Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar

3.3

59 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a funny product to work with. Funny not Fun...It seems people either love it or hate it. The positive is that the color payoff is the bomb. It's the best i've ever seen. I have the color META which looks like a bright red in the tube but it looked more like hot pink with a touch of red when I put it on. The color payoff was so great....it was almost too great. I don't usually wear super bright colors so this was hard for me to handle. I would call this club gloss because that's the only time I would wear it. You only need a tiny bit which is nice but I also found I had to have a gloss as well because it felt very drying.



on 1/11/2015 12:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I honestly have mixed feelings on this product. I think it depends on which color you buy to be honest. This company seems to be inconsistent with their products. I bought the color Lydia from them which in the tube, seems to be a dark purple, but on my lips was a sheer light purple, darker pink. I had to apply the lip liner underneath and it still came of relatively quickly. I loved the colors though and decided to go and try one more color since I heard they were so amazing and I did get Lydia on a discount rack. I decided to by NSFW which is the MOST PERFECT RED OF MY LIFE. Its pigmented like crazy. I barely put any of it on a brush, did my whole lips and it stayed for a few hours. This one stayed VERY matte on me which I was not expecting since normally I heard lip tars never get fully matte but I was very excited with how much it stayed on my lips. I think with this product you just have to test them out, use little product to avoid feathering and staining in your mouth, and make sure you get it off the inside of your lips so it doesn't get all over your teeth. It may behard to find a good lip tar to work for you (and it may be a bit of an expensive adventure) but I whole heartedly think every one should try and find a bold color from OCC and wear it :).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2014 1:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

this stuff is amazing. stays on--use a LITTLE and work with that, I swear thats the trick. I get so many compliments when wearing the bright shades, and it's the only lip color I've worn that still there after a long shift at work!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2014 3:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

I bought the Role Model because i loved the shade of red. Was told it was a stain and would stain my lips to keep the color. WRONG. First applied the primer and waited 30 min for that to dry. Then applied the color and after an hour, it still wasn't dry. Blotted it and it was OK. But then after having a cup of coffee, it was completely gone.
Tried it again, minus the primer. Same effect. It DID NOT STAIN. What's the point in buying a product that you'll have to reapply in an hour if you should happen to drink something? And the little brush application, perfect if I'm at home or carry a make up bag with me everywhere i go. But I don't, so I'm screwed with reapplying the product.
Would NEVER buy it again and have told many friends this. They have also opted to not purchase any OCC Lip Tar

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2014 10:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

Horrible product!! Very runny in the tube, if you don't store it upside down and shake it, it has a clear liquid that comes out first. After I figured that out and used it, still hated it. It is very glossy and does NOT last. It rubs off 99 percent after drinking/eating and what's left is a very muted shade. Colors are bright when applied though so they are very deceiving. MAC pro longwear is still the best!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2014 11:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So much hype over these little things. Many beauty gurus on Youtube swore by this stuff, and I don't see why. I purchased a .33 oz tube from Sephora for $18. I chose the color 'Stalker' because it was exactly the same color as Mac's 'Ruby Woo' lipstick. In a rush, I didn't bother trying the product on before leaving the store. I wish I had.

So many people rave about this being smooth, creamy, moisturizing, with awesome color pay-off. I agree about the color, but everything else about it was a lie. For starters, the application process is impractical. It comes through a squeeze tube with a thin nozzle, that must be squeezed onto a brush and applied so. This is already a con, because this makes on-the-go applying difficult since you must have the brush. You could use your finger, but the product is very staining and you'll want to be precise when using it.

Another problem is its texture. It's not creamy or buttery at all. It doesn't glide on smoothly or evenly, and it will be patchy unless a smooth lip balm is worn underneath. The pigmentation is awesome, a little drop goes a long way, but it is staining and very drying on the lips. The texture is like a primer in some ways: once it's on, it turns dry and will not budge at all (except primer isn't drying and won't lose its "slip"). Even with a lip balm underneath, your lips will be chapped. You'll want to use more to get more moisture, but that won't help. One thing is that I do like the minty-ness that it has.

I love the deep, rich blue-based red. The color options in this line are amazing, I have to say, and there is something for everyone. The product doesn't transfer and has long staying power, but is hell to remove. It will smudge to another part of your face, and want to stay there until you smudge it to another area. Because it smudges around, it has a high chance of staining that area or wherever it has touched.

I really want to like this product, but I can't. Yes, the color is amazing and I've had this one tube for 2 years now because it lasts forever, but maybe if it wasn't so drying, staining, and applied like normal glosses, it would be amazing. I decided to keep it and use it for special events where I don't need to wear it for a long time, because I won't waste $18 on a product that does work with some effort. But I don't think I'd repurchase unless it is formulated to be less drying, because I can deal with the lip brush fiasco. Until then, I'll continue to use it on occasion until it runs out. Once it does, I'll just stick to 'Ruby Woo'. I do not recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2014 9:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this color in the gray one bleh worst 18 dollars I ever spent its just so watery in the tube and when I squeezed it it just came out watery I was shocked I thought it was thick felt horrible on my lips idk if its just this color or what but ill stick to my beloved wet n wild lipsticks at least I can buy more with 18 dollars than just a tube of pigmented water never again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2014 9:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

SELECTED SHADES: annika (pastel peach), digitalis (lavender), divine (flamingo pink), femme (bright pastel pink), grandma (coral), hush (nude pink), kimber (neon orange), lament (peach), mannequin (neon barbie pink), memento (soft neutral pink), narcissus (barbie pink), nylon (neon fuchsia pink), ophelia (medium pink), queen (hot pink), trollop (bright coral pink)


PROS

- pigmented
- shade selection
- scent
- little goes a long way

CONS

- product will separate
- drying
- wear time

COMMENTS: These are insanely pigmented and go a very long way. The downside is that they're so drying. The product will also separate at some point, but that's an easy fix (leave the tube sitting in opposite direction it was previously in and the oil will mix right back up). The best way method of application I have found is to use any lip gloss as your base first. This will keep your lips emollient, since these can really suck the moisture out of your lips. I love the color selection. There are endless possibilities in terms of what you can create, but I will no longer be purchasing these. They're just so drying. Yes, a gloss helps but it still does damage to my lips. I can't get myself to purchase these anymore, but these type of products are still my favorite. I just prefer J.Cat Beauty's Wonder Lip Paints and L.A. Girl's Glazed Lip Paint instead. Those are the same thing, minus the dryness.

Will not repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/27/2014 8:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

uuuuugh. So I tried out a blue lip tar in sephora yesterday and I was in love. So in love that I immediately bought one. Unfortunately when I returned to my house i discovered that it had stained my teeth and tongue. I assumed i had just used too much. So when I tried it again I used significantly less. IT STILL STAINED MY TEETH BLUE. Also! It ended up all over my face. Fortunately I was watching a movie in the dark and I happened to run to the bathroom without anyone seeing my face, when I discovered the extent of the damage. Probably never going to wear it in public again. And I will never be buying another product from them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My expectations were sky high when I first bought them, which as you can imagined, lead to them being slightly disappointing. I got the Pro's Pick V.1, with Ophelia, Grandma, Melange, Psycho and Vintage, + a clear lip tar.

My first shock was with the tone of Psycho, that ended up being waaaay pinker than it looked on all photos I had seen online, where it was an almost orangy red. That aside... a little goes a long way, but at least with me, it didnt provide that great of a coverage. The color sheers out, specially if you're wearing a darker shade, so a little retouching might be in order.

It does last well, but at least on me it wasn't such a stunner on that front. It wears out to form a halo on your lips as you eat, even if the food isn't so greasy. Pressing the lips together won't do much good, since the color gets pretty dry and won't budge easily, so retouches might be needed. But, it never bled on me!

But the major factor with those for me is the FUN. There is something so very amazing about pushing those itsy bits of paint, mixing them together and brushing it onto your lips. I truly love it, how inventive it is, how fun it is to apply and create your own shade. Even if it didnt deliver so brightly on the lasting power, I don't really mind. I'm certainly looking forward to acquiring new colors, and its definitely something worth checking out!


edit: Okay, it's been a while since I've been using them. They tend to separate in the tube, fairly easily. Its pretty annoying to keep rolling it between your hands, but oh well... And they do dry up my lips quite a bit - it becomes airly noticebable after some 2 or 3 hours. :/


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top