenever I do see it melting/breaking on me, I dab a alittle more of my Rimmel Stay Matte powder, I'm good to go all day.

For my trouble skin, it doesn't really covers ALL of it. I tried putting it like a concealer but of course a foundation is not meant to cover, it's only meant to even out your skin tone. So I went to Target and bought NYX above and beyond full coverage concealer.

What I do now is I use a tiny concealer brush, dab the NYX concealer on my trouble areas, wait an hour or so, then apply this foundation.

I swear it looks like my skin is re-borned!!!! I definetly recommend for people who have all different skin types. I say that it's because it's matte, and with powder, oily gals are good to go. For normal to dry skin gals, don't worry, it won't stick to your dry patches and it doesn't irritate your skin. I am so so glad that I found this foundation and gave it a try.

Hope this review helps some of you who are in similar situation like me or skin type/ tone like me!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Liquid products