NYX • Soft Matte Lip Cream in Addis Ababa • Lips

rated 4.3(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Lcklein7beauty on 7/15/2014 1:59:00 PM more reviews by Lcklein7beauty

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I saw Ingrid Nilsen (missglamorazzi) with a beautiful hot pink lipstick.I had to get one.When I
was at CVS I saw NYX at an end cap and saw this beautiful lip color. I debated getting a bright butter gloss or this.I chose this because I had no real matte lip colors.I tried this out as soon as I purchased it.At first I wasn't seeing matte,it had a small sheen to it.It took a few minutes to dry but when it did i noticed it was quite drying.I very much recommend putting on a lip balm before applying this product.The price was 6 USD and the packaging is quite simple.I would probably purchase this again but maybe in a different color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FreedomDiva on 4/9/2014 8:45:00 AM more reviews by FreedomDiva

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

If you have skin with yellow undertones like me and have been looking for a hot pink lip colour that wouldn't clash with your skin, then THIS IS IT !!! this is not a very bright or true hot pink shade like it looks in the tube, it is more of a neutral hot pink colour.

The way I use this is that I first apply lip balm to soften my lips, then I apply a light coating of this to sheer it out, I don't put a full thick layer, that's not the effect I'm going for. If I don't put lip balm before, this could really emphasize my dry lips. The end result is a face-brightening slightly brighter than my natural lips colour, which is a look I'm loving nowadays :)

Lasting power is good, it will last for a few hours and through drinks of coffee or water, but it will wear out if you have a greasy meal that rubs against lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 funnygirlup on 7/6/2013 1:09:00 PM more reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

The colour is quite pretty and I like that it's matte. It's hard to find quality matte lip products. Upon application I found that the first application resulted in 'spotty' results, as I could still see my lips showing through. I added a bit more and achieved opaqueness but then was stuck with a lip gloss that refused to dry. It was beyond tacky and felt so odd my lips. I let it be and when I looked in the mirror about 1/2 an hour later I had a super bright lip line and a pale inner lip, and I still found the product tacky and uncomfortable. I am going to give it another try but am far from impressed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lmm419 on 5/13/2013 12:29:00 AM more reviews by lmm419

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Green    

First I'll just say that I am a big fan of these matte lip creams. They smell ahhh-mazing. I swear some days I want to wear one of the shades I own just because I want to smell it.

I'm also a fan of matte lipsticks in general so it's no surprise to me that I really liked these. I love how they glide on so smooth giving you the easy ability to even out the color everywhere before it dries. I don't find them to be THAT drying for a matte lipstick. As with any matte finish, I apply lip balm underneath and then apply the lipstick over it and I'm fine.

Addis Ababa is a gorgeous shade. The color of the tube seems a bit scary but don't be afraid! The color when applied is not as vibrant or in your face. It's a beautiful soft pink/purpley shade that looks great on my NC 20 skin tone, brown hair, green eyes. Lasting power is pretty good. Especially with this particular color. I noticed that hours later when it has worn off, it leaves behind a beautiful pink tint on my lips. It's very pretty.

I'll also say that I love how light these go on. Doesn't feel like you're wearing anything on the lips.

For the price and quality, you cannot beat these! Give them a try. The other colors I own are San Paulo, a berry pink, and Istanbul which is a pinkish/nude that suits my warm/yellow skin tone. I also want to get Antwerp, Monte Carlo, and Amsterdam.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 la18la on 3/2/2013 12:18:00 PM more reviews by la18la

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Oh wow! I didnt expect much from this, but it's just so wonderful. It's soft, like a feather but it's very pigmented. I don't feel it on my lips, but i definitely see it!

Its not sticky or glossy, so it almost reminds me of a lip stain, but better.

I wish they had more pink colors. But.. This one is wonderful because you can use it as a light wash of color or apply more for that hot pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rawortley on 11/13/2012 2:22:00 AM more reviews by rawortley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just don't understand why people keep saying this is a bright, hot or neon pink color! I mean several have went so far as to call it a dupe for mac's candy yum yum, which I have and it just isn't even close! I LOVE me some neon pink matte lips, like I said I have cyy, barry m shocking pink, kat von d backstage bambi (liquid), and many many more,I meanI even have the nyx shocking pink matte, and even its closer to being neon then this! I just don 't get it! It feels cool, kind of remind me of eyeshadow primer but not as drying and DEF not as drying or matte as the liquid kat von d (which I dont even care that it is, bcuz its so pretty) but after 10 to 20 mins it does dry down to a cool matte finish. But the color pulls to warm for me to like the color on myself. Im way way cool toned. It smells funny to me I can never figure out what it is and smells dont bother me to much but something is def funny about this smell. I might buy it again but NOT in this color!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gildoush22 on 11/6/2012 2:12:00 PM more reviews by gildoush22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

beautiful color once you apply it but after a few hours the color kinda changes into a more blue.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laurafergs on 8/24/2012 10:07:00 PM more reviews by Laurafergs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am in love with these things. And Addis Ababa is such a beautiful punchy colour.

I've found the swatches and descriptions of the colours of these have been really different from what I've experienced first hand. Alot of reviews that I read described this as a Barbie pink (which to me would be a bright hot 'pink' pink) but I feel it's more of a magenta than a true pink. It's more #CC0066 than #FF0099 (hexadecimal web colour codes) but I imagine on different skin tones it would show differently. I'm quite pale with neutral to yellow undertones, so it shows up really brightly against my skin.

I won't say anything about the formula, because it's already been said.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlcoop on 6/10/2012 7:22:00 PM more reviews by jlcoop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I recently purchased the British Cosmo mag for the month of June 2012 and wanted to copy the cover girl, Mollie King, as she had beautiful neon pink lipstick on. I searched everywhere, even purchasing the brighest shade 32 Makeup For Ever lipstick AND Fuschia Flash by Smashbox, but neither came close to the desired effect. I randomly stopped in Ulta today and was surprised to find this color-- I already have the baby pin one-- and when I tried it on, I was more than excited!!! This color is a super hot pink, extremely pigmented lip creme that dries to a matte in about five to ten minutes. I am in love and will definitely repurchase!!! Can't wait to wear it to concerts this summer with a cute braided hairstyle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KellynElise on 6/6/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by KellynElise

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was unsure of which color to try of the Soft Matte Lip Creams, so I went with the brightest. I was not disappointed! Addis Ababa is a beautiful bright Barbie pink that--on me--does not lean neither cool nor warm. It applies very smoothly and creamy, but as promised does dry to a matte finish. It's not sticky or hard to work with, and it's a gorgeous color for the warmer months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lips products