Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics • Lip Tar • Lipstick

rated 3.4(51 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 themindispoison on 4/16/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by themindispoison

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My expectations were sky high when I first bought them, which as you can imagined, lead to them being slightly disappointing. I got the Pro's Pick V.1, with Ophelia, Grandma, Melange, Psycho and Vintage, + a clear lip tar.

My first shock was with the tone of Psycho, that ended up being waaaay pinker than it looked on all photos I had seen online, where it was an almost orangy red. That aside... a little goes a long way, but at least with me, it didnt provide that great of a coverage. The color sheers out, specially if you're wearing a darker shade, so a little retouching might be in order.

It does last well, but at least on me it wasn't such a stunner on that front. It wears out to form a halo on your lips as you eat, even if the food isn't so greasy. Pressing the lips together won't do much good, since the color gets pretty dry and won't budge easily, so retouches might be needed. But, it never bled on me!

But the major factor with those for me is the FUN. There is something so very amazing about pushing those itsy bits of paint, mixing them together and brushing it onto your lips. I truly love it, how inventive it is, how fun it is to apply and create your own shade. Even if it didnt deliver so brightly on the lasting power, I don't really mind. I'm certainly looking forward to acquiring new colors, and its definitely something worth checking out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LyrA236 on 4/15/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by LyrA236

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Dense, sticky, smeary, mint flavored, highly pigmented lip gloss in a squeeze tube. Comes with a little lip brush. Lasts about a minute. Gets all over everything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 staceygrigas on 3/29/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by staceygrigas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Can someone explain these to me? I'm being serious. The color selection and payoff, of course, is amazing. But for $18 these things bleed something awful and make me look like a clown. Why would I spend that much money on one lip product if I am going to need to touch up every 20 minutes unless I want to look like I was being inappropriate with Ronald McDonald???

I'm more than happy to shell out for products that do great things. OCC Lip Tars are not that for me, unfortunately.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mustangfanatic on 3/29/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by mustangfanatic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I got the color Hush. Super pigmented. A little goes a long way. I think i paid $18 for one. A little on the pricey side but i don't think its too bad.

I do however feel like the shade was lighter than what it looks like in the packaging.
It has an oily like smell.

These need to be stored in a cool room. I accidentally left mine in my computer room, and it gets fairly warm in there. I tried to use the lip tar and it came out like a tinted lip gloss and the oil smell was worse. So definitely do not let these lip tars get warm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mishophelia on 3/20/2014 1:51:00 PM more reviews by mishophelia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought the OCC Lip Tars Pro Pick V1 from Sephora for $49

Overall, not worth it. My NYX luscious lip gloss palette gives me the same color and is easier to apply.

I exfoliated my lips before putting on the lip tar in Ophelia, and the lip tar immediately dried out my lips. It was like every flake on my lips became visible, even flakes that weren't there before. I REALLY REALLY wanted to like these lip tars, as I've spent a long time wanting to buy them, but this is just a regrettable purchase /: .

I am a fair skinned Asian and Ophelia looks pretty awful on my lips, which is a shame cause I was most excited for this shade =/. Ophelia is the most drying out of all the tars, so now I understand why most people don't like this shade.

Grandma is the color I like best. It is a cute color.

Vintage is a burgundy red. A little drying and very hard to get off. I washed off my lipstick and even four hours later it looked like I was still wearing lipstick.

Stalker I haven't tried yet, but I'm excited. It looks like a gorgeous, rich red.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 myherbalmart on 3/7/2014 8:28:00 AM more reviews by myherbalmart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

only you can make it perfact by using this because it will heppen due to your heart if it suites you, then it the perfact thing that you have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 arieljocelyn on 3/7/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by arieljocelyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am in the market for a nude lip color, and when I found Lip Tar's Annika, I thought it was the perfect color. Additionally, it was highly pigmented, and the staining properties made it seem like it would stay all day and just give a natural flush to my lips. However, about half an hour into wearing it, the product had burrowed itself into all of the little cracks and creases in my chapped lips (which are terrible in winter), and further dried my lips so they looked like raisins. I know it's typical for highly pigmented products to somewhat highlight dryness, but this was ridiculous. More than that, this product was difficult to apply because it's runny, and saying a little goes a long way is an understatement. Overall, I was very disappointed in this product due to its extreme drying effects and difficulty of application.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Radmosaic on 1/18/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by Radmosaic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

High ratings because:
Great colors
Vegan
cruelty free
Can mix colors like an artist mixing paint. Very personal and unique
Concentrated! Will last forever!
Fun to use!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cblackburn88 on 1/8/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by cblackburn88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I just recently purchased the OCC lip tar in Super NSFW. its the normal nsfw color with a gold reflect pigment added into it.
Like the other Kip Tars the smallest amount is needed, after it dries it takes almost an entire makeup remover wipe to get it all off, which in my book is a plus.
The color payoff is absolutely amazing and it lasts all day long.

I want all the colors! I'd never need another lip product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MsToriJay on 1/8/2014 3:44:00 PM more reviews by MsToriJay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was in love with these on YouTube , I hate the way they smell & the way they glide on .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics products

More Lipstick products