Givenchy • Dahlia Noir EDP • Fragrances

rated 3.4(25 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 MrsHopkey on 1/5/2014 10:40:00 PM more reviews by MrsHopkey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been wearing Burberry Brit Sheer exclusively for 10 years. My husband got me Dahlia Noir for xmas and I was really surprised by how much I loved it. It's strong yet mellow at the same time. I wonder if it comes in a rollerball so I can throw one in my car...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 robertsmithwillsaveusall on 1/5/2014 1:16:00 AM more reviews by robertsmithwillsaveusall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this perfume. I read about this in Vogue Paris a long time ago and it really sounded like it would be a "different" and "cutting-edge" perfume. I have been on the hunt for a unique perfume for the longest time, you see. Well, it fell short in real life. It was a dusty pale rose scent which had a very powdery texture to it. It's not bad but it's not as special as I was expecting it to be. The Angel & Demons scents were definitely much more unique but I didn't like it so much. I couldn't imagine myself wearing this perfume so I never bought it in the end. Such a pity though, i loved the name and the idea of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hollyms on 8/20/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by hollyms

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

It's pretty hilarious that everyone thinks this perfume is named after a murder victim, simply because the movie "Black Dahlia" is their only reference to the term. Haha. Listen, a Dahlia is a flower. This perfume is named after a flower. Ok?

Now that that's settled, about the perfume - I absolutely love it. Keep in mind this review is for the EDP with the black cap. I'm 26 years old and feel this perfume suits my generation perfectly. Someone growing into their maturity and yet still hanging onto their youth. This perfume is super sexy, inciting, and just YUMMY. It's incredibly feminine. I can't get enough of this scent, and I always want to wear it, even though my wardrobe is just about overflowing with other selections. This perfume deserves more hype!

EDIT: Had to return this, as it was far too strong and gave me a headache.

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 1:02:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was excited to try this thinking "this might actually have some presence and depth unlike every other juice on the market right now" wrong, nothing Noir or dark about it boring floral with a touch of fruit - think this is trying to be a new version of Hot Couture but doesnt quite cut it. Boring

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kstone1964 on 6/2/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by kstone1964

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like it! I also live in a humid humid climate the coast of South Carolina, I had the same experience I got a sample of the EDP and I bought the EDT it is totally different but unlike the other review I like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 grapeapril on 5/8/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by grapeapril

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The EDP & the EDT smell completely different, as I accidentally took home the EDT and quickly took it back after one spray (yuck) and exchanged for the EDP that I absolutely LOVE!! I love fresh powdery scents, and this one fits the bill perfectly. I have terrible allergies and many perfumes make me sick to my stomach and this one does not. I want to smell it all the time. It lasts all day, especially if you spray your hair. I live in a hot climate (Georgia) and it's not too overpowering even on the hottest and most humid days. To me it is worth the price and I don't mind the minimalist packaging as it is easy to hold and easy to spray. But for me, ONLY the perfume not the toilette.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gapeach01 on 3/4/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by gapeach01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this perfume on me...it has staying power & I feel sophisticated & sexy while wearing it. I believe I have found my signature scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nelius on 2/13/2013 7:00:00 AM more reviews by Nelius

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am totally shocked by Givenchy using the nickname of a 22 year old murdered woman to sell their latest perfume.
Elizabeth Short, to give her her real name was horrifically mutilated and murdered in Hollywood in 1947 and to be correct she was cut in half! Look at the advert, what does the ribbon around the model waist suggest to you with regards that terrible information? The whole styling is a tacky, tasteless, creepy mimicking of the murder, and in spite of the fact that she was killed 66 years ago doesn't give any company the right to use her sad death to sell water that smells, which is more or less what perfume is! I don't think that perfume which smelt like decomposing flesh would sell, so let's make it like baby powder instead!!!!!

Shame on Givenchy and I very much doubt that the classy Herbert de Givenchy would have approved!
I won't buy this if it was the last scent/ fragrance/perfume in the world!
Think before you buy into misogyny and that includes Dolce and Gabbona who are no doubt the worst offenders in this victimhood of women adverts.




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 surrealkitten on 1/8/2013 4:14:00 AM more reviews by surrealkitten

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The perfect thing to wear if you're 65, wearing a baby dress and have attributed names and personalities to all the members of your enormous doll collection.
Yeeesh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 darkangel13 on 12/26/2012 2:42:00 AM more reviews by darkangel13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really, really like this fragrance. I was initially attracted to it because I became fascinated by the Black Dahlia murder case of the 1940's a couple years ago. The haunting Black Dahlia case was the most notorious murder of the 21st century and it continues to mystify and frighten people today. Is it the name? Is the the advertising? I don't know but when I first saw this in a magazine my mind immediately made the connection to the gruesome murder of Elizabeth Short - the black-haired femme fatale that sported a black attire and blood red lips while frequenting various seedy restaurants and clubs in Los Angeles. The name of this fragrance is enough to draw attention (albeit maybe in a slightly twisted way.) I don't know for a fact if this fragrance was inspired by the infamous murder but the name and the model in the advertisements with the black hair, pale skin and lacy black attire is quite a coincidence if you ask me.
Givenchy Dahlia Noir opens up as softly floral with a touch of baby powder (a typical smell of women in the 1940's). The initial spray reminds me of Miss Dior Cherie. And then you're like "That's it?" ... but then after a few minutes the cedar and sandalwood begin to emerge, take a deeper whiff and your nostrils are caressed with creamy vanilla and tonka bean. Then.. the fourth and final step is where one can detect the "noir" aspect in this fragrance. Yes its there, but you need to wait for the dry down. There is depth and complexity to Dahlia Noir but it is subtle. It isn't heavy and decadent like Crystal Noir by Versace or Tom Ford's Black Orchid. I like Crystal Noir but it can be kind of obnoxious for every day wear. This fragrance is feminine but not too sweet and girly like many perfumes out on the market these days. This fragrance requires imagination, in my opinion.
I received this fragrance in a value gift set for Christmas and fell in love with the cute pale pink and black packaging. I have the eau de parfum version not the eau de toilette because edt is like body spray with a slightly longer longevity. The bottle itself is sophisticated and modernistic. Its pricey, yes. I guess that's a downer. My gift set came with a perfumed and moisturizing body dew (love, love, LOVE) and a sexy dark little candle labeled Dahlia Noir which smells gorgeous when lit.

I tried to do my best in identifying the personality and concept of Givenchy's Dahlia Noir. If it sounds like what you're looking for, what are you waiting for? Stop reading this and go get it! If not, move on. :) I personally love this one.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Fragrances products