Essie • Borrowed and Blue - Wedding Collection 2011 • Polishes

rated 4.1(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 DiaryofaDyme on 5/14/2014 2:47:00 AM more reviews by DiaryofaDyme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of the prettier baby blues I've seen. Though it applies slightly streaky(you need @ least 2 coats), It's extremely durable(I wore it for 2 weeks and it barely chipped) and like other Essie polishes, it's finish is shiny, thick, and beautiful(You don't even need a top coat with this one). I chose this shade while getting a mani(it came in a mini), but if I'd find it around, I'd purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kadytheredpanda on 12/5/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by kadytheredpanda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Green    

Borrowed and Blue is one of my favorite blue polishes, if not my absolute favorite. I adore this sweet shade of baby blue. B&B is perfect for a spring day and does not turn my fingers lobster red against it. It's a breeze to apply, only needing two coats to achieve opaqueness, and lasts for most of a week unless I pick at it. If I could never find this polish again or my bottle smashed I would be devastated. One of Essie's best, for sure.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Trillstayovoxo13 on 8/3/2013 11:00:00 AM more reviews by Trillstayovoxo13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

in my experience with borrowed and blue by Essie it was a beautiful color that achieved opacity in 3 thin coats and chipped frequently. I wish it lasted longer. but I do love the color so id repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MakeupManiac5699 on 2/23/2013 3:51:00 PM more reviews by MakeupManiac5699

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have very fair skin, and I got this as a Christmas gift because I wanted to try out an Essie polish. I actually REALLY like this color! To get an opaque finish, I only had to use one coat! With a top coat, it goes 7 days without chipping, and it is just the most GORGEOUS ice blue! If you can't already tell by all the exclamation points, I'll likely be repurchasing this ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kaybug34 on 5/19/2012 6:50:00 PM more reviews by Kaybug34

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely love this color, but the application is super streaky even after 2 coats. It also dries a bit chalky if you don't use a topcoat. I will finish the bottle, but will not be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabriellavascocastro on 5/18/2012 1:13:00 PM more reviews by gabriellavascocastro

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I loooooove this blue. It makes me look like I have some color, great way to start summer off. It is a cool toned, stark baby blue that is opaque in 2 coats. I love it! My boyfriend also loves this on me! I always get asked what it is when I wear it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* timothybcat on 5/9/2012 4:27:00 AM more reviews by timothybcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a gorgeous shade of pale, pale baby blue. It's a nice blue to have when you don't want your nails to scream BLUE. It has not one trace of yellow to it, so I'm not sure how it would look if you were olive-toned and pale, but with a tan I'm sure it's beautiful. It's very pigmented and you can definitely get full coverage with two coats, but the application is rather streaky, so it's really a b***** to work with but topping it with Seche Vite right after the 2nd coat really helps. I like to layer it under a single layer of All That Glitters, a look that reminds me somehow of a Faberge egg. So beautiful. A perfect bridal blue.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nanni84 on 2/23/2012 8:21:00 AM more reviews by nanni84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just uploaded two pictures of this polish. The color looked very pretty in the bottle. It is a very pale and creamy ice blue. No shimmer what so ever. I had some difficulties putting it on, I generally don't like the brushes in Essie polishes. It has good coverage in 2 coats, but it makes my hands look dead. Not a color for everyday use. Would not buy again. I'm putting mine up for swaps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nicolerh on 11/16/2011 10:40:00 AM more reviews by nicolerh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this color and wrestled with myself for WEEKS on if I would spend that much on a bottle of nail polish (as I've never spent more than a dollar on one), but I finally gave in and knew I couldn't live without it. The color is a little difficult to apply, as some of you said, but the next day I noticed large cracks across my fingers... not chips, but big crack lines. I've never had a problem like this with a cheap nail polish, and it's got me worried about trying any other essie polishes.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 10/29/2011 6:50:00 PM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had brought my own bottle of (now d/c'ed) St. Barth's Blue to get for my pedi - but saw this (Borrowed and Blue) in a mini bottle - so I tried it. Much more opaque than St. Barth's (and still streaky). I opted for St. Barth's. This is nice - more robin's egg-y (or sky-blue?) pastel blue. But I like St. Barth's sheerness and pewter cast better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products