Illamasqua Skin Base foundation

3.6

141 reviews

61% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENTS: AQUA (WATER), CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, GLYCERIN, HYDROGENATED POLYISOBUTENE, PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM (MINERAL OIL), PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, TALC, PEG-10 DIMETHICONE, MICA, DIMETHICONE, SILICA, CETYL PEG/PPG-10/1 DIMETHICONE, POLYMETHYL METHACRYLATE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, CYCLOMETHICONE, PHENOXYETHANOL, ISOSTEARIC ACID, STEARIC ACID, PEG/PPG-18/18 DIMETHICONE, METHYLPARABEN, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, NIACINAMIDE, SODIUM ASCORBYL PHOSPHATE, TOCOPHERYL ACETATE, DIMETHICONE/METHICONE COPOLYMER, SODIUM HYALURONATE,PARFUM (FRAGRANCE) [+/- MAY CONTAIN: CI 77491 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77492 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77499 (IRON OXIDES), CI 77891 (TITANIUM DIOXIDE), CI 77002 (ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE)].


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have a lot of skin problems. Including a dry forehead, very oily nose, acne scars and just regular acne.
I spend A LOT of money on foundation and concealer. But this foundation is one I would never buy again. The only good thing this foundation did was actually cover tiny zits.
This is the worst foundation I've ever bought for simple reasons:
- It was far too expensive for the amount of it you actually get
- If you touched it, it came off on hands, clothes, hair, anything. Therefore reapplication was constant. This was the most annoying part.
- It didn't cover dark circles
- It didn't last long at all. I wore it in to school, which lasts 6 hours, and it would have all been off by the time I got home.
- This foundation was NOT suitable for my oily patches at all. In fact, when my nose got oily it actually, for some reason, swirled around the foundation on my nose - causing me to have patches.

I would not advise anyone to buy this foundation, for me it is really not worth it.



on 2/28/2015 1:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This is a medium full coverage foundation and can look a little heavy if not carefully applied. The packaging is an odd shape - it's going to be hard to get the product out when it gets near the bottom. My main issue with this is that although there is a wide range of shades for mid toned skin there is really only one very pale shade and this is very very pink. If you are very pale and yellow toned then you are out of luck. I understand illamasqua recommend buying a darker shade in the correct yellow tones then mixing with the White base to lighten it but this means buying 2 shades which makes it rediculously expensive. If it's in your shade then it's a good foundation.


on 2/9/2015 10:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Pro's-
great shade selection.
Medium to high coverage.
Nice packaging.

Com's-
Not good for humidity and hot climate.
Doesn't last for very long.
Price point.


on 1/8/2015 12:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'll say upfront if you're looking for medium-full coverage or something very build-able, keep looking because this foundation is very light.

At $50 a bottle I would have moved on because, damn, that's expensive. However the MUA at Sephora was having a difficult time finding a foundation that matched my skin (I have yellow and pink tones which is not common) until she put this on (Shade 3.5). I was surprised how easily this blended in and how my face felt like there was no make up on it! My boyfriend persuaded me to splurge and get the bottle.

The bottle is the perfect size for portability and it's a squeeze bottle so application is fast and easy. I am lucky and have great skin so I just need something to cover the minute flaws and occasional zit or freckle. I dislike the look and feeling of layered/heavy make up so I really appreciate how this feels like there's nothing on your skin. As for staying power, I notice a tiny layer of residue on my cell phone at the end of the day but other wise it stays put and doesn't change color.

Conclusion: If you have normal to great skin and you can spare $50 with out much problem, this is a yes. My skin type is on the dry side of normal.


on 12/21/2014 3:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Loved this at first when I had it colour matched at the illamasqua counter, it was one of the hottest days of the year. It took about 3/4 hours to look oily, which is incredible because I am SUPER oily and I have to touch up within half an hour with powder or a blotting sheet. I thought this would help me with my oiliness, but now it doesn't, and I still get really oily:( nice foundation for wearing if you know you will be photographs though, as long as I powder first!


on 11/10/2014 8:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love this foundation! You can always tell in pictures when I have it on. You must apply it sparingly or build for fuller coverage, otherwise it sits on your skin looking like thick foundation. The bottle is great as the way it stands means no furious shaking to get the product out. Set with Illamasqua translucent loose powder or Dermablend setting powder. The only negative is the price compared to high st brands but it is worth it (particularly if you're very pale and struggle to find the right shade), but Illamasqua have a discount loyalty scheme and a few promotions a year. I have the compact foundation too but it doesn't apply smoothly after a few months. Much prefer skin base liquid! I use SB3.5 and am a MAC NC15.


on 11/2/2014 10:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

i do like this foundation, its nice for good coverage so i use when i go out. it is slightly on the pricy side and its a bit of a nightmare to get out of the tube. Probably won't buy again.


on 10/23/2014 12:06:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I initially started using this product, it had great coverage and didn't make me super oily. I had put it aside to use another foundation and came back to it and for some reason, it didn't suit my skin anymore. If you're looking for that dewy skin look, this will do it for you, but if you have oily skin, stay away! This made my skin even oilier looking and I found that the foundation slid as the day progressed - even after setting it. I would say that this is light coverage. I wouldn't recommend trying to layer this, as it would just make it oily. I loved the packaging. The shape is really unique and easy to dispense. Unfortunately, this product was just not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2014 4:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I happened late on a sale for Illamasqua with most everything sold except their foundation. Lots and lots of foundation in only two shades, 03 and their darkest color. Took a chance and got the 03 which turned out to be a perfect match. Not only that, it is such a gorgeous foundation that looks better than every favourite foundation I have ever owned. Using a damp beauty blender and really pressing it into the skin makes it last the entire day. The best thing is it seems to look better as the day goes on. I ended up going back and buying three more bottles but if I could have I'd have bought a dozen.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For a girl who usually sticks with BB cream and tinted moisturiser, this foundation is a godsend! It's light yet effective and doesn't feel heavy on the skin which is exactly what I was looking for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Illamasqua Skin Base Foundation Review by starlitmakeupchick



Top Rated Illamasqua Products

image

Hussy

68 reviews
Back to Top