Laura Mercier • Baked Eye Colour - Wet/Dry in Black Karat • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 jekm2 on 11/18/2014 12:05:00 PM more reviews by jekm2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love it! Beautiful.Amazing....I could go on and on. Seriously this is so well ....fabulous! Lets face it the price is off putting however its worth it. I use it wet. Dry its kinda ok but doesn't do the eye altering amazing thing that happens when you wet it. What I like is that it is sparkly but not in that I am 16 years old kinda sparkly. I think its great for day and great for night. It makes my hazel-green eyes soooo shiny green and it works well with taupe shade eye shadows and with the black shades and with purples, really its a chameleon of an eye shadow. You can also do a totally nude face with it or use it with a darker cheek and lip and somehow it never looks wrong. My only negative is that I get sparkles on my cheeks but I will say I don't care. I can wipe them off. Some eyeshadows I don't think are special enough to go to that extra effort but this one it just is. It is a very grown up eye and very sophisticated. It is also expensive looking ....you know when you see that lady out that just looks like she knows how to do makeup and you wonder if you could ever look like that? well somehow this does that....It really is just special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Devildog4025 on 7/6/2013 7:05:00 AM more reviews by Devildog4025

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I take my hat off to whoever the genius is that invented this amazing eyecolor. I have yet to try it wet (not that brave and haven't had the time to try to be). But this color is incredible. I got it as a sample; a teeny tiny little pot in a Sephora 500 point beauty insider gift set. I use it at least 3 times a week and the pot is still almost full (I use a simple eye sponge applicator when I use this). The first time I wore this, a guy I work with said hi to me one day, then just sat there and stared at me for a creepy second. When he saw I noticed, he said "whatever you did to your eyes today looks gorgeous". Once a man said that to me I knew I had struck gold. I can't wait to try the other colors from this collection. I do agree with another reviewer that dry this isn't very pigmented, but it is dark if you don't normally wear darker colors. I feel like it is buildable, so thats a plus.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 2/11/2013 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is really expensive for what you get. It's a nice shimmery eyeshadow but it's not very pigmented. I like it and will use it but will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nmiracle on 1/22/2013 11:20:00 PM more reviews by nmiracle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I received this as a freebie - I have fair skin, and black eye shadows don't usually work on me. I tried this one skeptically - and I LOVE It. This has become my 'go to' eyeshadow- especially on those days when I'm in a hurry running errands. I use an angled brush, smudge it just above my eyeliner - and I am out the door. Fabulous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 zannie on 11/9/2012 10:08:00 AM more reviews by zannie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The black karat colour was made for my skin tone and clothing tastes. I wear it dry to work and wet on an evening and weekend. I also love the ballet pink and lagoon colours.

Pros:

Just the right amount of sparkle
Good coverage
Stays on. And on.

Cons:

Doesn't blend as easily as some other shadows, e.g. Elizabeth Arden Color Intrigue, my particular favourites there are Indigo (matt) and mink (Sparkly

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 10/16/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am a blue eyed NW10 (NW20 when tanning from a bottle).

I really like this shadow on my gray blue eyes. Makes for a beautiful smokey eye. However, I already have 2 very similar shadows: Urban Decay in Cobra, and the dark forest green with gold shimmer in Maybelline quads Sea Sprite and Gutsy Green. However, it's such a beautiful color, I must keep it! The difference between Black Karat and Cobra is that Cobra has gold shimmer and looks a bit more charcoal, while Black Karat has gold glitter and looks almost brown in comparison. I also find Black Karat to have more fallout and is harder to control.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saarahkb4 on 10/2/2012 3:41:00 PM more reviews by saarahkb4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Simply amazing. I decided to get this on a whim and I am so glad I did. No pictures will ever do this shadow justice. Perfect amount of shimmer for a night on the town and subtle enough for daytime! I personally use it as a crease shade, as I am quite fair and even with a smoky eye black is just too harsh. This looks soft, diffused, almost angelic. Every time I wear it I get compliments from complete strangers telling me I look pretty, instead of my makeup. Wet is just as nice, but I would never wear it wet myself. Worth the money! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sophrosyne on 9/2/2012 5:29:00 PM more reviews by sophrosyne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I got this as a freebie in a Sephora VIP gift and I'm so glad I did; otherwise I'd never have tried it. Black shadows are too harsh for me, but this applies dry as a sheer haze of smoke with beautiful gold microglitter that isn't at all OTT. I did wet it to use as liner, and when it's wet it applies black--not my thing. But the grey haze of smoke with subtle sparkle is just to die for. Ordinarily I use darker colors in the crease only, but this is one I like to apply over the whole lid, with a thin line of gold liquid liner at the base of the lashes for extra sparkle near the eyes.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tangomaya on 5/27/2012 11:46:00 PM more reviews by tangomaya

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My absolute favorite "night on the town" eyeshadow. I really hesitated to buy this, because of the hefty price! But I decided to "treat myself" as I so often decide to do. I saved the receipt, vowing to take it back unless I was absolutely thrilled with it. NO WAY is this baby going back to the store. I used it wet, by moistening a brush. It went on super smooth, and stayed perfectly in place all evening. Such a gorgeous, shimmery shade! I've never seen anything else like it. It has a "slinky" look on the lid, for lack of a better word. Like snake skin, although I realize that sounds gross. It's not gross though, trust! It's dramatic without being outrageous, sexy without being tacky, glamorous without being clownish. If you have golden flecks in your eyes like I do, this is one not to be missed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 12/25/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Black Karat can be quite different depending on whether you use it wet or dry. I used this dry on Christmas with BB Caviar e/l for a no-fuss festive Christmas look. I'd use it wet with a thick kohl liner for a concert.


The color is true to how it looks in the pan--gold and shimmery with a hint of black. I'm NW15 and can't wear black e/s (too harsh), but this works for me. The gold shimmer isn't OTT--it's definitely not like UD Sidecar or Maui Wowie, but has a little more oomph to it than BB Gold Dust e/s. It's more of a "cool" gold (not as yellow and a tad more beige than pure gold--sort of like MAC's Blonde's Gold pigment). It's definitely a wearable color for weekends or weekdays.


I'm not a huge fan of the baked shadows. Some are good, but some have horrible pigmentation when used dry and most are hard to blend. Black Karat is middle-of-the-road. There's good pigmentation either wet or dry, but it's not easy to blend. I prefer using this by itself with an e/l.


This is one that I personally like, but would encourage someone else to try before buying.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eye Shadow products