Bare Escentuals • Pretty Amazing Lip Color • Lips

rated 3.9(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/8/2014 3:18:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have several of these in different shades. They are all very nice and pigmented but I am just not much of a gloss person. Granted these aren't glosses, they are like a liquid lipstick but lack the staying power of one. Hard to explain, but they do appear like a very glossy lipstick.

I do get a lot of compliments when I wear any of them and they are all very wearable. I just prefer BE lipsticks, they are my favorite lipsticks. They do come off easily and wear more like a gloss, so be ready to reapply quite a bit.

4 lippies for all natural lip product that doesn't smell or taste like chemicals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 slitherydee on 12/10/2013 2:36:00 AM more reviews by slitherydee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in Strength which is a strong red, and Allure, a peachy pink, and I've been using it everyday for about 3~4 months.

Pros:

1) One step lipcolor. I don't have to apply gloss, it's got a satiny/slightly glossy finish that works without additional products.

2) Amazing pigment. Seriously, on par with Lip Tars but the thicker formula means that you don't have to be paranoid about feathering if you apply it too thickly.

3) Moisturizing.

4) Hardly any smell (I hate 99% of scented products!). There is a faint scent like acrylic paint (craft store paint) when you snort the bottle, but I otherwise never notice it.

5) Doesn't stain your lips (although some prefer that.)

6) Good lasting power as long as you don't touch it (i.e. it doesn't seem to dry out.)

Cons:

1) Kisses off on everything.

2) Sticky, so you always feel it on your lips.

Conclusion:

Besides talking about the formula in general, I wanted to say some things about the colors. Allure is seriously close to my HG nude-y lip color, I would recommend it to everyone who is pale and has strong yellow undertones. Additionally, I have very pigmented lips, so a lot of nude colors show up streaky on me. This is one of the few products that I can wear in a light color because it's opaque on my lips.

The color Strength is something I recently picked up because of all the rave reviews years back. I always wanted to try it but, since I tend to avoid red lipsticks, I didn't get it until it went on sale for 50% off over Black Friday. It is very red, but the color isn't what I was expecting. I wanted a bright red, like cherry tomato red. This is more of a blood red right out of the tube. If you blot it, it becomes brighter (also matte-er,) but the fully concentrated color is blood red. Disappointing to me because darker colors wash me out, but the blotted color is very pretty, even if it's not very dramatic (less Santa Baby, and more of a I've-just-eaten-a-ton-of-popsicles look.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xdimpsx on 12/5/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by xdimpsx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this gloss... Well ok, it's a tiny bit too glossy for me, it's so pigmented and covers brilliantly, but, as I said too glossy (having super glossy lips just makes me look daft), so I put a bit of mineral veil on my lips to tone it down, and, my god does this stay on my face or what?!

Cons
Too glossy for me
Fairly expensive
Cute packaging

Pros
Lasting
Blendable
Lovely colours

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 minhchau88 on 4/11/2013 3:31:00 AM more reviews by minhchau88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is amazing - when first applied. It's smooth, is super duper opaque, it doesn't irritate or dry out your lips, it doesn't have any weird annoying smell, it stays for quite a while and there's a noticable stain even after u're done eating.

But it bleeds, after around 2 - 3 hours, especially if you wear a strong color like Strength, the bleeding lip color is even more obvious. Also, it transfer immediately, and a lot, to whatever your lips may touch.

This lipstick is beautiful, but it its not practical for daily use. I wouldnt recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 1/30/2013 10:56:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great lip product and I hope they don't discontinue it. The formula is between a lip gloss and a lipstick. They offer a wide range of colours so there should be something for everybody. I recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 2/23/2012 3:43:00 PM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

They do come in nice colors. However, I am just not a big fan of the smell of them. They smell too artificial.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leslieno1 on 12/4/2011 4:30:00 PM more reviews by Leslieno1

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

The best lipstick/lipgloss I've ever used. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kocoannie on 11/8/2011 11:44:00 PM more reviews by kocoannie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this colour in Moxie which is a hot barbie pink that I use over a sheer pink lipstick. My lips are often on the dry side and I wouldn't recommend using this as a straight lip colour if your lips are in the same condition. Over a lipstick it works perfectly! I have to buff over the application with my finger tip to give a more blended softer look. I do have to apply frequently through out the day but it is such a charming, out-there colour that it is worth it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PandaNinja on 11/3/2011 4:57:00 AM more reviews by PandaNinja

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of "confidence" (a very natural looking raspberry pink color on me) a month or so ago when I went to Sephora. I first used this on a day when I tried to put on lipstick, but it just looked disgusting, my lips were dry and cracked no matter how much lip balm I had on, and my lips were dry, cracked, and uneven in color. I have a bad habit of picking or chewing off the dead/dry skin on my lips. Since the lipstick looked awful I immediately took it off and decided to try this, as I assumed it was a liquid lipstick. I LOVED it. I don't use the applicator it comes with, it puts down WAY too much product. I use a lip brush and use a thing layer to coat my entire mouth and leave a stain like color. This stuff is very opaque, even with the small amount I used, you couldn't see the uneven color of my lips, you couldn't see the cracks, it felt so soft, and moisturizing. And it lasts a long time. I use this so much, and I still have a lot of sample left. I'm definitely going to get the full size of this color and maybe one or two more.

UPDATE; LOLOLOL I now have like all but 3 of them. And I love them all. I might not buy another regular lipstick again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swimmingpretty on 10/4/2011 12:29:00 PM more reviews by swimmingpretty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I got this today from the BE boutique near Covent Garden and all I can say is WOW!! I have this in the colour witty which doesn't seem to be sold as widely in the UK. I honestly can't think of a good reason why BE would hide this colour from ASOS or QVC, its a plummy merlot that is perfect for autumn. I have already eaten with it and had a cup of tea and I can say that it wears down nicely to a stain. I will be wearing this most days this winter as a stain (maybe with some gloss over it) and in full colour when I go out.

The applicator is very good for creating an outline but it is flat, wide and flexible like a fuzzy paddle - not a problem if you have wide lips like me but troublesome if you have a smaller pout. This can be easily remedied with a lip brush but for the money spent I can understand the frustration.
Very little other make up is needed with this strong a colour and personally I couldn't be happier I will be going back for the colours allure (peachy cream) and savvy (dark nude) which also dont seemed to be sold from the usual outlets.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Lips products