Bourjois • Healthy Mix Serum Gel Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.1(352 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Kateaf12 on 4/20/2014 5:34:00 AM more reviews by Kateaf12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my favourites. It works perfectly as an everyday foundation because of its light to medium coverage. I love the smoothness of the gel formula, which makes it easy to blend. It also has a nice fresh fragrance, a bit like clinique moisture surge. I like the natural radiant finish and the fact it lasts all day. I do have to use concealer on my acne, but I don't mind. It doesn't Accentuate dryness of flaky acne skin. It's 37Aud which is a lot for a drugstore foundation, but I would still repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Erinjay on 4/19/2014 5:36:00 AM more reviews by Erinjay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Favourite foundation ever good coverage and flawless skin definitely reccomend :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madeupmary on 4/17/2014 8:18:00 AM more reviews by madeupmary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I really wanted to like this foundation, like really wanted to as this one seemed to tick all the boxes of what I was looking for. Radiance? Tick. Gel based formula? Tick. Good shade selection for pale skin? Tick. Unfortunately I found the foundation to be too dark and too pink toned for my complexion, which is strange as Bourjois foundations normally lean towards yellow tones. I also found that it didn't give me nearly enough coverage. Even after four pumps my skin didn't look great and it also looked flat rather than radiant.

I got this from a swap from a fellow person on Makeup Alley but as I already had makeup on that day, I left it to the next day to try it. It feels lighter than the original Healthy Mix but seemed to oxidize badly on my skin. It also isn't nearly as yellow toned as the Healthy Mix. This feels lovely on the skin but doesn't provide the coverage or look I want. It did last all day with powdering, which I suppose is a good thing but as I didn't like the look of it, this is really neither here nor there.

I definitely wouldn't buy this again. I had such high hopes, but this foundation is just OK, it certainly doesn't wow and I wouldn't recommend to anyone else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ravey on 4/13/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by Ravey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is probably my favorite foundation, which hurts a little bit because it is not available in the US and has to be purchased online. Nonetheless, it is absolutely beautiful, affordable (even with shipping) and so nice to my skin. I have dry/combination skin and this glides over all of my dry areas with ease, provides just the perfect amount of coverage, and has a natural/dewy finish. I use the shade 51 light vanilla, which is a perfect color for me. It lasts fairly well, especially if you use a primer (I usually can't be fussed, however) I just set it with Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray and that works for me. It would probably last longer if you set it with powder, but powders just never sit right on my skin. Aside from being beautiful looking and fuss free, my favorite thing about this foundation is it absolutely doesn't bother my skin at all, or leave it congested feeling. I really do hope they decide to start selling this in the US, because I am in love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Minirockss on 4/4/2014 6:15:00 AM more reviews by Minirockss

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Overall, this is probably one of my favourite foundations because of its super lightweight consistency. I hate the caked up heavy look, and I love how I'm truly able to feel my skin breathe while wearing this. It gives a very natural and dewy finish, and although it does get oily throughout the day, I much prefer dewy formulas than heavy matte looks. It's not oily to the point that I look like a grease ball. This product smells amazing (like fruit plus flowers), and if you don't like scents, don't worry because it goes away really quickly. I am in the shade 52, and it matches my skintone pretty well. On good skin days, I love to just dab this with my fingers to cover up redness and blackheads on the nose instead of applying it on the entire face. While I do love this foundation, I would not repurchase this because it contains a supposedly harmful chemical ingredient called aluminum starch...(don't rmb the full name). For daily use, I'm trying to stick to a safer product. OH, and this also contains denatured alcohol.

I recommend this to those with normal or combination skin, and those who prefer lightweight makeup. This has light coverage that will only be able to even out your skintone. It is SLIGHTLY buildable (you might have to apply many layers to add only a little coverage). Throughout the day, it does fade and wear off. The price is pretty expensive for a drugstore product, but I think it's worth it in general. Once again, the major turn-off for me is the ingredient list.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thejabs on 4/4/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by thejabs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Not sure I like this one.

- Provides very, very little coverage, even though I used three pumps. The coverage is great for those who are after a very light look, but I have clear skin and it wasn't enough. No matter which brush I used, I felt like the foundation wasn't 'sticking' onto my skin properly.

- I don't like the thin consistency either, though I guess the plus side to that is that it doesn't feel like I'm wearing a mask.

- I find that it has a slight satin finish on my dry skin. Not sure how it wears throughout the day as I've only worn it for short periods of time

-Accentuates dry flakes! Big no-no for me.

I don't think I'll be repurchasing. I might give the original healthy mix foundation a go, but 'Id rather fork out money for a high end foundation that's perfect on my skin. It does smell really good though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelyvenice on 3/30/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by lovelyvenice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I seriously can't believe how amazing this foundation is and how amazingly CHEAP it is. I've tried so many foundations, from Revlon to Make Up Forever to Nars, Estée Lauder, MAC. Most of those are pretty pricey yet none compare to how beautiful this foundation leaves the skin. It's a really thin formula but the coverage is medium and buildable. It leaves a dewy/ satin finish that doesn't appear greasy or oily, just natural and healthy and wait for it-glowy. Who doesn't love to look like you're glowing from within?! Without primer this lasts me quite a while, 4 hours. And the only area that needs to be touched up is my t-zone. But with primer it lasts all day! I wouldn't say it lasts the 16 hours claim on the bottle though. Just buy this foundation it's freakin CHEAP and so beautiful I am so happy I found it.
By the way, they don't sell this in the US anywhere. But I got mine on eBay for 12 bucks holla!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 doubleglowwseven on 3/28/2014 4:32:00 PM more reviews by doubleglowwseven

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I picked this up on a whim, even though it's pricey here in Canada. $28.00 CAD at Shopper's Drug Mart. I usually like a more high coverage foundation and this is light-medium coverage. I can build it up to a medium no problem. But I love this so much!! You can't see it on your skin hardly at all. The finish is a beautiful semi-matte, very natural looking. Lasting power is pretty good, I wouldn't say 16hr but a solid 8-10. I use the Real Techniques Expert Face brush to apply it. I have normal to occasionally dry skin. The undertone is perfect for me. I bought it in a darker (my self tanner shade) in 53, I'm about a nc25 then. But even when I don't have alot self tanner on, it still works. There is a limited shade selection though. This is a perfect no fuss, natural looking day to day foundation. I will repurchase in a heartbeat!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tarayeo on 3/25/2014 4:17:00 PM more reviews by tarayeo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This foundation is really light on the skin and gives a light to medium coverage. Has a really natural finish on the skin that is sort of semi-matte. Would love it for an everyday foundation but in my country the shade range is pretty limited. Therefore I can't seem to find a match. But otherwise, lovely foundation. Maybe I'll get it when I go overseas.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ifthe on 3/21/2014 9:59:00 PM more reviews by ifthe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

It's a real shame Bourjois isn't sold in the US. This is a really beautiful foundation. The only complaint I have is the fact that it includes fragrance, although I do have to say it hasn't caused any sensitivity.
The coverage is light, but can be built to medium without losing its gorgeous semi matte finish. Doesn't settle into pores or fine lines AT ALL. It's nearly imperceptible on the skin.
It wears comfortably and lasts a good 10 hours, though I did need a bit of powder on the nose around the 5 hour mark.
All the wonderful things you hear about this beauty are true!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Liquid products