Obagi • Nu-Derm Sun Shield SPF 50 • Sunscreen

rated 4.4(30 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 zamaa on 2/19/2014 11:16:00 PM more reviews by zamaa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a review for the Obagi matte SPF 50. It is truly a matte sunscreen. I have oily skin and lots of freckles. I have used tons of sunscreen but most of them have been too greasy. I love this sunscreen because it is not greasy and feels like you don't have anything on but at the same time has a high SPF. I can't comment much on the price because I'm not sure what this normally sells for but I bought it on a whim on ebay for $20 which is more than drugstore sunscreens but less than high end ones and is a pretty big bottle. I love it and will continue to purchase even if I had to pay more because it's a big bottle that will probably last me a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 setoyuilien on 2/11/2014 4:59:00 PM more reviews by setoyuilien

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have very sensitive skin that burns easily, and occasional patches of dry skin. I have a tan skintone with a clear complexion. I wanted a sunscreen that did not leave an oil sheen on my face.

I have many good things to say about this sunscreen. Firstly appearence wise, it does not leave an oil sheen or a white cast on my face. My sensitive skin does not react, nor does my skin dry out from using it. You get a good amount of product for the price you pay (which is high, but not the worst).

No cons. Yay! I will buy this again...unless I get curious about other brands.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eiffle on 12/8/2013 7:17:00 PM more reviews by Eiffle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really love this and I am so glad that I bought it. I find this is in a lotion form and not watery like Chanel UV SPF 50, which I love very much. The Chanel bottle would only last me a week or two and not cost effective.
This one is costly also, but less then Chanel. I am very pale, so if there is a white cast, I don't see it unless I apply a teaspoon all over my face and neck, but this white cast does not change my skin colour. Obagi Nu-Derm Sun Shield SPF 50 has Oxinoxate 7.5%, Zinc Oxide 10.5% as main ingredients. It is the end of fall season and so far, it is easy application that glides on well, no feeling of grease or a slip and I don't see any shine, but I would not go as far as saying that it is matt. It does feel like a very light lotion. I've applied this on top of my hands and again, it feels like a very light lotion and I don't think this can stain your leather straps of your handbag.
The packaging is in a plastic tube with a nice tiny opening but I find that the sunscreen is runny enough that it can easily leak out, but I haven't seen it happen to me yet.
I truly believe that all medical grade skin care should provide the best ingredients so that you don't doubt it's quality, but this is not always the case. Obagi Nu-Derm Sun Shield SPF 50 appears to provide one of the best quality of sun protection. The true test will be during the hot season, but so far, it does not get runny when sweating and does not go into your eyes. I don't wear foundation, so I can't comment if this can ball up, but I do wear Embryoliesse, then this and I've had no issues. I have applied this alone and I've had no burning issues also.
I have not reapplied this over and over yet, because it isn't needed now, so I will have to come back and let you know if there is bad build-up in the summer. So far, it is easy to remove.
I do have issues with my skin. I can get very bad acne, but somewhat under control. I don't feel any sun protection cannot clog your pores. All I can say is that this has not made my acne problem worse.
I am very happy with this, along with Chanel, but Obagi give you a bit more for a little less. That is a plus!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Peramesiumeu on 11/8/2013 9:45:00 PM more reviews by Peramesiumeu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Only complaint is price. This is an SPF 50 so it is very effective but still it's so much money for sunscreen. Other than that, it did feel great

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 whenuwakeup on 10/24/2013 4:28:00 PM more reviews by whenuwakeup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pros
It gives matte finish with minimal colour.
Does not oxidize to grey colour.

Cons
-breaks me out =(
-expensive

People who broke out from using super mattifying sunscreens from Shiseido or Anessa beware. Your chances of getting acne with this Obagi sunscreen is high.
I found Elta MD physical spf 41 with tint and I am very happy

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LoverofJesus on 8/17/2013 8:34:00 PM more reviews by LoverofJesus

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love this sunscreen!!!!! It wears so light under my make up all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jewelx17 on 6/1/2013 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Jewelx17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I guess I'm a lot darker than most of the reviewers here because everyone said this didn't leave a white cast but it definitely did on me. I have a medium skin tone and tan easily. This left a white cast on me that made me look sickly. I was actually a bit taken aback by how white this went on. I was hoping the whiteness would fade throughout the day but it didn't. I tried layering on the bronzer which helped a little but my skin just looked off with this on. I really wasn't crazy about the texture either. It's a really dry, thick cream that's hard to spread. It didn't feel heavy though but I wish it was a thinner formula. I tried using less because it is whitening on me but because it was so dry and thick, it was impossible to use less because it would dry before I could spread it around. I have oily skin so I thought I would love the matte finish but this sucked the life out of my skin and to make it worse, I started breaking out quite a bit after 2 weeks of using this. I'm fine with cones but I was worried about the palm glyceride that was in the ingredient list but thought I would try it anyway. I tried this out because my favorite sunscreen is discontinued but I think I will order it on amazon for now until I found something better because the Obagi definitely wasn't it!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wf on 4/30/2013 9:38:00 AM more reviews by wf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have really, really sensitive skin. Pretty much all chemical sunscreens make my face feel burnt and irritated. This is a really good sunscreen and compared to other mineral-types, goes on incredible well. It does sort of seem drying at times, which is why I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars, but I think there is something in the sunscreen to keep it from being waxy ( so that the face appears matte after you put it on) and I think this might be the cause of the feeling of drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MackMack on 4/7/2013 5:13:00 AM more reviews by MackMack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic high protection sunscreen with a matte finish. I use it daily under my make up. There is no white shadowy residue after application and is non-greasy. I have pale skin and live in sunny Australia- I absolutely guarantee this product and tried just about every sunscreen known to man. This is the BEST!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cameobear on 3/22/2013 3:04:00 PM more reviews by cameobear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Previous to this, my favorite sunscreen was Neutrogena Pure and Free, which is about $10 for 1.4 ounces; with that in mind, the price of this didn't bother me (I paid $30 on amazon), since its twice as much product, for not too much extra; and trust me, the extra quality is worth the extra $10 or so.

I'm obsessed with skincare, but I really HATE most facial sunscreens; they usually sting my face/and or eyes, cause rashes or breakouts, and are really shiny and greasy. What I liked about the Neutrogena sunscreen is that it has a high SPF, is VERY gentle, and VERY matte! Matte is a must as I have oily skin. The only things I didn't like about that sunscreen are the runny consistency, which made application difficult, and the horrid white cast it left without makeup.

This sunscreen is a thicker, creamy formula, that doesn't leave a white residue at all, and is just as matte! It also has a high spf, and lots of zinc, which is really great for your skin in addition to blocking the sun. It has lots of silicone in it, which in some products makes me break out, but I haven't had any issues so far. Additionally, it kinda acts like a primer thanks to all those silicons!

The one downside is I occasionally do get a bit of balling up when I put makeup over it; it's usually pretty minor, still kind of annoying! But this is the best sunscreen I've found thus far, so I'll stick with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Obagi products

More Sunscreen products