Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence Sunscreen SPF50+ PA+++

4.5

87 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Alcohol, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Lauryl Methacrylate/Sodium Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Diethylamino Hydroxybenzoyl Hexyl Benzoate, Dimethicone, Acrylates/C10-30 Acrylate Crosspolymer, Glyceryl Stearate, Agar, Polyvinyl Alcohol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Citrus Grandis, Citrus Medica Limonum, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis, Xylitol, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Potassium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, BHT, Fragrance


on 8/11/2015 1:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is one of my two favorite sunscreens this year, and it'll be on the list for some time to come. The other is Biore Aqua Rich Watery Gel, but that's another review...

This is an every-day sunscreen. It's not water or sweat resistant, nor does it control oil. It's pretty basic, but it does basic very well. The protection is excellent (SPF 50/PA++++) and the finish is wonderful. After it dries down, I barely feel anything on my skin. It's not moist or dewy and it's not matte or dry. It feels like skin. Maybe skin with a light coating of serum.

I've used this for almost a month, and it doesn't break me out or clog my skin. It also doesn't seem to be drying for me either. I was a little leery of the alcohol content, but it doesn't seem to be a problem. I can smell it, alongside the citrus-y scent they put in, for a few minutes when first applied, but all scent dissipates quickly. I do need to be careful not to get it in my eyes (that stings!). Once it's on, it doesn't burn my eyes, even when I sweat.

Reapplication is a breeze as well - this never builds up or gets heavy with more than one coat.

Removal is also a breeze - this washes right off with regular cleanser. I use cleansing oil most of the time (just because) but on the days I've been lazy, my foaming Cerave takes it all off with no residue.

Highly recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/8/2015 11:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the body sunscreen that i keep repeating to purchase it again again and again! I love it so much, it doesn't make me feels thick and uncomfortable. I feels smooth after i applied it on my body.


on 8/6/2015 7:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I like taking this sunscreen to the beach with me and showed my girlfriends it and they went crazy over it. We all buy it now.


on 8/1/2015 6:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My product is called Biore UV Aqua Rich Smooth Watery Gel SPF 50 / PA ++++. I bought this about 7 weeks ago so it's time for a review.

I try to experiment with sunscreens because my favorite ones always seem to end up being discontinued or reformulated. I tried this Biore sunscreen because of the rave reviews here and elsewhere. The price (on Amazon) was also very reasonable. I got a 90mL bottle for $9.

Unlike a lot of other Asian sunscreens, this one does not have a strong alcohol scent. Instead, it has a very light, slightly sweet, fresh lemony fragrance that is very pleasant and fades quickly. It does not burn my eyes like my Shiseido sunscreen did.

The texture is interesting. It is less runny than typical, chemical-based sunscreens with a very light, gel-cream texture. It truly does feel 'watery' as you're rubbing it into your skin. It absorbs pretty quickly, but leaves a slightly tacky feeling which I don't mind since it doesn't seem to interfere with my makeup application. I have non-oily, mostly combination skin and the end result is a bit shinier than I like so oilier people may not like this stuff. Since it's summer and my skin is in good condition, I don't mind the dewy look. I just have to blot a few times during the day.

The protection is excellent. I was getting some color with my previous sunscreens and found my face had paled out a little after several weeks of using this as my daily sunscreen. Some old acne marks have also noticeably faded.

This has not broken me out or caused any other problems for me. I recommend this sunscreen for anyone looking for good protection in a nice formula at a reasonable price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2015 4:18:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Disclaimer: I cannot wear this as a face sunscreen. The Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence breaks me out like no other.

However, I wear this as a body sunscreen, as I like its watery texture that doesn't leave my skin feeling sticky nor uncomfortable. It also provides good protection from the sun SPF50+ PA+++ (they have since increased the PA rating to PA++++) and at around RM30 (or RM26 when there's an offer going on), it doesn't break the bank, is small enough for me to slip into my handbag to carry to work and its wonderful packaging prevents spillage.

Those who cannot tolerate too much alcohol in their products, do be careful of this as there is quite a bit of alcohol in this suncreen!

I suffer from keratosis pilaris, or bumps on my arms and this product does aggravate my skin condition, so what I do is apply a different sunscreen on my arms while the rest of the body takes to this very well.

It's cheap, cheerful and keeps my sensitive skin from burning. Have gone through over 20 tubs now, and I can't see myself being without this unless something better comes along. =D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2015 2:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a review for newest formula 2015 with SPF 50 PA ++++

if you are hunting for an HG sunscreen but haven't succeed for one...if you feel like you tend out to break out for every sunscreen you've put on your face...or the ones did not break you out, but made your face oilier/greasy in just midday.. you've tried number of brands from European/ US/ Korea sunscreens....THEN, you may consider that your face does not like anything with "waterproof/water resistant" formula? I have just found out about it recently, but i can say it's difficult to find non waterproof sunscreen nowadays. why? Because everyone wants a sunscreen that stay all day, people are lazy to reapply, not to mention it can help with oil control. but, it actually help or just damage your skin? Oil control is good but little do you know it can my your skin dehydrated? I tried Innisfree No Sebum sun milk before, it absorbed quickly but later it dried out my face so badly, it made my cheek pores looked so open, and my face started to produce oil to make the balance.

Then, thanks God i gave this cheap Biore a chance to try. I tried the old formula before but I didn't like it. But the new formula is completely different. i was really surprised how quickly it absorb into my skin, plump it and hydrate it so well. i use it daily for a week now, in midday i wash my face with plain water and reapply sunscreen. Does not break me out even one pimple to my surprise. How amazing it is!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is my favorite sunscreen. I have tried a TON of sunscreens and have come to find out that they only type that I don't mind wearing are Japanese sunscreens.
My previous favorite was Shiseido Senka, but I found that I was still getting quite a bit of color while wearing it.
Then I ordered a bunch of French SSs and, although they are better than U.S suncreens in terms of wear-ability, they are still heavy when layered under makeup.

Biore Aqua Rich Watery Essense has the consistency of a light gel. It is actually refreshing on the skin and dries almost immediately. And it wears well under makeup.
The only downside is that it doesn't hold up to sweating in the sweltering summer heat.

I live in the humid side of the surface of the sun... it is hot and muggy here year round. And because we have a very high UV Index and I have melasma, I have to wear sunscreen all the time.

If I had good skin, I could slather anything on and settle it with powder. But because I have melasma, acne and PIH (jealous?), then I have to wear concealer and foundation.
Finding a good sunscreen that provides adequate protection while playing nice with my makeup and not feeling like I slathered Desitin on my face seemed like an impossible task.

I found this sunscreen on Amazon with Prime and it is still reasonably priced.

I recently found a very similar formula: Biore Aqua Rich Watery GEL and I have been testing it and liking it. You get about 40% more product for about $1 more.
So far I am liking it. And I will write a separate review for the Gel as soon as I have a definitive verdict.

Thus far, Biore Aqua Rich Watery Essence is my most favorite sun protection product for every day use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/20/2015 12:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Good price and easy to apply very sheer and thin


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Disclaimer: The product I have is labeled PA++++, but I couldn't find a product listed as such so maybe they just updated their formula. I'm assuming the product I have is the one being reviewed here, as I've never seen the PA+++.

I LOVE THIS. I've been attempting to wear sunscreen every day since I was maybe a pre-teen (super pale and I burn when I'm outdoors for more than like a minute) but I've been woefully inconsistent because I'd never before found a facial sunscreen that I could tolerate, let alone one that I loved using.

For context: my skin is textbook-definition dry (not dehydrated) and I'm very pale with neutral (probably leaning warm) undertones. This means that white cast (because of how pale I am) and shininess (because my skin couldn't do dewy if it tried, let alone greasy) are not problems I'm concerned with.

Many American chemical sunscreens make me either break out or they irritate my skin horribly and make it stingy and red. All sunscreens I've tried have somehow gotten into my eyes, which, as a contact-wearer, is the worst kind of pain. I had some luck when I found Laneige SPF40 at Target, which is a physical sunscreen from a Korean skincare brand. I liked it, but it was thick and took a while to sink in, left a slight cast (not awful on me, but it would probably show up in flash photos), and was generally just a bit of a pain to use, as sunscreen tends to be. I'd heard so much about the Biore Watery Essence that I thought I would give it a shot. I bought a 2-pack on Amazon for $20-ish.

Oh man, I LOVE it. It's the only sunscreen I've ever been excited about wearing. The consistency is definitely thinner than most other sunscreens I've tried. It's a pale yellow color and it feels like a light lotion. It goes on so smoothly and sinks in instantaneously, and I use the recommended 1/4 tsp (usually more, to be honest). It dries to a matte but not dull finish, which I love because I use Nivea creme in the morning, which can leave me a tiny bit shiny. It's so lovely to apply makeup over that I don't use a primer. It's not water-/sweat-proof, but I've reapplied over face makeup (which had been set using a setting spray) without too much of a problem -- ymmv if you tend to wear a lot of face makeup that needs to stay put.

I know some people worry about the potentially drying effects of the alcohol. As I mentioned, I have textbook dry, almost-literally-doesn't-produce-oil skin, and I haven't had this problem. I moisturize heavily before applying the sunscreen (to be fair, I moisturize heavily anyway) and it's never dried out my skin.

The only downside is the price, and even that's not awful. I probably go through a tube in 3-4 weeks -- I didn't expect it to last this long, but it has! I only use it for my face because my body skin isn't sensitive so I use cheap baby sunscreen everywhere else. $10 for 3-4 weeks of sun protection isn't awful for me, but it is annoying to have to order more sunscreen all the time. Luckily, you can ship it using Amazon Prime so it truly is just $10 a tube, no shipping fees. The containers themselves are small, but I like the size as it makes it easy to travel with.

Overall, I HIGHLY recommend. I'm going to also try the UV Watery Gel, which I know some people prefer, but I'm very happy with this for now!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2015 10:26:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great product, doesn't break me out or have a weird white color. I use it everyday. It's great under make up.


Back to Top