MAC • 128 Split Fibre Cheek Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.6(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* audmac on 6/9/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by audmac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Got this brush because the SA made it seem like a really great brush-multi-purpose and practical, and it looked pretty cool as well. First tried it for powder blush but wasnt impressed at all so it went into my back of the closet unloved brush jar for well over 6 months until I started using a new foundation, cream consistancy, which I decided would require a flat foundation brush. I figured Id give this a try before buying a new brush and was very pleased with it. It applied and blended well, there was no need to look any further, found the perfect brush for my needs :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fieeeh on 2/26/2013 4:06:00 PM more reviews by Fieeeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I love using this for blush - use the synthetic side to put on the blush, and then the natural hair side to blend out :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bettybo75 on 10/20/2012 2:31:00 PM more reviews by Bettybo75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I love this brush!! it is so versatile and applies liquid foundation very nicely, have not tried it yet for blusher, the only cons I can see is the white part gets dirty easily but is very soft and precise. I donīt use my 109 or 190 any more...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 feveragnes on 6/5/2012 10:10:00 AM more reviews by feveragnes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC 128 is a split fibre cheek brush that suits both creamy and powder foundation. It's very dense and compact, and the size is good enough for a small-medium face for loose powder or creamy foundation application. It's really versatile and what I love most about it is how stiff it is, attributed to the 2-sided flat surfaces backing up each side, so when I press any of the sides against my face, everything is sealed properly on my face. It works really well with my blushes, bronzers and 2 way cake too. Basically I just put this in my bag and it sorts out all I need for makeup for a day. Also, I have very dry sensitive skin, and tapping works better for me than stippling. The synthetic side works perfectly to apply sunscreen and cream on my face for touchups.

It doesn't shed and is easy to control, but it doesn't pack up lots of powder at one time. However, with such dense bristles, even a little colours/ powder can be pigmented on my face, and I am amazed by how precise it can scuplt my face when applying bronzers. What's more, my makeup powder is never wasted when tapping as it is ingrained tightly within the bristles, as opposed to how it looks like when I am using a big fluffy brush - the powder is flying around in the air.

It looks a bit weird but you'll be amazed by its quality and practicalibility! x

Bristles: 4/5
shape: 5/5
versatility: 5/5
application: 4.5/5
price: 4.5/5 (2 in 1 brush!)

Overall: 4.6/5

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rosie1644 on 5/21/2012 1:11:00 PM more reviews by Rosie1644

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

When the foundation first came out i got it just to add to my collection and had been with my other brushes (never used) until i was online looking at the Tom Ford foundation brush (white goat hair) that was compared to the Cover FX foundaiton brush. Well they are not the type of brush MAC compare to the 2 others. But anyway i went ahead and used to apply my Channel aqua compact and the next day my CdP foundaiton and i must say I AM LOVING THIS BRUSH FOR FOUNDAITON!! After i dont know how many months of just sitting on my dresser and not used it has been moved to the front and mostly used. I have used it now for a week or so and dont think i need to spend on Tom Ford brush.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* starbuck65 on 8/16/2011 6:43:00 PM more reviews by starbuck65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

As efrazier pointed out, this brush is great for smaller faces. Provided I keep the 116 and 168 in their brush guards they're fine and stay small and compact enough and I love the 130 but I bought it for cream blushes, that was the only reason I bought this brush. I don't think I need the split fiber but it's smaller and more dense than the 109, it doesn't shed like the 109 (nothing does), it's just a great size, soft, blends powder well...I also bought the 235 eye brush, because the natural bristle side can splay out on these brushes it's best to keep it in a brush guard but overall decent. Personally, I don't have an issue with anything made it China generally but MAC's short handled s/e brushes are made in China, I don't find them to be the same quality as the full size brushes and that's why I dont' buy the s/e's These split fibre brushes are made in China, I don't find anything wrong with the quality of the brush itself as I do with he s/e 's however, the split fibre brushes don't "feel" like MAC brushes, the handles are lighter, almost a hollow feel, they're different, a bit cheap feeling but again, the brush itself is great. Since they didn't cost as much as I had expected it was okay. Overall, great for blush, haven't used it for anything else....not really into the whole split fibre concept but I didn't let that get in the way of me from buying it, it looked interesting. It's a great idea for someone who can use both sides and doesn't feel the need to buy two separate brushes and for the price, you're getting two brushes, not bad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msdi2u on 8/12/2011 11:48:00 PM more reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This brush definitely gets the award for, "The Weirdest Face Brush in My Collection." It looked interesting when it was released and it got great reviews here (though only 2), so I thought I would order it because I am still in search of the perfect blush brush. Unfortunately, I'm still searching, because this brush is NOT it. This is a two-sided brush, and the only one of its kind I have ever encountered. It is two-sided on ONE side, if you could imagine. One half of the brush is white with black tips and kind of firm- like a liquid foundation brush- not like a skunk brush. The other half of the brush is with black hairs, like the MAC 116 (blush brush). Weird. I haven't mastered how to use this brush yet, and I'm not sure if I ever will. I have been using it to apply my loose powder blushes, but it seems to apply it streaky no matter what side I use. I'm sure this has the potential to be a very good brush-- but for what? If I ever find out the answer to that question, I will be sure to update my review. ;)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 efrazier on 7/11/2011 2:10:00 PM more reviews by efrazier

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like that I can get more than 1 use out of this brush. I use one side to apply my Face & Body liquid foundation and I use the other side to apply blush. Now I don't have to buy the 190 and the 116. This brush is great for someone with a smaller face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rayoflight121 on 7/5/2011 7:27:00 PM more reviews by rayoflight121

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Pros:
Very Soft
Made well, it has a nice weight to it
Muli-purpose
Buffs blush in nicely
Works with foundation perfectly

Cons:

None for now

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More MAC products

More Makeup Brushes products