Josie Maran Cosmetics Argan Illuminizer

4.3

48 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

De-ionized Water**, Glycerin**, Tricaprylin, Butylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Pentaerythrityl Tetraethylhexanoate, Steareth-20, Dimethicone**, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil*, Acrylates/Palmeth-25 Acrylate Copolymer, VP/Eicosene Copolymer, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Phenyl Trimethicone, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Xanthan Gum, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil**, Sodium Hydroxide. May Also Contain - Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)**, Iron Oxides (CI 77491**, CI 77492, CI 77499)**, Carmine (CI 75470)**, Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 30 Lake(CI 73360), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate**, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate**. *Organic **Natural


on 3/27/2015 1:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love love love this product! I apply to my cheekbones and it gives the most beautiful sheer glow. For more intense highlight, I put my Becca or Mary-Lou Manizer powder highlight over top of it. The only downside is as mentioned in other reviews, you have to be careful with the pump as it gives a lot of product.



on 3/3/2015 10:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was tired of the powdery cast of highlighting powders like NARS Albatross. Since I don't wear foundation, I don't tend to try liquid/cream highlighters. I'm MAC C7 and feel like many beloved highlighters pull too pink or yellow-green on my skin. The Josie Maran Illuminizer imparts a unique type of glow. It is void of huge glitter chunks so the sheen it leaves is very natural. The soft peach-gold shimmer blends nicely and if you use the correct amount, it is undetectable on the skin. My only issue is that I find it easy to dispense too much product due to the pump bottle. If you use this on your body (it looks phenomenal on the collarbones), I suppose the pump makes sense. Since I only use this on my cheekbones, I wish I could dispense half a pump each time. I can't speak to any of the argan oil skin benefits, but I am quite pleased with this product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2015 6:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't fall prey to the argan oil hype, I just like this product and it doesn't irritate my rosacea. I apply a dollop of my daily moisturizer in my clean hand and one pump of this illuminizer, combine and apply to my face. Mixing them creates like a bit of highlighter and a tinted moisturizer all in one. I don't think I could wear this all over if not mixed with the moisturizer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2015 9:52:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love the Stila Illuminizer but this pump is more sanitary and who doesn't want to take advantage of any opportunity to use a little oil on their skin? In the bottles the two look different but on the skin they have the same golden shimmer. The Josie Maran product has a shinier base, which you will make you 'dry glow' like mad if you use too much. (Yep, I made that expression up. It means your face will be shiny but it'll be dry to the touch, not slick or greasy). Add less to your foundation, if this is how you use it, than you think you'll need until you gauge the amount of glow that tickles your fancy.

Considering how little it takes to get one's glow on this bottle will last close to forever if you treat it like something precious. It expires in 12 months so use it as generously as you dare - on your decollete, brow bone, in your foundation, as a highlighter and added to body lotion. When you imagine alllll the many possibilities, this is quite an economical purchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2014 8:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is amazing. I use this 3 different ways; 1) mix with my primer to have a subtle glow, 2) with my foundation for a bit more of a glow, or to make a matte foundation that I like the texture of more glowy, and 3) as a highlight on my cheekbones and nose. This product is amazing. I love the shade, it works well with my skin-tone. It does not break me out or give me red bumps. I just love the way that it makes my skin look. I think this would especially be amazing in summer mixed in with a TM!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2014 7:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Just bought this the other day and I love it. I use it as a highlighter, just dot a small amount above my cheek bones and on my brow bone and blend. It gives a lovely glowing look, and can be built up in intensity for night time. I used it under a powder highlighter for a more intense look and it looked great. Packaging is nice, I like the glass bottle, however the pump probably squeezes a bit too much out, you need to be careful with it!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 11:11:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff! I can mix it with any foundation, BB cream or tinted moisturizer, and it makes my skin glow without being a disco ball......especially love it with my Shiseido SPF foundation to create more of a radiant finish- about 2 parts foundation, and 1 part illuminizer.....and the great part, it will last forever!!!! Highly recommend giving it a try...you can always take it back!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2014 1:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I thought I was going to love this when I swatched it on my hand it left a lovely soft sheen and the colour seemed very subtle blending beautifully into my pale skin , I couldn't get to the till quick enough ! However I wore it everyday for 2 weeks mixed into various foundations and tinted moisturiser but I just didn't see the subtle radiant glow i was looking for . I really like josie maran products and was very disappointed in this , it has such good reviews that I don't understand why it didn't work for me , maybe it's better as a highlighter on cheek and brow bone etc , it is worth a try but I recommend getting a sample first

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This illuminizer does exactly what it says. It illuminates, and catches light like no bodies business. Its beautiful on the cheekbones, on the brow, on the decollete, the shoulders, a tiny bit on the cleavage. Anywhere you want to highlight. My fav part is, it looks great without coming out looking like a disco ball. The price is a little steep, but if you get it on eBay, you can get it for a great price (I scored this gem for about $20 w/ shipping included), and a little bit goes a LOOONG way with this product. You seriously only need just a smudge here and there. I highly recommend be haze it's hard to find a product that works the way this does.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/11/2014 3:53:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

When I was younger, I had very oily skin, and spent a lot of time trying to be sure my face wasn't shiny. When I saw that this was both an illuminizer and had argan oil, I was a little hesitant. Again, I didn't want my face to look shiny, and also because these things can also be pretty dark and/or orange-y, and I didn't want to look like I was attempting to channel John Boehner. But I knew I could return it if I didn't like it, so I figured I'd give it a try.

I love this! One squirt from the bottle seems like it's way too much, but when you mix it with your foundation or tinted moisturizer, or whatever else you use, it blends in nicely. Once it's on your face, there is no shininess, and really not even any noticeable color/shade difference. Instead, your skin looks very healthy, like you have been taking a brisk walk, and a natural kind of brightness is there.

I recommend this product if you like to look a little bit extra healthy, but not bronzed or noticeably different.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Josie Maran Cosmetics Products

Back to Top