BeneFit Cosmetics • They're Real • Mascara

rated 3.5(1507 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 BlondeInTheCity on 4/22/2014 5:58:00 PM more reviews by BlondeInTheCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My HG mascara from the first try! I have long, straight eyelashes and They're Real can hold a curl all day whilst still giving volume. I find the formula builds nicely with two coats for a more dramatic look. I can see why it has been said to be difficult to remove but I have not had any problems when used with Gatineau Floracil. Well done, Benefit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katenorman17 on 4/22/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by katenorman17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Received this for my birthday and hated it the first time I wore it because it clumped so badly and pulled all my lashes down and flaked... So not good I tell you. I took it all off and re applied with only a little more success the next time. It was way too sticky and liquidy; I left it to dry up a bit and this did improve it a lot. I then used this for just casual days- stroking your lashes with mascara and not wiggling and blinking and coating it on for a more dramatic look because it does not work with this mascara. I now use this for everyday looks and if I want a dramatic look I use my TopShop false lashes mascara first and then use this after and that gives a perfect dramatic look. Would purchase again but would be a bit reluctant because it is expensive at £18.99.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Amandazzle on 4/21/2014 6:32:00 PM more reviews by Amandazzle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is not at all worth the hype. I was looking to invest in a new mascara, and after watching a billion youtube vids and reading thousands of rave reviews I decided 20$ was fair for a mascara that so many people seemed to love.
I've waited a month to decide whether or not I really didn't like the mascara, and over time, it has only gotten worse.
My lashes are insanely short with a moderate thickness. A plain lengthening mascara looks kind of spidery on me, so I always look for the full package when it comes to mascara.
When I first started using this mascara, it was way too watery and could only coat my lashes. The brush also hurt my upper waterline as I tried to apply mascara to the root of my lashes and didn't transfer product (due to the short, hard bristles) as I normally want my mascaras to do to give a type of eyeliner effect. I let this go considering it was a new tube, gave it a few pumps of air, and tried it again the next week. Now that it dried up a little bit, it was working pretty great. But this only lasted about a week before it got insanely dry. It became completely dried out as if i've had it for years (keep in mind i avoided it drying up anymore). Now when I apply it, it literally just leaves little spider egg looking things in my lashes. Maybe I just got a faulty tube, but I definitely wish I could get my 20$ back and trade it for two drugstore brand tubes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Duchess99 on 4/21/2014 4:31:00 PM more reviews by Duchess99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from Sephora in sample size and have since purchased full size. I LOVE this mascara, along with all the other mascaras that benefit makes. I do not use any other ones! They extend my lashes (especially this one)! All the ladies at my local drug store cosmetics counter rave about it too. It's a bit clumpy, but I always use an eyelash comb right after application. If you are looking for a reliable, 'extend my lashes' mascara, this is it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cellyfrmdavally on 4/20/2014 5:42:00 AM more reviews by cellyfrmdavally

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only mascara i will use and i've used everything from loreal to lancome. My eyelashes are very thick, straight, and long, so they are very hard to curl and most mascaras just weigh them down even more. My eyelashes can never hold a curl but with this mascara it will last ALL DAY. I can literally take a nap and wake up with my lashes looking great. It never clumps or flakes on me. Maybe some people are putting too much on?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Femmeboi on 4/19/2014 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Femmeboi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I can't believe this is such a popular mascara because I really disliked it!

It's funny that the mascara is called "They're Real!" because there is nothing convincing or natural looking about the product. Every time I put it on, even when I tried to put on very little, my whole face just screamed "HELLO WORLD! I AM WEARING A BUNCH OF HEAVY MASCARA!" It wasn't like vampy bombshell dramatic. It was just like a bunch of black paint or grease hanging out on my lashes. This made my lashes look spidery, cakey, goopy, and gross!

Even after a few hours, little crumbs of the mascara would fall off my lashes and wander off into the surrounding eye area, ruining any eyeshadow / undereye concealer I was wearing and making my eye makeup look super smudgy. Also, the formula is awful for sensitive eyes! The mascara made my eyes tear up if I kept it on throughout the day and sometimes result in my eyes crying irritated black tears.

Skip this "cult favorite." If you're looking to splurge on a high quality mascara, this is not the one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Mulan1 on 4/17/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Mulan1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm not a fan of this mascara at all. I got this as a deluxe sample from Seohora. Every time I have used it I've had problems with the mascara clumping and then bits of clumps eventually falling into my eye when I would blink. It didn't happen every time I blinked, but at least once or twice each time I used it. At first I thought I maybe applied too much so the next time i used it i applied less and yet again, i had sharp clumps fall into my eye. I usually use about 3 coats of mascara regardless of the brand and maybe that's a lot with this product, but with other mascaras i don't seem to have this problem. I don't recommend this to anyone that uses a lot of mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kristin12b on 4/17/2014 10:02:00 AM more reviews by kristin12b

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this mascara. It makes my eyelashes look very long. I have repurchased it three times and will continue to do so. I have no problem removing it with Vaseline.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 katiebaby87 on 4/17/2014 1:35:00 AM more reviews by katiebaby87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like the unusual brush and the way it distributes mascara over the lashes. If I curl my lashes first, this gives me a lovely wide-eyed look, with really long, defined, super black lashes. That said, the mascara itself has a tendency towards clumping, so you need to be careful and precise when applying.

I don't think I'll repurchase it, and what seals the deal for me is how annoying it is to remove. When I get home from work, I like to clean my face with a makeup remover wipe, then use a gentle cleanser and face cloth in the shower. This stuff feels really gummy and greasy when I'm trying to get it off and it sticks to my lashes like crazy, so much so that my normal routine just does isn't enough to remove it all, and I really don't have time for that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mhoelzer2988 on 4/16/2014 3:03:00 PM more reviews by Mhoelzer2988

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used a lot of drugstore mascaras in my life but this is the first higher end mascara I've used and it's definitely the best or one of the best I've used. I just love the little brushes on the end . They really help to give volume to the lashes. I've always preferred the plastic hard brushes over the other ones because they separate better. This mascara goes on very wet and dark. It's the only one I've used that for some reason doesnt get on my top lid when I'm putting it on which is great. It is kind of hard to get off even with makeup remover (of course I have an off brand of that) but I'll continue to use it anyways .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Mascara products