Tarte • Tarte for True Blood • Palettes

rated 3.8(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 melmonster95 on 4/21/2013 10:57:00 PM more reviews by melmonster95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like the pallet a lot, the only think I can think of for not giving it five stars is that most of the colors are too dark for me to be using as an everyday look. Although I love using them for night time looks :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cydni on 2/22/2013 12:13:00 PM more reviews by Cydni

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It looked so gorgeous on display in the store when I bought it. Maybe my liking the show influenced the purchase more than I'd like to admit.
While the colors look vibrant in the pans once applied (even over UDPP) their not near as colorful as one would hope. Some produce too much fallout, are muddy or not very pigmented while a few are actually great (cant remember the names but I like the gold & red toned colors best).
Overall its a pretty box, with a few good shadows.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 faeriesmak2 on 1/24/2013 9:10:00 PM more reviews by faeriesmak2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was reading reviews on this palette after rediscovering it in a drawer of mine. I have had it for over a year now and have only used it twice. I really should have returned it. The shadows are not pigmented, they are muddy, some are powdery, and some are just a glitterbomb. They do NOT look like the same colors on as they do in the pan. I LOVE Tarte Amazonian Clay Blushes and their LipSurgence. But I am staying away from their eye shadows from now on. I will stick to Urban Decay or MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CaitlynJordan on 8/7/2012 6:28:00 PM more reviews by CaitlynJordan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am completely in love with this set. I use it every time I wear makeup and frequently without using any other shadow. I a am an avid UD junkie and have MAC as well, but this palette has definitely turned me on to Tarte. I am in LOVE :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissLeviathan on 7/16/2012 12:51:00 AM more reviews by MissLeviathan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is my go-to palette, I love it! Werewolf is my favorite, I wear it almost every day. There is a lot of variety, and the individual shadows are pretty large-quite a good value. There is some fallout, but compared to other brands, it's not that bad. There are a few shades I can't wear because they clash with my complexion, but the rest look fantastic! I'm also a big fan of the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ahs767 on 7/3/2012 1:54:00 PM more reviews by ahs767

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I waited forever to get this palette, and I wanted to love it so bad. Sadly I was disappointed. The colors aren't very pigmented and very chalky, the way they looked on my eyes isn't what they looked like in the pan. The amount of fall out made it extremely hard to work with, I put a tissue under my eye and still got glitter everywhere. I tried to do the Sookie inspired look and it just looked cheap.

On the plus side, I do actually really like the lighter colors in this pallette. Bayou and Dawn are very pretty, and I've gotten quite a bit of use out of those. The Light, Fairy and Dusk are also really great neutral colors. I thought I'd use this palette mostly for colorful going out looks, but I find I use it most for simple and neutral ones.

I avoid Waitress (and most of the glittery colors) like the plague, but the matte colors like Werewolf, Stake and Legend (though chalky) aren't terrible.

The packaging is awesome, but sadly that and the few good colors aren't enough to make me wanna repurchase this super pricy palette.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 acaciaw on 5/5/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by acaciaw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had this palette for almost a year now. I came here to check out the reviews, because I was just thinking today about how disappointing this palette has been for me and was wondering if others had had the same experience. It seems that I am in the minority. I don't use this palate. It was the first one I'd ever bought when I purchased it, so I didn't know any difference, but I wish I had because I would have returned it. I tried to use it the other day and I ended up with a look that I hated and looking like I had a black eye from all the fall out. I am surprised to read that the the pigmentation is great, because I would say it's terrible. All of the dark color look like a dark gray when you put them on your eyes.

As far as the extras go, the eyeliner hurts if you put it on your waterline. When I tried to use it on top, it never failed that some portion of it got too close to the inside of my eye and made my eyes water all day. I gave it to my sister. I loved the mascara, but it only lasted a week. I still have the primer, which seems to work fine. I'll probably use it when I run out of my current one (or maybe save it to use on someone who might need the lifting effect). Needless to say, I wish I had never bought this. I'll probably never buy a Tarte palette again.

I don't think they sell this anymore, but if you're thinking of tracking it down on ebay, don't! Buy an Urban Decay palette instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Morahmakeupblog on 4/12/2012 4:54:00 PM more reviews by Morahmakeupblog

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The packaging is gorgeous but 1/3 of the eyeshadows applies rather sheer and muddy, not at all what they look like in the pan. Otherwise, this palette has some great colors with interesting textures. The light colors are great as base colors and the dark colors can be used as liners. Most of them blend easily and do not crease on a primer. Overall a good palette for people not crazy about high pigmentation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lauramarsipan on 3/16/2012 1:55:00 AM more reviews by lauramarsipan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Confession: I am a big True Blood Fan so that influenced my decision to get this palette a lot. However, I do like this palette, especially the four matte shades. In my opinion the colors aren't as vibrant as say Urban Decay, and I find a lot of the gold/white/nude shadows especially are just a sheer highlight sparkle rather than a bold pop of color (which is honestly pretty great for work, so I can't complain.) Wearing the shadows over an eyeshadow primer is key with this palette. If you're going for a very bold and colorful look you can definitely pull it off with the darker colors but you'll need to kind of build up the color (which in turn can lead to creasing if you aren't careful.) I don't use the included eyeliner because its way too soft, I have to apply it with a brush, which completely defeats the purpose of a pencil, and the primer and mascara are just so so - so if you're excited about those things, don't be. This palette doesn't match urban decay's stuff for blendability and pigmentation imo, but its still pretty up there. Even though I don't use anything besides the eyeshadows its still a great value for the amount of colors you get. I'll leave a few thoughts about individual colors below:


Werewolf - a great brown shade. I wear browns a LOT so this gets a lot of use. I find the matte shades are the most pigmented in this collection.


Dusk - a brownish nude hue that reminds me of Buck from the naked palette, but it definitely pulls more red. I use it a lot, its a nice neutral.


Stake - I LOOOOVEEE this grey. It is so smokey and completely blendable. I smudge it along my eyeliner to create a workplace appropriate smoky eye that isn't as harsh as black, and I can also easily pair it with any of the other colors to tone down the glitters if I'm going to a dramatic look. My favorite color in the palette!


Legend: A basic, matte black. I don't like it as much as I love Sugarpill Bulletproof. I find it is a bit more smeary. I'm sure it would be great if I didn't already have Bulletproof - but I do. So.


Charmer, Telepath, and V: These are all red-hued shimmers that I find to be really lovely. Warm tones are my friend, so I use these a lot. Medium-good pigmentation to these shades.


Fairy, The Light, Dawn: I use these as highlight colors, and they're nice. Unfortunately the pigment in them seems really minimal and they all wind up looking the same on my skin.


Nocturnal: Another one I really like. This is a gorgeous dark blue navy glitter. I almost never wear blue eyeshadow (since I have blue eyes) but this is definitely a blue that I can wear for a fancy night out or a date.


Immortal: I like Urban Decay's Creep better as a black glitter. Not much else to say.


Waitress, Bayou, Moss, Glamour Me, and The True Death: I confess, I haven't tried these. They're all not quite what I normally wear. I keep waiting for that day when I'll have time to experiment with them and try to shape them into a look that works for me, but so far that day has not arrived.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mladkins on 2/4/2012 7:59:00 AM more reviews by mladkins

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Tarte is my #1 brand at the moment, so naturally I was surprised to be completely underwhelmed with this palette. Several of the lighter colors looked the same, I also didn't like the obvious glitter in some of them (waitress). But the dealbreaker for me was the darker shadows. No matter how careful I was, I could not apply them without giving myself a black eye. In other words, WAY too much fallout. I don't experience this with my other Tarte powder eyeshadows. After trying desperately to make it work, I ended up returning this palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Palettes products