Cetaphil • Moisturizing Lotion • Moisturizers

rated 3.7(843 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 GirlyGirlLover1234 on 7/15/2014 2:07:00 AM more reviews by GirlyGirlLover1234

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff has saved me! I remember using a different moisturizer before this one, it made my skin dry somehow.. But this one has never done that! It also last you A LONG time. All I need is about a dime size for my whole face. It doesn't smell weird & the packaging is average. Nothing amazing but nothing bad either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Arbybarbie1979 on 7/8/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Arbybarbie1979

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Great stuff, been using it for years and have been meaning to leave a review.

I apply this every morning before I apply foundation. I love that it's fragrance free as well as being paraben free. So many lotions for your face contain fragrance and it's completely useless plus it irritates the skin. This is lightweight and hydrates well. I use it all over my body. Sometimes I put this on my face overnight if I'm dry, but that doesn't happen too often because I have oily skin. This does not cause breakouts for me. I love that it also doesn't irritate my legs even when putting on right after shaving.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Shony101 on 7/7/2014 9:41:00 PM more reviews by Shony101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily-combination skin and wouldn't normally go for a product like this but this winter my face became extremely dry so I decided to get a more moisturising lotion. After hearing so many good reviews about cetaphil I decided this product was the way to go and boy was I wrong. This stuff gave me clusters of super painful pimples in places I've never had problems before (cheeks and chin) that I'm still battling to get rid of. My forehead became covered in tiny little bumps which I also can't get rid of. It's been almost two months since I used this and I still can't get my skin back to how it used to be. Will defiantly not be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taylor123 on 7/6/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by taylor123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

PROS:
-fragrance free
-very moisturizing
-very affordable and you get a very generous amount for the price. 11 dollars for 16 oz is great
-easy to find, walgreens, cvs, kmart, walmart, rite aid ect.

CONS:
-clogged my pores and gave me some cystic breakouts on my cheeks. pretty painful and i'm still trying to get them cleared up
-it feels very greasy to me, i always feel like my pillow cases are sticking to my face and it doesn't feel like it absorbs into my skin. Dry or normal skins would probably love it, but my oily-combo skin didn't, even though this is meant for all skin types.
-i tried this one thinking it would be lighter than the daily advance moisturizer which was also too rich but i didn't find much of a difference between the two. I think they should make one for oily/acne prone people!
-doesnt do well under makeup. makes my foundation and primer very hard to blend and work with and I feel like my face got even oilier throughout the day.

All in all I won't be using this on my face ever again but I think it could work nicely as a body moisturizer. Cetaphil is supposed to be a good brand for problematic skin and my own dermatologist recommended it to be as well but this wasnt the right face moisturizer for me. I personally prefer Cerave's moistuzer over this one because it's lighter and not greasy. Everyone's skin is different so it might work for you but I wasn't too impressed.Sorry!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* baldymonster on 6/29/2014 10:31:00 PM more reviews by baldymonster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't have much to say about this product that I haven't already said in my other reviews for Cetaphil lotions and cleansers: practical, hygienic, non-irritating, fragrance-free, water-based, no frills, etc. If you've read any of my latest reviews you'll know that I adore them. This one's probably my favorite of the moisturizers. As much as I like the cream version, the fact that that one comes in a jar is not ideal, and it's a little heavy for summer. This one's just right.

Cetaphil is a little pricier than the rest of the usual drugstore offerings, but for me, it's well worth it for the results. Actually, I'm pretty sure it saves me money, since the better my skin looks, the less makeup I find myself using over it, and I no longer waste money trying out other lotions. As long as my skin continues to look and feel this good with Cetaphil, I'll be a user for life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jinitakalaiya on 5/23/2014 10:09:00 AM more reviews by jinitakalaiya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily, acne-prone skin. I decided to use this product due to the pharmacist at Boots preferring this over Vichy. I totally regret buying it! Broke me out after 2 days of using it. I got large cystic acne which stopped when I was on tertacyclin. My spots are large, red, hard and really painful :( Stopped using it immediately and just using homemade remedies to calm my poor skin....It leaves the skin feeling oily and heavy. Clogged my pores and too thick as a facial moisturiser. Wouldn't buy the product ever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 krose03 on 5/18/2014 2:04:00 AM more reviews by krose03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I get really bad eczema in the winter and summer when conditions can get extreme and this moisturizer works wonders for me. I buy the round tub of it and it lasts forever. Usually moisturizers make my eczema worse or don't help at all but this didn't irritate it and it gradually started to let up and now I can finally say I haven't struggled with it in a long time. I would definitely recommend this for someone with dry skin problems it's a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 4/16/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have combo/oily skin. I cannot use this product on my face because it makes me break out. So I use this for my dry patches on my body (elbows and knees).

I wouldn't repurchase this because I prefer other lotions for my body.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlackHoleDiver on 3/31/2014 1:47:00 PM more reviews by BlackHoleDiver

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Let's talk about what makes the "perfect" moisturizer.
First of all, does such a thing exist? Well, I guess not, since everyone has different skin and tolerances to fragrance. But I think everyone can agree that you need certain qualities in a lotion to make it suitable.
One: the smell. Ok, some people love heavy perfumes (earthy, floral, fruity, etc) and others (like me) HATE fragrances. Cetaphil is free of any scent, which makes it ideal for my purposes, but even if you like the smell of lilacs or apples lingering on your skin, you can always use actual perfume. So the odorless aspect IMO gives a point to cetaphil, since you can add but don't have to subtract.
Two: the consistency. Being a lotion, this is more water-based than oil-based as creams are. It is a little watery and takes a minute or two to really absorb, but is doesn't leave any stains on fabric and ultimately, hydrates pretty well. It feels different than something like St. Ives or even Suave, which may absorb faster but leave a strange, sticky feeling behind, almost like plastic coating the skin. You may not have to wait long but even in the shower, mineral oil lotions seem to cling. This one rinses off and doesn't really feel like anything. If it seems heavy in summer, it can be used in small amounts, which solves the problem while leaving skin soft. Of course, if you prefer those quick-acting lotions, this may not be for you.
Three: the packaging. Let's face it, we want to be hygienic. Cetaphil comes in tubes and pumps, and even a travel size squeeze bottle. You don't have to worry about contamination. I hate jars. They're just not that practical. These, however, are the portrait of convenience. Score! Male or female, you can carry a small one with you most anywhere without worrying about the jar spilling out its contents, or unsanitary hands reaching inside. Every product should be like this!
All in all, I give this lotion two thumbs up. I love the zero fragrance, it doesn't feel like plastic, hydrates well and goes with me everywhere. It may not be the greatest creation of mankind but it's a basic lotion that makes no promises other than softer skin.:)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 daniellecwz on 3/24/2014 3:30:00 AM more reviews by daniellecwz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lotion. It is affordable with a large amount of product that will last you a while and simple but it works very well. It keeps my body smooth, soft, and i've had dry bumps on my upper arms for years but after using this lotion, the bumps went away and my arms are left very smooth. It got greasy when i tried using it on my combination skin face but it works well on my body.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cetaphil products

More Moisturizers products