Cover Girl Intense ShadowBlast

3.6

73 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/16/2014 12:19:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This did not work well. There is a nice cooling sensation upon application, but the shadow smeared easily (charcoal) and had very poor longevity. Perhaps if I tried one of the lighter colors, my review would be favorable.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Too liquidy, creases on oily lids, too sheer when blended out


on 4/5/2014 3:00:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

HG eyshadow!!
The brown bling applies easily, dries quickly, and remains crease free all day.
Way better than more expensive shadows that promise more!!


on 11/29/2013 11:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The first time I wrote a review on these products, I said that I wasn't very impressed- over time, however, I begun to appreciate these eyeshadows more and more.
I own three of these products- Platinum Pop (silvery blue, very metallic), Forever Pink (silvery pink, metallic), and Brown Bling (taupe).
Firstly, I really love the color payoff from these eyeshadows. They are very, very pigmented, and are saturated enough to get an opaque look with one layer. Any more makes it look cakey, in fact. The color you see through the package is the same color that comes off onto the eyes; it's very impressive. I have had no issues with the color fading on any of the three, which is just awesome.
The texture of these is pretty nice. Since these are cream, they are definitely on the thicker side of eyeshadows. However, they go on smoothly, and are thick enough to provide opaqueness with one layer, as aforementioned. So far, none of my Intense Shadowblasts have dried up on me, and I've had one of them for about a year and a half, despite the thickness, which I love. They don't clump up or chunk up inside the tube, either.
Staying power is awesome- with primer. I use primer with these anyway, even though these products claim to have primer; I like to take extra precaution. I don't know how they stay on without additional primer. But in my experience, these eyeshadows cooperated very well on my eyes, and stayed vibrant and crease or flake free throughout the whole day. Forever Pink tended to come off a bit if you touch your eyes, but the other two have impeccable staying power. Brown Bling is totally waterproof; the other two I wouldn't trust with that. Intense Shadowblast lives up to its claim of being long-lasting, that's for sure.
The packaging is nice; I like the clear tube. Personally, I wasn't a huge fan of the sponge tip. It's usable, but only for broad application- and, for neatness, a brush is needed to touch it up. For the smaller areas, such as the inner eye, you do need to use either a brush or a finger to neatly apply the eyeshadow. However, that isn't too much of a drawback.
The price of these is good- $6 or $7 each, I think. I think that these are awesome drugstore finds, especially for the price, and I'd definitely recommend!


on 9/5/2013 9:19:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have the Beige Blaze (shimmery champagne color) in this product. This is quite highly pigmented but very frosty-looking. The applicator wand is a very odd soft but flexible foam thing which makes the product difficult to apply. This creased on me almost immediately and continued to crease throughout the day even after I blended out the original creases. I wouldn't buy this in any color again. If I want cream eyeshadow I will stick to Clinique's.


on 9/5/2013 8:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

My biggest issue with this shadow is that it doesn't spread evenly. It comes out of the tube like a moose and then I pat it onto my eyes to try and keep it even pigmentation throughout. However if you try and blend with a brush, the pigment thins out to almost translucent.
I tried waiting for it to dry and applying another coat on top but then the dry shadow started to crack on my lids.

The only use I have now is for my inner corners as I can keep the pigment to a small area and keep it concentrated. I originally bought it to use as an eyeshadow primer or base but unfortunately it doesn't do a good job at either.


on 8/21/2013 7:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have the platinum color (very pretty blue=LOVE) and the olive green. I am giving it 4/5 lipsticks because I found these at clearance prices with a $3.00 off 2 coupon so I ended up paying about .83 cents apiece and I totally love the platinum color. If the tube dries out in a month or becomes goopy and unusable so what. I have enjoyed this for the last few days. Though Cover Girl claims they are mixed with primer, trust me...use your own primer underneath. I get about 5 hours wear without creasing. It's easy to swipe on a little with the included wand and then for better placement use your own brush. Yes, the formula is emollient if not a bit on the greasy side. Fun to sample : )

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/23/2013 12:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I just bought and tried two colors in the Intense ShadowBlast. I got the pearly pink one and a shimmery green. I haven't tried the green yet but I really like the pink. If I found it on sale I would probably repurchase. Almay has a similar product that I prefer over Cover Girl. I like the pink color, it does look a little wet or greasy like a previous reviewer said. These are not intense colors at all but very sheer. I'm guessing you could build the color but these go on very thin and watery so you would probably have to build color with powder eyeshadows. I gave it 3 lippies because it's not a bad product, it's just kinda meh.


on 7/8/2013 1:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have three colors - Beige Blaze (light gold), Forever Pink (light pink), and Brown Bling (brown). Covergirl claims these are "rich, waterproof shadows." I disagree, the color is not rich, it's really sheer and the shimmer looks greasy. Also, it's not waterproof at all. Even though these shadows don't do what Covergirl claims, I love them as a primer.

They apply smoothly, and I actually like the wand. They're awesome as primers because... 1.) They make all of my powder eyeshadow last a lot longer. I have oily skin and lids, so this is huge for me! I've tested it out - when I use Shadowblast as a primer, my eyeshadow stays crease-free and fade-free for an extra 6 hours! 2.) They make powder shadow way more pigmented! When I apply shadow over these, the color is so much more vivid and rich. I've noticed this is especially true for baked eyeshadows.

When I apply eyeshadow in the morning, I apply a thin layer of Shadowblast over my lids and the inner corner, and let dry for about a minute (it applies very wet). I do get better results when I coordinate the color of the Shadowblast with the color of the shadow I'm using (pink Shadowblast with pink/purple eyeshadow, gold Shadowblast with gold eyeshadow).

Word of caution: I wear contacts, and if I get some of this in my eye, it sticks on my contact. It's like glue and won't come off! I just take my time applying the primer and keep it away from my eyeballs :)


on 6/27/2013 5:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I did a swatch of Clinique Lid Smoothie, and a swatch of Covergirl's Intense Shadow blast, on my hand. The Clinique lid smoothie didn't last the hour, the Covergirl was still going seriously strong at the end of the day, with no smudging or loss of color. Suprised that the cheaper covergirl version was clearly way better value than clinique!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top