Ole Henriksen Truth Serum

3.4

273 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Calcium Ascorbate, Sorbitol, Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Euphrasia Officinalis Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Oleth-20, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Benzophenone-4, Sodium Hyaluronate, Thioctic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Citric Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Fragrance (Parfum), Yellow 6


on 5/2/2015 3:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this product; it is natural, smells great, goes on nicely. The pump in the bottle works well. However, there was no effect. I was looking for something that felt moisturizing to my skin, but it just felt like it sat on top and didn't absorb. I tried the big bottle of it and I found no difference in my skin at all. I have combination skin, it didn't break me out, but it also didn't clear up any dry spots that I did have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/29/2015 11:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this in a sample trio at sephora. I couldn't tell you if this worked or not. I saw no difference in my skin whatsoever. I'm looking for a regime that will make my skin look good without makeup and this wasn't it. I didn't break out or anything negative, just nothing innately positive either. I will not buy this again.


on 4/6/2015 6:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Hmm, I feel this serum is just average. It doesn't do anything for my skin and its smell is bordering on offensive. Would not repurchase.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I recently chose a deluxe sized sample of this serum for my 100 point beauty inside reward from Sephora. In the past, I have typically become irritated and/or broken out from most of the vitamin C serums I tried, however, I spend a lot of time outside in the sun so my skin can definitely benefit from the benefits of a topical vitamin C serum. I decided to try this out because of the popularity and great reviews.


I have used this for a few weeks now, and I have not become irritated or broken out. It feels very gentle and doesn't sting when I apply it. Overall, my skin looks healthier, clearer, brighter and more radiant. It is not greasy, sticky or heavy. The scent is kind of like an almost artificial, sickeningly sweet orange syrup, but it doesn't bother me very much and it doesn't linger. I will continue using this to maintain the "glow" it gives my skin.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

I got this as a 100 point sample from sephora (honestly, all my high end skincare products are samples) and I really love the smell and it sinks in quickly. :D My skin is sensitive to fragrance but this is absolutely fine, actually it seems to be making my skin better. I'm still debating on whether or not to buy the full size.


on 3/4/2015 8:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It seems like most products with Vitamin C as a main ingredient makes my skin itch here and there upon initial use. It is an ingredient I really want to include in my skincare regimen for brighter skin, so I just deal with it. As long as it doesnít ruin it, like cause acne or marks, or continue for more than a few days.

This product was part of a gift set I got on sale after the holidays from JCPenneyís Sephora. The booster has a citrus scent, but itís not as strong as some other Vitamin C products do. Itís a great wake-me-up in the mornings (which is the only time I use this product). One pump is only enough for both cheeks and a little bit on my forehead, two pumps for entire face. Itís has almost an oil-like consistency, but not sticky and Iíve never had any issues with my face feeling oily after using this product. It absorbs into the skin fairly quickly & adds a little additional moisturize to my skin.

This review might seem pretty short & perhaps useless, but Iím trying to keep track of things Iíve tested and worth re-purchasing or not. I most likely wonít be repurchasing this after I finish the bottle. It was one of those products that I didnít have an ďa-ha!Ē moment with after a few uses. Perhaps an edited review may happen if I stop using it and notice my skin isnít as supple or bright, but right now, itís just OK. For $48 regular price at Sephora, there might be something better out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2015 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this serum. It doesn't leave my skin greasy at all, which is a marvel in it's own right. The citrus scent is a little on the strong side, but I actually find it quite pleasant in the morning. After less than a week of using this along with the Sheer Transformation moisturizer and Invigorating Night Treatment I definitely noticed a difference in my skin.

While it's a little on the pricey side, I do believe it's worth it. Plus the "Three Little Wonders" sets that include the moisturizer and night treatment are a great value.


on 2/15/2015 10:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Made me break out so bad.
Even on my neck where I brought the product down to.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2015 9:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this product as part of the "3 Little Wonders" set. For my oily skin, the serum gave me just enough moisture to get me through the day. I noticed some reviewers didn't like the smell, but I thought the citrus scent was nice and not too overwhelming. The packaging was great, and it made it very easy to apply the serum without contaminating it. While my skin didn't feel soft after using it, it did make it look brighter over time. But since my skin is still young, it's hard to say whether or not it made a difference other than in the tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2015 8:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I've been wanted to try this serum for a while now, ever since it became popular on the skincare board. But I wasn't sure if it would work for my finicky, sensitive skin. Fortunately, I recently received a sample from Sephora. I used the sample every other night for a week, and I was not impressed. First, the smell was off-putting--a strong orange-vanilla fragrance that is reminiscent of Creamcicles, which I hate. But of more disappointment was the fact that I broke out and didn't see any positive effects from the serum.

Ingredients: Water, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Calcium Ascorbate, Sorbitol, Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Orange Fruit Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Euphrasia Officinalis Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Grapefruit Seed Extract, Oleth-20, Hydroxyethylcellulose, PEG-12 Dimethicone, Benzophenone-4, Sodium Hyaluronate, Thioctic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Citric Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Limonene, Linalool, Citral, Fragrance, Yellow 6.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1292 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
182 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
105 Reviews
Fade Cream
76 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
282 Reviews
Back to Top